We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rather disappointing.”
Review of The Pink House

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kalami
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Pink House
Reviewed 27 August 2009

Have recently returned from a fortnight stay at the Pink House, Kalami, which is one of several villas owned and managed by Corfu Village Properties. To start on a positive note the view from the villa was breathtaking and the villa itself very spacious will all mod cons. Also a special mention has to go to Luminitisa (the housekeeper). Nothing was too much trouble for her and she even took me and my son to the doctors in Kassiopi when he had an ear infection. The location of the Villa is not ideal. Although the information about the property states Kalami can be reached by a goat herders track it isn't suitable for most people so you have to walk half a mile on a very busy road with no pavements to reach Kalami. It was rather like 'taking your life into your own hands' and not safe for children. You then have to walk down lots of step through the Thompson apartments - it's better walking down than walking back up! Also although it states the beach is shingle it is in fact pebble so quite uncomfortable for walking on. The air conditioning in our room (the main bedroom) broke after two days and we were left without air conditioning for the remainder of the holiday which was almost unbearable with 40 degree temperatures. We were not kept informed of when to expect an engineer and an apology was only given when we spoke to the owner about an unrelated matter during our holiday. An engineer turned up after we had vacated the property which added insult to injury. Another member of our party stated their bedroom on the bottom floor was damp. Without wanting to go into too much detail, the toilets would not flush 'solids' away so we were all forced to become 'dab hands' at flushing with a bucket! During our stay there we quickly realised that it is virtually impossible to get a taxi on a Monday or Friday due to airport runs so checked whether our return taxi for the Friday had been booked as agreed by the agent - which it hadn't! All in all the property wasn't worth the money. Before making the decision to write this review I emailed the owner/agent in Manchester but have had no response whatsoever. All our party are unhappy with the customer services provided by Corfu Village Properties and are disappointed that a holiday we had all looked forward to for so long fell way below our expectations.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank keith-fee-eddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spyrou, Owner at The Pink House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2011

Having recently read your review following an extended period of maternity leave, my family were really very sorry to hear that you were dissapointed with your stay. Though we were pleased that you found the property itself to your satisfaction, aside any problems you feel you encoutered, including the facilities we provide.

It was extremely unfortunate that there was a problem with one of the air conditioning units during your stay and apologise again for this. Please rest assured as you were informed all was done to rectify this problem as soon as was possible it was a particularly hot summer and I understand that the fans we provided will not have been enough but this was all sadly beyond our control.

We describe to the best of our ability the local area it is not our intention to mislead in anyway. Many familiies including my own walk the quiet coastal road to the beach and back quite happily and even again in the late evening. Those who dislike walking will usually hire a car as an alternative though it is certainly not a necessity. We realise that different people like different things and a lot is down to personal preference and for the individual to decide upon suitability, we love Kalami but understand that it may not suit absolutely everyone, in our experience however the majority of those who visit return year upon year.

Return transfers are booked in advance of your departure if required as a matter of curteousy and the company used is extremely reliable. I realise that it can be a worry getting all the family back to the airport on time and had you contacted us directly with your concerns the confusion would have been avoided and then even following your call to the taxi company we would have been able to put your mind at rest and assure you that apart from the particular operator you spoke to not understanding who you were that arrangements for your transfer had definately been confirmed, We were sadly not given this opportunity and I am sorry this was an issue for you at the end of your stay with us.

We understand that many families look forward all year to a well deserved holiday. Customer service is very important to us and we try our best to make sure our guests get as much pleasure and enjoyment from their stay at our property as possible, stress free. All feedback is welcomed positive and negative to help ensure this happens. We too are dissapointed that this was not the outcome in your case despite doing all that we could.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kalami
0.1 km away
San Antonio Corfu Resort
1.9 km away
Krouzeri Beach Apartments
5.3 km away
Melina Bay Hotel
Melina Bay Hotel
#1 of 10 in Kassiopi
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Kalami Studios
Kalami Studios
#4 of 11 in Kalami
20 reviews
3.9 km away
Nissaki Sea View Hotel Apartments
1.8 km away
Nissaki Bay
Nissaki Bay
#5 of 9 in Nissaki
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pink House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pink House

Address: Kalami 49083, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Kalami
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Ski-In / Ski-Out Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Kalami
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
The Pink House Kalami, Corfu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing