We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grecotel Corfu Imperial
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Kommeno Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2007

Nice place, good private beach, good service.We had a Junior Suite overlooking the private beach.

  • Stayed June 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alfavita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

715 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    437
    180
    62
    23
    13
See reviews for
207
336
25
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Market Weighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2007

We began our stay in one of the garden bungalows - actually an upper room in a block of 8 rooms, 4 ground floor, 4 above. It was a very spacious room and tidy but it was very dull and in desperate need of upgrading. The bathroom was old fashioned and dingy and had no air conditioning and the room itself reeked of cigarettes - the bed spread, curtains and other soft furnishings were all badly affected by cigarette smoke. The minibar cupboard door had been removed although the fittings were still in place. The balcony paintwork was badly chipped in places and stained. We were eventually advised by our holiday rep to speak to customer relations which we did and were moved almost immediately into a room in the main building. Unlike the 'shed' this room was more in line with a 5 star hotel, although the sink was blocked, the shower hose leaked and the lavatory's flush was very slow. It did, however, have a wonderful view.

The lobby, dining room where breakfast and evening buffet were served, and the swimming pool were very nice and the food was good, although the buffets were very similar. Most of the staff were extremely pleasant and helpful. When the hotel was vey busy it was difficult to find somewhere comfortable to sunbathe. The hotel mini market is very useful and reasonably priced.

As we were due to leave the hotel at 11.30pm on our last day we had asked the customer relations rep if we could arrange to keep our room until that time, normal check out is at midday. We were told that the arrangement had been made.....until our final day when we were summoned to reception to explain why we had not yet vacated our room. When we explained the arrangements that had been made reception said they knew nothing about it! However after several phone calls we were allowed to remain in the room until 6.00pm which tended to ruin our plans.

A more consistent all round presentation would justify a five star deluxe tag but pool towels hanging from balconies and some male guests entering the dining room in shorts do the hotel no favours..

  • Liked — Spectacular views
  • Disliked — Its inconsistency
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
9 Thank YorkyWashington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epsom Downs, Surrey, England
Level Contributor
96 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2007

Lovely location - very private with a great pool and beaches. The food was good and the buffet style dining as one would expect. There is a separate fine dining restaurant in the complex which was well worth a visit to have a change from the evening buffet and lunch was easily obtainable at the pool and beach bars (we stayed half board).

Only two criticisms - some of the waiting staff could do with customer service training (a couple were somewhat surly) and there were two instances when the cleaning staff were cleaning out the bedrooms either side of our room at 7 am very noisily.

We were a party of 5 (2 adults and 3 teenagers) and found this an ideal location to get away from the torrential rain of the UK to somewhere sunny, hot and totally relaxing.

Also, don't forget to check out the fantastic jewellers in the foyer of the hotel.

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
5 Thank juliamould
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wrexham
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2007

Really expensive hotel, 5.80 euros for a 0.5ml beer, 11 euros for a cocktail and 7.50 for a non-alcoholic cocktail. Food was good but you had to wait by the buffet for the food to arrive as they always ran out. Rooms need upgrading badly, many guests moved rooms becuase the air-con was non-existent, our room faced south so it was ok in the afternoon. Lots of russians but they were fine. Pool very average, beach was good............

  • Liked — Beach
  • Disliked — Waiting for food
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank louieWrexham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampere, Finland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2007

Me and my wife stayed in the Corfu Imperial for a one week in July 2007. It is amazing what waited us in the end of that bad and narrow road... at least to us it was the finest hotel we had ever been in!

Of course we had visited the hotel´s website and read many reviews on this site in advance, but to us, who have been in Greece ten times and always used those modest, small Greek family apartment hotels, this was sheer luxury.

Our room was in the main building, on the fifth (top) floor. The view from the balcony was astonishing, with the blue Ionian Sea at our feet and the Albanian coast somewhere in the horizon. No complaining about the room, nice double bed, lots of lockers for your clothes and things, air conditioning, proper bathroom...

When we went to our first breakfast, it was hard to believe our eyes. There were so many food, fruit and dessert variations - also free champagne - and the place itself was like from a movie scene. We decided to go outside and have our breakfast with a sea view! Waiters were very polite and sophisticated and there were lots of them. Even the coffee was good!

As the hotel really is isolated (3-4 km to nearest village, Gouvia), you definitely need to rent a car to see more of the island than just the Komeno Bay. Luckily we did that in forehand via internet. (There is Europcar desk at the hotel). We did day trips for instance to Corfu town, several beaches in Acharavi, Kassiopi and Lefkimi area, Achilio Palace, Pantokrator Mountain and enjoyed a lot of our freedom. To get to those interesting places, you practically need a car.

One tip... if you head for the Pantokrator and choose the road via villages of Ano Korakiana and Kato Korakiana, you need experience of bad mountain roads, otherwise it may be dangerous. Maybe it is a good idea to choose the route from the Acharavi direction, from there leads a wide asphalt road to Pantokrator,

Of course you can spend the whole week on the undeniably very nice hotel area with tennis courts, water sports facilities, small private beaches and nice pool area, but then you have to have more flexible budget than normal working people usually have. Maybe it is the reason why there were so many Mercs and Beamers on the parking lot, just beside our Fiesta!

Couple of pricing examples: Two cappuccinos in the beach bar: 9,60 euros. Lobster evening at the hotel restaurant: 75 euros / person. Bottle of fine champagne: 95 euros. Greek salad in the pool bar: 11 euros. (We did have salads once in the pool restaurant and they were beautiful and very tasty, no doubt about it) Still that´s why many guests drive to Gouvia village and visit some mid-priced, typical Greek restaurants there. You can also ask the reception to call you a taxi, it´s 10 euros from Imperial to Gouvia and 20 euros to Corfu town.

On some evenings there was an awful smell of sewage on the hotel outdoor area. We know this is a typical problem during the Mediterranean summer, but when connected with a five star hotel, it is quite annoying.

During the whole week, the hotel personnel was very polite and helped us in every possible matter we had to ask. Many thanks to them and special greetings to Anna Maria, who had also visited our home country and knew some phrases in our language!

Summa summarum... it depends on your attitude, if you find Corfu Imperial worth of it´s price or not. This time we wanted to taste some luxury and yes, we got a bite of it!

  • Liked — Scenery, service
  • Disliked — Sometimes even too high-class
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank HannuA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2007

I have been in the Imperial with my wife for a week.
One of the most expensives hotels in the europe. more than 400 eur/ night for a standard room. You have to pay for all the drinks, water is 4 eur a bottle. Swimming pool ok. The beach not particullary impressive. very small, sand very hard and very few sun beds.

I do not recommend anyone to stay in this hotel. The same food every day. we were in greece and did not see once the sea fruits. only regular food.

we had to pay 70 eur/person menu for a la carte restaurant and eat lobster.

total costs for us , one week , 5000 eur. 3000 eur we pay at the travel agency and 2000 eur there on the spot only for water, fresh drinks and water sports. with this money we could have gone to the maurituis.

  • Stayed July 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank sirele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aberdeen
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2006

we stayed at the Imperial as the first week of our honeymoon. Although the hotel itself is very nice I don't think that the catering is anywhere near 5 star unless you eat in the a la carte restaurant ( and pay the supplement) The hotel is isolated and the bus runs only twice per day and needs to be booked the day before. Have never before had to pay in excess of £4 for a fresh orange juice. Left feeling disillusioned and taken for granted!

  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank kitty4414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kommeno Bay
0.4 km away
Grecotel Eva Palace
Grecotel Eva Palace
#1 of 3 in Kommeno Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,224 reviews
1.9 km away
Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa
18.5 km away
MarBella Corfu Hotel
MarBella Corfu Hotel
#1 of 5 in Agios Ioannis Peristeron
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,039 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Daphnila Bay Thalasso
Daphnila Bay Thalasso
#1 of 16 in Dassia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
21.0 km away
Delfino Blu Boutique Hotel
Delfino Blu Boutique Hotel
#1 of 4 in Agios Stefanos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
9.4 km away
Philoxenia Hotel Corfu
Philoxenia Hotel Corfu
#1 of 4 in Ermones
4.5 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grecotel Corfu Imperial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grecotel Corfu Imperial

Property: Grecotel Corfu Imperial
Address: PO Box 130 | Komeno-Gouvia, Kommeno Bay 49083, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Kommeno Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Kommeno Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grecotel Corfu Imperial 5*
Number of rooms: 310
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, Bookgreece.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grecotel Corfu Imperial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grecotel Corfu Imperial Hotel Kommeno Bay
Grecotel Corfu Imperial Kommeno Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing