We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Prudhoe Bay Motel perfect for the end of the road” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Prudhoe Bay Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Deadhorse
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prudhoe Bay Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Deadhorse
Stony Brook, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Prudhoe Bay Motel perfect for the end of the road”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2011

Yeah this hotel is expensive at $110 per person but there are not many choices in Deadhorse. PLUS, you get to eat 24 hrs a day in their really good cafeteria. So, for the money you get WIFI, a very clean room and facility, clean showers & bathrooms, polite locals, wear your booties to help housekeeping and all is good.

Deadhorse is a dry town so as an ADV motorcyclist who like to have a bear after a hard day ride, don't think about it. Good thing really, what these hard working folks do up there with oil and the HUGE machinery being dry is important. We actually really enjoyed our stay here and would go back in a heart beat. Doesn't look so hot from the outside but inside warm, clean like I said and great endless food. Oh, plus you can pack food for the ride back to Fairbanks. Bonus!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Leslie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    16
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
10
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sebring, Florida
Level Contributor
119 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2011

Make no mistake, this hotel serves the oil workers. However the experience, sense of community and the food were well worth the stay. If you are looking fir ambiance, this place is it in a very differennt way. The rooms are Spartan and unremarkable but the experience will be remember quite favorable for long to ome

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank PTAnderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Attu Island, Alaska
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2010

An insane trip up to Deadhorse 13 hour drive one direction. The bumps will jar you fillings loose. The hotel was really expensive but what are you going to do for 1 night? We slept in the car for one night but then spent the money for the hotel the second night. The hotel is a no frills hotel and does no cater to travelers, as the town does not either. This is a work camp and not a place to sight see. The hotel was fine and no real complaints, although do not expect much and you’ll be fine.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank VanRickelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
142 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2009

We drove through Alaska in July 2009. Coming to Fairbanks we decided to take the Dalton Highway up north, all the way to Prudhoe Bay, more than 12 hours of just driving. The Dalton Highway is a quite dangerous street, most of it loose gravel or dirt street and mostly truck-traffic. We drove up and got a room by just walking in. We originally called the Arctic Caribou Inn for a room, but they were booked, but they told us about the other hotels/camps in Deadhorse. The hotel itself is more of a container building, like all of the buildings there. The reception is very helpful and friendly, is open 24 hours, has a little mini shop there, where you can buy toothpaste, shampoo and such stuff as well as souveniers and drinks. The dining room is practicly open always so you can get snacks also apart from the dining hours, and drinks, tea, coffee, ice cream from a machine, hot chocolate. The meals itself are very delicious and there is a vast range of different things (buffet style). Salads, meats, and every day something new to try. When we were there the specials included a wonderful clam chouder (really tasty, among the best ive ever had), Burrito and Tacos, BBQ Ribs,... . Meals and snacks are included in the price of around 120-140 dollars per PERSON. This might sound much but if you consider that in Deadhorse is no restaurant and dinners in Hotels usually cost around 20 dollars if you buy them seperately, its again a good deal since also drinks and water as much as you want are included. People are really friendly and nice, as in every Hotel or Camp in Prudhoe Bay/Deadhorse it is to accomodate mainly oilfield workers among with tourists. THe atmosphere is very relaxed and friendly, you get in contact quickly with other people living there, talking and finding out about their life if you want that. They also have a nice common area, with very comfortable leather sofas and seats where you can flip a handle and put the feets wonderfully comfortable up. There is also a little coffebar (not included) with special coffeedrinks with sirups and so on. Table Tennis, Darts, Billard, TV area with a big flatscreen and Satelite TV, Popcorn machine with freshly made popcorn in the evenings (included). There is also a computer terminal which can be used for a fee, and wireless hotspots. Also an ATM is located int he common room. There are shared bathroom rooms or ensuite private bathroom room options. We had the 1st night a rather small room, but very nicely equipped, with Tv, private shower, the other night we had a bigger room (because of an accident we had with our car on our way back on Dalton Highway we returned and stayed unexpectedly another day in Prudhoe Bay Hotel. They were very helpful, and this room was not really more expensive, but had a little living room with comfortable leather couch, Tv, the bedroom, a closet room, and a bigger bath. The interior details here were for some reason russian, with matrioska dolls and some other arts from Russia. The stay in this hotel was really great, you never be hungry and the staff is very friendly and nice. The atmosphere is great and interesting and I will definitely come there again.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Evy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Prudhoe Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prudhoe Bay Hotel

Property: Prudhoe Bay Hotel
Address: Deadhorse, AK
Region: United States > Alaska > Deadhorse
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Deadhorse
Number of rooms: 150
Also Known As:
Prudhoe Bay Hotel Deadhorse, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing