We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mengrello, I don’t think so.”
Review of Mengrello

Mengrello
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed October 28, 2018 via mobile

We arrived at 8:30pm without a reservation and the waitress seemed displeased. We’ve been in Italy a week and this was our first sour reception. But there were plenty of empty tables and we were quickly seated. Two of us ordered pasta and the third pizza. The pizza arrived 25 minutes before the pasta and was undercooked. The pasta was uninspired, once it arrived: The carbonara tasted, smelled and looked like scrambled eggs; the “spicy” sausage was not, and the penne tasted like it was store-bought. The bread never arrived. Maybe the steak is good there - those ordering them received loving attention and seemed satisfied. Unfortunately, we were not.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank PJDF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (370)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 370 reviews

Reviewed August 8, 2018 via mobile

We went out looking for somewhere to eat at 9pm during a storm. Not wanting to go far from where we were staying, we didn’t think we would find anything good. Down a little side street we found Mengrello which is a simple family style restaurant in a big hall type building. The other customers were clearly locals and we were apprehensive we wouldn’t be welcomed kindly but a lovely waitress sat us down and gave us English menus. She was patient with our basic Italian and took on board allergy requests. We had to wait a little longer than usual for our order to be taken but this was only because it was very busy, with the one waitress serving an almost full restaurant with many requests! However this was not a problem (or out of the ordinary) in Italy, and our food arrived quickly. We had bruschetta and a generous cheese board to start, then a calzone and pasta primavera, followed by coffee and a tiramisu - with 2L of water it came to €36 which we think was a steal, especially considering the taste and quality of the food. Home-made family food at a cheap price in an authentic local restaurant with friendly service! We would visit again.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank ka1tlin_mac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 21, 2018 via mobile

Despite being a little dissapointed when the meal i wanted was not available despite being on the menu. The food was good and there is lots of parking space available. You can only sit inside that’s a small negative.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank lisa m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 15, 2017 via mobile

We have been here 3 years ago but the restaurant did not bring what was our remembrance of our previous visit. No fish at all on the menu and the selection of antipasti was a lot of bruschetta type things and dry ham with melon. To much cheese on top of everything so no option to add it yourself. Filetto was better then the Tagliatta (meat quality) Wine was oke but relatively expensive vs suggested retail price. Had many restaurants already that served very good wines under the suggested retail price. This was the last time we have visited this restaurant.

Date of visit: August 2017
Thank Rein d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 25, 2017

Had long dinner with friends. I love their zucchini flowers which I also had 7 years ago last visited this place. Owner is super nice, sometimes comes to tables to meet his customers. Have good selection of wines.

Date of visit: June 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Simo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mengrello also viewed

Foiano Della Chiana, Province of Arezzo
Foiano Della Chiana, Province of Arezzo
 
Foiano Della Chiana, Province of Arezzo
Foiano Della Chiana, Province of Arezzo
 

Been to Mengrello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing