We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“so welcoming”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Fontelunga Hotel & Villas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 October 2011

wonderful property in the hills, nice pool, large rooms, comfortable lounge with lots of interesting books, superbe breakfast served on the outside terrace with stunning views, owners and staff are most welcoming, a MUST
Rolf, Paris

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RudyMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (266)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

204 - 210 of 267 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2011

3 days was not enough but it just means we will have to return. The best thing about Fontelunga is that you don't have to worry about anything, even ordering food. You can just relax by the pool reading, sleeping or sipping...soaking up the Italian sun while Phillip and Paolo et al look after you. Then you are called for lunch, which is always rustic, fresh and exquisitely Tuscan and you can spend hours on the terrace chatting. Fontelunga is great for adults, but i was pretty devastated when children turned up on our last day. The peace was disturbed a bit. I would like to come back so i can explore the area. So many lovely little towns. Enjoy!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank djdando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2011

We have been to Villa Fontelunga previously with friends so this was a familiar and much needed second visit - the minute we arrived we felt at home as we were welcomed with a big smile and a glass of wine! The weather was fantastic and we have spent long days lounging by the tranquil pool, exploring the Tuscan lifestyle at night! Fontenlunga now has a special place in our hearts ... we adore the friendly atmosphere, funky decor, gorgeous grounds and beautiful food and we can't wait to visit again. We are missing it already ... Thank you for making our holiday so special ...
Paul & Donna xx

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelskie10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2011

We stayed here 4 days, meaning to explore the countryside during the day - but half that time we didn't leave the villa because it was such a peaceful retreat. Perfect by the pool in April! Paolo and Philip and perfect hosts, providing every comfort, and conversation if you want it. Probably the friendliest villa we've ever stayed at. Food excellent. We'll be back!

Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
1  Thank IanSE11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Amazing house, super staff, excellent food
Perfect location

We had a wonderful week there, everything went perfectly well
Thanks to Paolo, Philip and their whole family!

If you look for a perfect taste of Tuscany, this is the place you need.
If you are in need of tips for visits or meals in the region, just let the team take care of it
this was just exactly what we were looking for: quiet, relaxing, entertaining

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DavidTahiti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2011

We stayed here for an extended weekend and it was most wonderful! The villa itself like many reviewers have stated is a really nice boutique B&B converted barnhouse sitting on top of a small hill with gorgeous views of the countryside.

It has been tastefully done in a modern style compared to most properties found here in Tuscany. This is a big draw and also the service from Philip and Paolo cannot be faulted and gives the place a more homely feel. The recommendations for dinner and lunch were faultless including the Vineyard recommendation in Montalcino where we had the best Brunello wines and came back with the car boot full of wine!

All this said, the 'but' is that it is expensive for what you get. For a night costing €250+ in shoulder season, and above €300 for a night during the peak period, the prices are on the high side. And as other reviewers have stated, the honest system bar is extremely overpriced! For a self-service bar, an Aperol-Prosecco spritz would set you back €8.50. This is what you pay for in a fancy bar here in Europe with service included.

Overall it is a nice place where the service and friendliness of the hosts is a big pull. Rooms are decent size and clean and nicely done. But for this price, I would pick Villa Bordoni in Greve, Chianti which is a great lovely luxury Villa done in a more traditional Tuscan style but comes with the best restaurant in Tuscany! For about the same price...

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CNTraveller74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villafontelunga, Owner at Fontelunga Hotel & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2011

Dear CN traveler74, thank you for your constructive review.

Restaurant
Here at Villa Fontelunga we prepare private lunches and dinners everyday for our clients upon request. We have our local ladies who have worked with us for 11 years preparing local dishes in a simple and traditional manner, since living here I have never eaten so well! Tuscan food is by its nature is simple, local and based on good raw products this combination along with our setting here make our dinner parties an event worth staying a night at the villa, well so I have been told!
It is true we do not have a formal restaurant here at the Villa. As we have more of an atmosphere of a country house hotel / house party / home, and if this is something that a Tuscan traveller is looking for then - "here we are"! If it's more of a traditional hotel that a Tuscan traveller prefers then Villa Bordoni looks totally lovely. I have been meaning to go and say hello to the owners and hopefully enjoy the restaurant however it is always a little tricky during the season, they are over an hour away in another part of Tuscany. We like to work as a team with our fellow Tuscan hoteliers and recommend clients when they wish to stay in another part of this beautiful region.

Bar prices
There seems to have been much discussion of these prices here on the site and as we do care about feed back from our clients then we should take notice. In fact last year we adjusted our food prices accordingly. We also think the inflated value of the euro has not really helped matters although in this case our client is from Munich!

May be however certain things are not taken into consideration as well;

1) When our clients arrive all our given their first drink at the villa for free, we don't make a big song and a dance about this but it does seem after an initial frantic drive on the Italian roads to get here, it is a most civilized way to start your stay.

2) Every day filtered water is replaced in the rooms for free.

3) The honesty bar was done for the specific reason to feel less like a hotel and more like a home. I have found it difficult staying in small country house hotels like ourselves arriving home late at night and feeling uncomfortable about waking staff to get a drink from the bar, then scrabbling around to find a piece of paper to make a note so you don't feel like you are stealing. We put out the evening drinks at around 6pm and then after dinner drinks around 9pm and no one control the measures!

All the above said we will be adjusting the prices based on the constructive criticism.

To sum up we are not a hotel with bell boy service in bow ties who know nothing about the area but will serve you a bottle of wine at any time of the night with out talking to you and knowing what they may be giving you.

We are a Tuscan country house property personally owner run and served .We aim to give our clients a relaxing and genuine introduction into our beautiful area of Tuscan passing on the 11 years of experience we have in the area.

Happy holidays Philip and Paolo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2011

We stayed at Villa Fontelunga as part of a wedding, and you could not have asked for a more romantic or relaxing experience! I've travelled around the world and stayed in many boutique properties, and this one is absolutely charming. Some highlights:

--Stylish and wonderfully maintained villa including a cabana, pool, tennis courts... And there was lavender everywhere!
--Paolo and Philip and the staff, who were incredibly friendly and welcoming. Paolo baked cakes in the morning for breakfast and would stop by for a chat and make sure we had enough cappuccinos as we sat on the terrace overlooking the countryside. They are so personal and genuine that it didn't feel like "service"
--Our room. It was simply and beautifully decorated and very comfortable. The bathroom was immaculate, spacious and the shower had great water pressure.
--The local area. Villa Fontelunga is surrounded by many small, non-touristy hilltowns and is really close to some wonderful wine regions (Montepulciano, Montalcino, Chianti). It's also very easy to reach from Rome, where we flew in.

Clearly I can't say enough! It really is a special place and one we hope to return to the next time we are in Tuscany.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gk231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Foiano Della Chiana
19.5 km away
Villa di Piazzano
Villa di Piazzano
#2 of 24 in Cortona
758 reviews
36.3 km away
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive ...
#1 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
702 reviews
13.1 km away
Relais Il Falconiere & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.1 km away
Relais La Corte dei Papi
21.2 km away
Castel Monastero
Castel Monastero
#4 of 8 in Castelnuovo Berardenga
551 reviews
12.3 km away
Villa Borgo San Pietro
Villa Borgo San Pietro
#16 of 24 in Cortona
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fontelunga Hotel & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fontelunga Hotel & Villas

Address: Via Conicchio 5 | Pozzo della Chiana, 52045 Foiano Della Chiana, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Foiano Della Chiana
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Foiano Della Chiana
Price Range: $284 - $657 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fontelunga Hotel & Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our holiday villas, owned and run by English and Italian friends, provide a stylish and relaxing retreat in Italy. Our Guests are warmly welcomed at their holiday accommodation and invited to treat their Villa as their "home from home" in an atmosphere of informal luxury. The elegant Villa Fontelunga is set above the Val di Chiana enjoying panoramic views across the countryside of Tuscany towards the hilltop town of Cortona, whilst the Villas are nestled close by in the historic Scannagallo valley. Crafted from traditional materials, the holiday villas are now a marriage of traditional Tuscan style and contemporary design. "Until now it has been difficult to find more than 'rustic charm' when it comes to villa rental in Tuscany; with our unique "Fontelunga" concierge service and luxurious contemporary styling, at last there is something more for the discerning traveller, your tailor made, perfect home away from home." Our holiday villas portfolio in Tuscany includes: Villa Fontelunga sleeping 16 to 18 (also run as a luxury "B and B") and within 10 minutes walk at Fattoria di Scannagallo in the Scannagallo valley, two new villas; Gallo sleeping 4 and Galletto sleeping 2. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Fontelunga Hotel & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Fontelunga Hotel Foiano Della Chiana
Fontelunga Hotel Foiano Della Chiana
Fontelunga Hotel & Villas Italy/Foiano Della Chiana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing