We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cosy, spacious, comfortable cottage, right in...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Meri Cottage

View from Market Place
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View from Market Place
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
68 reviews
View from Market Place
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Hartington, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 68 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Edwin P
1 review
“Cosy, spacious, comfortable cottage, right in centre of village.”
Reviewed May 24, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

The cottage looked small from the outside but extended greatly to the rear, making it acatually very spacious. The front bedroom was huge and the rear bedroom had a wonderful french door that opened out on to a pretty, decked cottage garden, which we loved sitting out in. Although the cottage was warm, we had the log fire going some nights. Fantastic to sit in the cosy living room, fire and candles (provided) while watching the world go by. the village of Hartington is a delight, with lots of good shops, great pub (Devonshire Arms) and specialist cheese shop all within a few minutes walk away.
Lots of good walks all around, including the beautiful river nearaby. The cottage was ideal as a walking base as lots of drying racks, coat hooks and boot racks.
Hope to return soon.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
871Hreed
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed April 20, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Perfect location for exploring local places, two good pubs/restaurants within 2 min walk.
Really lovely accommodation probably the best I've stayed in for a while.
Would definitely come again and would recommend :))))

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jojoxxx20...
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage Lovely Village”
Reviewed March 24, 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Lovely cottage with spacious bedrooms . central village location with 2 great pubs serving good food. Great terrace for good weather days. Central for all towns in peak district.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hewitt666...
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Loved it - we will be back soon!!”
Reviewed February 6, 2014 for a stay in January 2014

A great cottage in a great location.
Hartington is a lovely village with all the necessary ammenities and 2 great pubs.
With excellent wi-fi in the cottage our boys were in a 'home from home' and with Meri Cottage being comforatable, well appointed and warm, so were we!
We will be back very soon (have already booked for May).

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the cottage/location
Liked least: difficulty in using holidaylettings website to book.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Feb 2014
Thank you, Steven

We hope you enjoy your next visit just as much.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard M
Newbury
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great location and great cottage! We will be back!”
Reviewed November 14, 2013 for a stay in November 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Meri Cottage. The cottage is surprisingly spacious and very well equipped. It's a warm house with comfortable beds and is very much in the centre of the village. It's a great base because although Hartington is a small village it has everything you'd need. There's two pubs to eat at, a tea room, well equipped village shop and a nice little cheese shop. We'd planned to do day trips to Buxton and Bakewell but spent all 4 days of our stay in and around Hartington. In truth, I think we were too comfortable in the cottage! We just didn't want to leave.
I'd recommend it to everyone.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Nov 2013
We're delighted you enjoyed your stay at Meri Cottage and we look forward to your next visit. Thank you for taking the trouble to write a review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
si_bush
London
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“character and location”
Reviewed September 19, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We stayed 3 nights over a long weekend with our two year old along with friends who had their 10 and 8 year old children. The place was clean, had good kitchen facilities with plenty of equipment. Location couldn't have been better. The shower box is a bit small, that would be the only thing I could fault.

Harrington is a beautiful place to stay and meri cottage is the ideal accommodation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Sep 2013
Thank you. Harrington is indeed a beautiful place to stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LucyT444
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely cottage in a great location”
Reviewed September 16, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Meri cottage is delightful, it looks small from the outside but inside there is plenty of space particularly in the bathroom, lounge and two double bedrooms. We managed to fit in 6 adults and two lively toddlers without difficulty. It's location is ideal for walking and cycling and the village itself has some lovely places to eat and drink. We also enjoyed visiting the local sweet shop and feeding the ducks in the pond. The cottage itself is well stocked with bedding, towels and everything you could need in the kitchen. The secluded garden off one of the bedrooms is a definite bonus and we enjoyed wine and sunshine there. Will definitely be returning!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Sep 2013
Thank you. Do come back for another stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing