We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“the ideal holiday location and apartment”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Base in Spain

Large infinity pool with separate children's pool.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Large infinity pool with separate children's pool.
Huge master bedroom with ensuite - glorious views to the mountains.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
19 reviews
Large infinity pool with separate children's pool.
Huge master bedroom with ensuite - glorious views to the mountains.
Dining Table - folds out to seat 6.
Floor Plan
Sitting Room opening onto the south-facing balcony
The pool at night (swim until 10pm)
Family bathroom.  We also have the master en-suite
Kitchen with separate utility room
Base in Spain gardens.
Sunny roof Terrace for dining alfresco.
Hotel-quality sun loungers.
The beach in April
Pedalos at the beach
The plaza at night
A great place to stay!
Beach bar principado.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Los Alcazares

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Andyholid...
Carlisle, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“the ideal holiday location and apartment”
Reviewed July 26, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

just back from a lovely weeks holiday at the base in spain. apartment was ideal and suited our needs as we had 2 teenagers and great that they could have their own room and we could have our own space with our en suite room upstairs which led on to a nice private roof terrace. location was brilliant and the apartment only 5 minute walk from main strip with plenty of bars and restaurants which were very family orientated and would suit couples of all ages too. only 5 - 10 minute walk to the beach, which was lovely and spent half our days there. bus stop only 10 minutes away, where you have plenty of choice of places to go. Cartagena is well worth a visit and only 25 minutes on the bus. lovely harbour and roman theatre. our time there was great and will return knowing we have a very good base to enjoy and relax on holiday ( without the teenagers next time hopefully). its also helped that Nicky and Sain were available to contact at anytime and always helpful. the airport transfer is a great thing and very much appreciated.
all in all, a wonderful holiday. Thank you Nicky!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: available space around the pool.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Aug 2015
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your break and hope to welcome you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marinaYor...
york
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Lovely peaceful location.”
Reviewed July 1, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Myself,husband ,daughter and granddaughter stayed here late June for six nights. This apartment was ideal as there was plenty of room. Everything you need on hand. Very clean ,comfy beds ,cool cotton bed linen. It was a welcome change from hotels as you can do what you want when you want ! No crowds at breakfast buffets and having an evening meal when you don't really want it. The walk to the shops/plaza not too long and very good value in the local supermarket(wine and cava very cheap) and in the bars/restaurants.
The walk to the beach was about 15 minutes but seemed longer as it was so hot. It was worth it when we got there and it wasn't too busy a time of year. The area not as touristy as some del sol resorts,in fact nobody should mention this gem of a place then no more will come and it will stay the same!
Nicky,the owner ,texted me during our stay to check we had all we needed which was a nice touch. I can't think of any useful tips as our stay was a bit short(flights permitting) but it has converted us to self cater as it was a lovely apartment in a wonderfully peaceful place. Before I forget,the pool is fab! The cleanest I have ever swum in and it was gratifying to see someone told by the lifeguard of the need to shower before getting in. I wish he worked at my local pool! We will certainly return to Mar Menor region.
I packed a travel hair dryer,no need as there was one provided. I should have asked Nicky before but forgot, so, all potential guests-no hairdryer needed!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jul 2015
I'm so pleased we have converted you to the self-catering holiday and thank you for your lovely review. We hope to welcome you back soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillageBr...
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely place in great location”
Reviewed June 23, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Great place within a 5 minute walk of the strip - ideal to be close but without any of the noise!

3 bedrooms and a proper kitchen, so can cook for yourself if you don't fancy going out (we did for lunch). Nicely kitted out, everything you need including DVD player and a few DVDs for kids. Pool very nice and set in the middle of the complex.

Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jun 2015
We are really pleased you had a good time and thank you for your lovely review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna D
Horley, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Couldn't have asked for more!”
Reviewed June 14, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Stayed at 'The Base' with my son and 2 of his friends, to celebrate his 18th Birthday. Apartment is well situated, well furnished and we simply couldn't have asked for more. Everyone had their own space and did what they wanted to do - the kids went to the swimming pool every day whilst I sat on the roof terrace balcony and read my Kindle. Shops, Bars & Restaurants are walking distance and so is the beach. The apartment would suit any age range and Sian the housekeeper was always on hand to help with advice. Would definitely recommend it and my son desperately wants to go back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location & amenities
Liked least: Nothing really!
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jun 2015
Thank you for your lovely review Donna and I am so pleased your son had an enjoyable birthday.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AFitzhugh
2 reviews
“Great apartment for relaxing beach holidays with family or friends”
Reviewed June 7, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

I visited the base in Spain for a short break with four friends. The apartment is lovely and spacious and in a great location for the beach, restaurants and local amenities. The swimming pool area was nice and relaxing and great to cool off after a day on the beach! The pool area had a main pool and also a children's section which I would come back to with my family. The base in Spain is very convenient as its so close to Murcia Airport and only takes about 10 minutes. The apartment was very clean and everything you would need for a holiday was catered for. A really enjoyable break and I have already booked to come back with my family!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and Spaciousness of the Apartment
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jun 2015
Thank you so much for your kind words. We are delighted to have two returning customers already and are looking forward to welcoming you back to Los Alcazares in August.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna A
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Apartment, amenities & beach!”
Reviewed June 1, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here for a week in May & were not disappointed - so much so we've booked again for October! The amenities provided meant we didn't have to take all the added extras required for our toddler meaning I could actually take some dresses! The apartment itself is clean & modern with a lovely roof terrace and very close to the pool which is also very well maintained (if a bit chilly!)
The location is perfect too - only a 10 minute walk to numerous bars & restaurants and 15 minutes to a lovely sandy beach! I can't wait to go back & try some of the late night bars in October whilst the grandparents babysit

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jun 2015
Really pleased you enjoyed your break and hope the grandparents do too, in October!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EPGoodey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A lovely house in a lovely resort, perfect for families and couples/ friends.”
Reviewed May 8, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
4
people found this review helpful

I went to stay at the Base in Spain with 3 other women, a University friends get together. The house is lovely, spacious, good facilities and very welcoming & homely. The resort is very pretty, lovely beach, lovely restaurants and bars, plenty going on but in a very understated way....so very relaxing! There are plenty of local amenities in walking distance so easy to get essentials and treats at very good prices. The pool area is very clean and well kept. Perfect for relaxing with friends. All of us have young children at home and would all visit with the children. They would love the pool, the house has all the things you need with kids and they would love the beach, which is shallow for a good while and calm so just perfect! A lovely mini break, could easily have stayed on and will definitely return! Thanks for a great stay.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jun 2015
Thank you for your kind words. We would be delighted to welcome you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing