We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Most Relaxing Holiday!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Pelicano

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Pelicano
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Cayo Largo
Certificate of Excellence
Point Edward, ON
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A Most Relaxing Holiday!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

My friend and I decided to take a girl-friend trip together (without husbands!) This was the first trip to a Caribbean resort for both of us, and we were thrilled. No problems getting through customs, and the resort was only 5 minutes away by bus, and we were processed quickly at reception, given our card-keys, and had our luggage carried up in short order, so we were settled in and on the beach by early afternoon. Can't say enough about the beach - it was amazing - white powder, clear, clean water, beautiful breezes, hot sun, lots of palapas and lounge chairs to camp out on for the day, and you can walk for miles! We lived on the beach, and swam every day.

The hotel rooms were fine - not anything fancy, rather pleasingly rustic and extremely clean, comfortable, and well appointed with a good hair dryer, safe, iron, lots of closet space and drawers, a desk, telephone, bar-fridge, TV (although we didn't use it) and great air conditioning. We could plug in our hair straighteners and curling irons direct in the bathroom - they have 110 wiring and plug-ins that are well marked. We always had hot water for showers, and although the water pressure was a little low, it was fine. We had an ocean-view room on the third floor. They provide chairs and a table for the balcony, and we enjoyed beautiful sun-rises there. The staff at Sol Pelicano are friendly, and always so happy to help. Nice! Special thanks to Elisa, who daily replenished our bottled water, and kept our room spotless, in spite of all the sand we tracked in!

The food was far better than what we had expected from the reviews. There was always chicken or fish, and we loved the rice. Other nights provided a beautifully roasted young pig (complete with head!) roast of beef, fresh prawns/fish that they would cook while-you-wait. The breads were excellent. Salads were limited to cabbage, carrots, beets, cucumber - but really, I could live without lettuce for a week, and I developed a taste for the shredded beets! The deserts were pretty well the same every night - a variety of ice creams, with small pastries and fruit and cheese. Rice pudding was a highlight for me! Breakfast had a great variety, although I mostly had the made-to-order omelette, which was perfect every time. Try the guava jam on your toast! Coffee in the dining area was a little sketchy, and certainly not like Timmies, but you could get a great espresso or cappuccino at the bar or water front restaurant.

The dining area took a bit to figure out for us as "newbies". (This might have been explained in the "welcome" info session, but we skipped it as we were on the beach!) Our first evening there, we were invited by one of the waiters into "his" area of service. This seems to be the norm, and many people stay with "their" waiter for the duration of their stay. We moved around a bit, and found that the seating areas where the buffets were set up were a little nicer to be in - brighter, more airy. When we found an area that suited us, we stayed there. The first area we were in, although quieter (without the traffic of the buffet) had an off-putting smell to it, so we moved along, and were happy to find smiling faces and waiters who made you feel most welcome. Thanks, Gonzalos!

The grounds are good - a few issues (as stated in earlier reviews) but again, we were there for the beach. The pool areas were great. There are some interesting cement sculptures scattered between the buildings, and some amazing flowers that I have yet to identify. We saw hummingbirds, iguana, geckos, a hawk, a stork, and pelicans. Be sure to climb the tower and get a view of the whole resort. You can see the other side of the island from there. We were surprised by how "scrubby" the island looked, expecting, I suppose, a little more "tropical" feel. But the blue waters of the Caribbean and palm trees in the resort more than made up it.

We were prepared for the mosquitoes from the reviews, so took lotion with DEET, and found that we weren't bothered much. I felt bad for the children though - many had many bites on their faces. The secret here is to not head down to the dining area until after 7:00, because they don't open the doors to let you in until then, and standing outside waiting is where folks seemed to get the most bites.

There is a shop on site where you can purchase souvenirs - beach towels, t-shirts, bathing suits, cigars, rum, etc. They also set up tables with souvenirs outside of the dining area each night, and you can purchase hand-made wooden pieces and bits of jewellery, etc. I bought a wooden crab that was rather nice - all jointed and made of a variety of woods. Be sure you get "finished" pieces (as in, varnished or oiled) as they will check for this at customs when you are coming back into Canada.

We were looking for peace and quiet, and to relax - and that's exactly what we got. We read and slept on the beach all day, then fell into bed about 10:30 at night and went out like a light and slept all night. Perfect! I would definitely return to Sol Pelicano. Gracias, Amigos!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank maple_rev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,738 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,005
    1,161
    405
    109
    58
See reviews for
588
1,455
67
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

I have spent 4 nights at Sol Pelicano last week, and definitely will return!
The beach is breathtaking on Cayo Largo, the food was delicious in all of the restaurants, great cocktails, friendly staff... what else could we need for a great beach holiday? :)))

(ok... there was one bad thing also: lots of mosquitos after sunset, so be prepared against them with some anti-mosquito body spray!)

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank e-magdi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GTA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

Friendly staff, great entertainment, breathtaking beaches.....
Can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Nadia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brechin, Ontario
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

SOL PELICANOS REVIEW - Feb. 4 - Feb. 11, 2012


We went to this resort for our 33rd anniversary and had a wonderful time. All incoming guests were initially greeted at reception with a rum punch and live Cuban music and were warmly welcomed to the island. All the staff were friendly and extremely helpful. We had an ocean-view room on the third floor. The decor was first class, the air conditioning worked well, the king sized bed was very comfortable and the maid service was excellent. A special thank you to the hotel management for the bottle of champagne to celebrate our anniversary.

The beach stretched in both directions and the sand was white, almost powdery and raked daily. The ocean was warm and we noticed a number of interesting fish swimming by. The beach attendant was helpful on getting loungers for us and setting them up under the palm beach umbrellas, which were plentiful. There are two pools, one of which is set up for children with a slide and play area, even though the children we saw seemed to prefer the main pool, some of which was set up for water volleyball and basketball.

There was a wide variety of foods. It was one of the best food services we have had in Cuba. Two of the restaurants take advance bookings and lobster is available on the menu for an additional charge (20 pesos). A must for everyone is to check out the pizza bar. The beer in this location is the coldest, and the pizzas rival any back home.

There is good nightly entertainment in the theatre starting at 10:00 p.m. There were usually dance lessons by the poolside during the day and bingo. We were glad to have taken Yahtzee, cards and a book for the occasional rainy days.

From this resort, there were a number of possible excursions to enjoy, for a price. We selected a catamaran/lobster dinner afternoon cruise. Snorkelling equipment and life jackets were lent out free of charge and the meal was cooked onboard and was very good. One clever group came with their own stand with candle and butter for the lobster. We snorkelled off a reef and hundreds of fish joined us--many different sizes, shapes and colours. A waterproof camera would be extremely beneficial.

There is a store on site and you could buy rum, cigars, music/DVDs, souvenirs, and chips and snacks. There was also a small pharmacy and doctor on site daily.

The airport was only five minutes from the resort and it was an absolute joy to go through. With it being a small island, it was a small airport and moving through the line was a breeze! Very little waiting as happens with a big airport. From getting off the plane, going through customs and collecting our baggage, we were sitting on the bus to go to the resort in less than 15 minutes. Leaving took a bit longer, but you had lots of time to browse the airport snack bar and souvenir shop. You can buy rum and cigars at the airport, but they are the same price at the resort.

Mosquitoes were not a problem. We came prepared with a container of OFF insect repellent, but it was not needed.

Our return flight from Cuba to Montreal was an hour late and we still had to connect to a flight to Toronto. The CAA travel agent had given us three hours to make our connection and as it was, we had only an hour to spare--just enough time to have a coffee before boarding our flight to Toronto. An important tip to remember is that you can usually bypass a number of large line-ups by following the "connection" arrows.

All in all, we had a marvellous time and will definitely return to this resort!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Bob and Pam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

We enjoyed our third week-long vacation to the Sol Pelicano. So close to the airport and such a short flight from TO. You are on the beach before you know it. If anything the staff are working even harder to please their guests. They recognize you from prior visits which is amazing considering the number of visitors they cater to. From the lobby staff to Luis the pool guy to Dino the gardener to everyone in the buffet and bars and pizza place: all friendly and accomodating. Luis is quite an artist and we brought home three of his painted sea life sculptures as souvenirs that we will treasure. The beach is awesome and the ocean lots of fun. Long walks every day followed by time spent under a cabana sipping your favourite beverage and reading your book-what could be a better way to dodge a little winter. Yes, there are biting insects so take some repellant and after bite. You might need it. Pretty minor irritation....Take a trip to the marina, do the sunset cruise if you can. Visit the other beaches-there is a local bus to get you there. Enjoy!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ChrisHerr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

We enjoyed our second trip to Sol Pelicano and it was just as wonderful as the first time.Flight, customs, transport to the hotel was very nice, quick and efficient. Weather was great all week, sunny and hot, beach gorgeous. The food is really, really good for Cuba, never wanted for anything. We always tip and wish others would too because alot of people just don`t. The staff there work very hard and are always happy and friendly. We saw alot of people ordering 8-10 drinks and a time and not even a tip.>I mean, what`s a peso? Hey, it would cost you alot more to drink in a bar in any other country so really, not a single peso? Anyway. The staff was great as usual, have to go to the Marina with the animation staff, a night you`ll never forget. What else can I say, it`s an amazing hotel, nice and peaceful. Also, if you can, go on the Catermaran sunset cruise, very nice and worth every penny.
Only complaint I have and it had nothing to do with the hotel. Why do they insist that you get to the airport 3 hours ahead of your departing flight when it only takes 15 mins, max to check in, pay your taxes and clear customs? You have over 2 1/2 hours to kill in a small airport with pretty much nothing but a bar and a little duty free shop? Would we go again? Yes!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Heavy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2012

(February 3rd-10th). Unfortunately you can not gauge the weather. We had only two days of sun but that didn't get us down like being eaten alive by the mosquitoes and sand fleas. Our plane ride home seemed to have everyone saying the same thing...they were happy to be going home. They don't spray at any of the resorts. We were prepared because we had read trip advisor before going. We brought the skin so soft and repellent...but was of no use. There was not any reprieve in our room...since there was space under the door and also the door to the balcony. I would suggest if going make sure you don't get a room on the ground floor...might be less bugs not being near the vegetation. I would also bring some mosquito coils for the room. Also like someone else said if going to the two other spectacular beaches bring a roll of toilet paper and some hand sanitizer. I wouldn't eat there because the people cooking the food are the ones that are using the facilities as well.

With that said. The beaches are awesome! The one in front of Sol Pelicano is the best of any of the resorts on the strip. If going to the other beaches pay the 2 peso's each and take a taxi...much faster and a lot less hard on the tush. The staff are amazing. The food is quite good (for sure check out the pizza at the pizzeria...thin crust...really good)...it is Cuba though so don't expect the same from home...but trust me you will not starve.

There is nude parts on every beach. Was not the biggest fan of having to walk by them every day. Just giving you a heads up. Also when departing at the airport....ladies the washrooms have no seats on them and you have to pay for the toilet paper.

Not sure we would ever go back to Cayo Largo...unless they could get the bugs under control or make the rooms a better safe haven from them.

Room Tip: Higher floors might have less bugs. Rooms away from the lobby bar will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Heddy45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cayo Largo
1977.9 km away
Sol Hotel
Sol Hotel
#5 of 8 in Oyster Pond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
2003.6 km away
Hotel Villa Lodge 4 Epices
Hotel Villa Lodge 4 Epices
#5 of 7 in Grand Cul-de-Sac
4.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
0.0 km away
Hodelpa Garden Suites
Hodelpa Garden Suites
#2 of 11 in Juan Dolio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Colombus Hotel
Colombus Hotel
#7 of 8 in Oyster Pond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
0.0 km away
Royal Palms
Royal Palms
#1 of 3 in South Hill
5.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
175.5 km away
Barcelo Solymar Arenas Blancas Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pelicano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pelicano

Property: Hotel Pelicano
Address: Cayo Largo del Sur | Archipiélago de los Canarreos, Cayo Largo 27900, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Cayo Largo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Cayo Largo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Pelicano 3.5*
Number of rooms: 307
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Cayo Largo del Sur, in the Caribbean Sea. All Inclusive Four-Star Resort with 307 rooms. Its comfortable accommodations offer guests the chance to enjoy a peaceful and calm vacation. The property faces 600 meters of beach, famous for its perennially cool white-sand. Fun-packed recreation programs for both children and adults. Recommended for families.Guest Rooms307 rooms: 259 Standard, 36 Standard Ocean View, 12 Junior SuiteDining3 Restaurants (A la Carta, Buffet, A la carte and mini-buffet), 2 Cafeterias, 2 Bars ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Pelicano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Pelicano Cayo Largo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing