We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“A solid 3 star” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sol Pelicano

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sol Pelicano
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Cayo Largo
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A solid 3 star”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2012

My wife and I joined a large group of friends and found the Sol Pelicano very welcoming. We give the food one star, the room 3 stars and the staff a solid 5 stars. We knew the food in Cuba would not be the best, but found some of the buffet food uncooked and couldn't understand how some food under heat lamps were cold. Sometimes it took 2 viewings of the buffet to get a plateful of food. None of us went hungry, it just seemed the quality wasn't there for me. The front desk came through and put our group in one building with an ocean view. Building 43 was recently renovated and was fine, especially for the small amount of time we spent there. The mattresses were thinner than what we're used to, but were OK. Since it's a smaller resort, it doesn't take long to walk anywhere, especially if you forgot something in your room, it would only be a 2 minute walk. All the staff were amazing, there wasn't one that was not smiling, uncaring or not willing to help in any way. They were truly friendly and their one goal was to ensure you enjoyed your vacation. Which we did. A huge thanks to all staff for making us feel welcome, comfortable and at home.

Room Tip: Building 43 has been recently renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FreezinCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,623 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    983
    1,108
    375
    102
    55
See reviews for
559
1,388
66
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2012

My wife and I recently returned from Cayo Largo Cuba. The hotel and staff have to the best place and people in the world. No where can you find such a beautiful place. White sand beaches and service that would be hard to top. Never have I felt such warmth from the hotel staff. These people will bend over backwards for you. A place that you have to visit to believe it.



Martin & Helen

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Martin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

My wife and I used to frequent the neighbouring Sol Cayo Largo sister resort but then that hotel raised it's prices and lost most of it's beach (and it still hasn't really returned after 4 years). So now, though we usually go on multiple winter trips, the Pelicano is always one of our definite yearly destinations. It's not fancy but it has the exact things we value.
Because it is right in Lindamar Bay it never loses it's beach which provides great swimming and reef snorkelling in it's turquoise waters. We've seen rays, octopus, squid and many colourful fish - but fortunately never jellyfish. The pool also provides a pleasant atmosphere.
The rooms are clean and large enough though the matresses could be softer. The service provided by all staff is second to none anywhere. We even like the fact that the Cuban food is somewhat bland and therefore we are less tempted to over-eat and put on pounds - the way we have done at some 5 star resorts. We particularly love having lunch at the beachside Ranchon which overlooks the sparkling turquoise ocean, while being entertained by the bands which always play unamplified at just the right volume. There are plenty of other bars and restaurants as well. The nightly entertainment is pleasant though I wish they would start at 9pm rather than 10pm.
The naturist beach area provides a mature and relaxed atmosphere for those who don't like dealing with wet bathing suits and you can walk for miles along the sparsely used beaches. You can leave valuables on your beach chair while walking or swimming with no fear of theft. There's only staff and tourists on the island and they have never posed any threat.
It's only a 10 minute shuttle ride from the airport to the hotel and generally your flight is the only one arriving or departing.
There is a marina where you can arrange to go on boating trips or you can fly to Havana for a day or two if you want to mingle with the Cuban culture.
It's a south facing resort and so the sunsets are glorious, especially if you walk up the tower.
It virtually never rains in the winter and though the evenings sometimes require a sweater, the days are always the perfect temperature - not too cool and not sweltering.
Over the years we've met a number of people who feel the way we do about this resort. It's total relaxation with no hassles.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
14 Thank FSLJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

That's honestly how I feel about this resort, a little bit of Heaven. The beaches and unbielievable, The staff could NOT be better. They were wonderful & so honestly friendly. Not these put on's... The food was very good & abundent. A little bland but very good. I certainly had no problems having great meals. Cocktails flow from morning to night if you wish!
The rooms are Very nice and Very clean. The house keepers that I had were wonderful.
The Cuban band was great & played music all the time around the resort grounds.
Electricity!! At Sol Pelicano it is 110V throught the rooms. I can not speak of the other hotels.
I've seen some people say the place was not a 3 1/2* hotel. Well lets be honest this is Cuba NOT canada or the U.S. and The best Western... Its older as in History but Extremely well kept, Comfortable & very Clean..
One suggestion if I may... Tip!! not alot but $5 - $10 wil get you Incredible service. I actually had a hard time spending any extra money except for the Catermeran excursion & renting a scooter for the day..
I will be back with out a doubt... Looking at making this a yearly spot... I just Loved it on the island of Cayo Largo and the people I met!!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Les B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Point Edward, ON
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

My friend and I decided to take a girl-friend trip together (without husbands!) This was the first trip to a Caribbean resort for both of us, and we were thrilled. No problems getting through customs, and the resort was only 5 minutes away by bus, and we were processed quickly at reception, given our card-keys, and had our luggage carried up in short order, so we were settled in and on the beach by early afternoon. Can't say enough about the beach - it was amazing - white powder, clear, clean water, beautiful breezes, hot sun, lots of palapas and lounge chairs to camp out on for the day, and you can walk for miles! We lived on the beach, and swam every day.

The hotel rooms were fine - not anything fancy, rather pleasingly rustic and extremely clean, comfortable, and well appointed with a good hair dryer, safe, iron, lots of closet space and drawers, a desk, telephone, bar-fridge, TV (although we didn't use it) and great air conditioning. We could plug in our hair straighteners and curling irons direct in the bathroom - they have 110 wiring and plug-ins that are well marked. We always had hot water for showers, and although the water pressure was a little low, it was fine. We had an ocean-view room on the third floor. They provide chairs and a table for the balcony, and we enjoyed beautiful sun-rises there. The staff at Sol Pelicano are friendly, and always so happy to help. Nice! Special thanks to Elisa, who daily replenished our bottled water, and kept our room spotless, in spite of all the sand we tracked in!

The food was far better than what we had expected from the reviews. There was always chicken or fish, and we loved the rice. Other nights provided a beautifully roasted young pig (complete with head!) roast of beef, fresh prawns/fish that they would cook while-you-wait. The breads were excellent. Salads were limited to cabbage, carrots, beets, cucumber - but really, I could live without lettuce for a week, and I developed a taste for the shredded beets! The deserts were pretty well the same every night - a variety of ice creams, with small pastries and fruit and cheese. Rice pudding was a highlight for me! Breakfast had a great variety, although I mostly had the made-to-order omelette, which was perfect every time. Try the guava jam on your toast! Coffee in the dining area was a little sketchy, and certainly not like Timmies, but you could get a great espresso or cappuccino at the bar or water front restaurant.

The dining area took a bit to figure out for us as "newbies". (This might have been explained in the "welcome" info session, but we skipped it as we were on the beach!) Our first evening there, we were invited by one of the waiters into "his" area of service. This seems to be the norm, and many people stay with "their" waiter for the duration of their stay. We moved around a bit, and found that the seating areas where the buffets were set up were a little nicer to be in - brighter, more airy. When we found an area that suited us, we stayed there. The first area we were in, although quieter (without the traffic of the buffet) had an off-putting smell to it, so we moved along, and were happy to find smiling faces and waiters who made you feel most welcome. Thanks, Gonzalos!

The grounds are good - a few issues (as stated in earlier reviews) but again, we were there for the beach. The pool areas were great. There are some interesting cement sculptures scattered between the buildings, and some amazing flowers that I have yet to identify. We saw hummingbirds, iguana, geckos, a hawk, a stork, and pelicans. Be sure to climb the tower and get a view of the whole resort. You can see the other side of the island from there. We were surprised by how "scrubby" the island looked, expecting, I suppose, a little more "tropical" feel. But the blue waters of the Caribbean and palm trees in the resort more than made up it.

We were prepared for the mosquitoes from the reviews, so took lotion with DEET, and found that we weren't bothered much. I felt bad for the children though - many had many bites on their faces. The secret here is to not head down to the dining area until after 7:00, because they don't open the doors to let you in until then, and standing outside waiting is where folks seemed to get the most bites.

There is a shop on site where you can purchase souvenirs - beach towels, t-shirts, bathing suits, cigars, rum, etc. They also set up tables with souvenirs outside of the dining area each night, and you can purchase hand-made wooden pieces and bits of jewellery, etc. I bought a wooden crab that was rather nice - all jointed and made of a variety of woods. Be sure you get "finished" pieces (as in, varnished or oiled) as they will check for this at customs when you are coming back into Canada.

We were looking for peace and quiet, and to relax - and that's exactly what we got. We read and slept on the beach all day, then fell into bed about 10:30 at night and went out like a light and slept all night. Perfect! I would definitely return to Sol Pelicano. Gracias, Amigos!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank maple_rev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

I have spent 4 nights at Sol Pelicano last week, and definitely will return!
The beach is breathtaking on Cayo Largo, the food was delicious in all of the restaurants, great cocktails, friendly staff... what else could we need for a great beach holiday? :)))

(ok... there was one bad thing also: lots of mosquitos after sunset, so be prepared against them with some anti-mosquito body spray!)

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank e-magdi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GTA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

Friendly staff, great entertainment, breathtaking beaches.....
Can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Nadia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cayo Largo
0.0 km away
Sol Hotel
Sol Hotel
#5 of 7 in Oyster Pond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
0.7 km away
Sol Cayo Largo
Sol Cayo Largo
#2 of 6 in Cayo Largo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,101 reviews
280.9 km away
Hotel Playa Cayo Santa Maria
Hotel Playa Cayo Santa Maria
#3 of 13 in Cayo Santa Maria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
582.6 km away
Hotel Playa Pesquero
Hotel Playa Pesquero
#1 of 4 in Rafael Freyre
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,179 reviews
589.1 km away
Paradisus Rio de Oro Resort & Spa
177.8 km away
Melia Las Americas
Melia Las Americas
#5 of 62 in Varadero
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Pelicano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Pelicano

Property: Sol Pelicano
Address: Cayo Largo del Sur | Archipiélago de los Canarreos, Cayo Largo 27900, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Cayo Largo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cayo Largo
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cayo Largo
#3 Family Hotel in Cayo Largo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol Pelicano 4*
Number of rooms: 307
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Cayo Largo del Sur, in the Caribbean Sea. All Inclusive Four-Star Resort with 307 rooms. Its comfortable accommodations offer guests the chance to enjoy a peaceful and calm vacation. The property faces 600 meters of beach, famous for its perennially cool white-sand. Fun-packed recreation programs for both children and adults. Recommended for families.Guest Rooms307 rooms: 259 Standard, 36 Standard Ocean View, 12 Junior SuiteDining3 Restaurants (A la Carta, Buffet, A la carte and mini-buffet), 2 Cafeterias, 2 Bars ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsClick and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sol Pelicano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Pelicano Cayo Largo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing