We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Chilcotin & B.C. Jewel”
Review of Chilcotin Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Riske Creek
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chilcotin Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Riske Creek B&B and Inns
Agassiz, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Chilcotin & B.C. Jewel”
Reviewed 26 August 2011

We were totally amazed by the quality of this lodge: Our bedroom, the bathrooms, the common rooms and the dining room are all FIRST CLASS. The meals, the ambience and the attentiveness provided by the hosts were beyond any expectations we had.
The local knowledge our hosts provided allowed 3 excellent days of exploring and sightseeing. Not to be missed is Farwell Canyon: (the pictographs, bighorm sheep, the old homestead, the amazing dunes and the spectacular views), Nemiah Valley: (wild horses and beautiful First Nations culture, and Dome Mountain (the view). There is also a great First Nations adventure by jetboat on the Fraser that we would have liked to try.
Our stay was the highlight of a 2 week Chilcotin adventure.

Room Tip: The large windows, the comfortable beds, first class bedding and various amenties were great
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 160Len
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    6
    3
    4
    0
See reviews for
8
33
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2011

I make it back to Riske Creek every year or two for the past decade or so. This hotel keeps getting better and better. We eat breakfast and dinner here each day and the meals are hugely looked forward to!! Great sleeps and lots of exercise hiking nearby are recipes for a fantastic trip. Looking forward to our next trip.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tcarruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Devon
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2011

We stayed for 2 nights in the lodge. It was very traditional and the fire in the lounge was lovely. Perfect to sit in front of and relax after a day out exploring. However the bedrooms only have electric heaters which aren't that efficient and as they were only just being used at the start of winter smelt of burning dust to start with, so we turned them off. Consequently I went to bed fully dressed to keep warm. My husband on the oher hand loves the cold and thought I was over reacting!
Ria gave us a great advice on places to see and we came across a bear on our travels which made our day. We had a meal there one night which was amazing, although you pay enough for it.
The only thing that we felt dissapointed about was the lack of tea & coffee facilities. Ria did offer us a couple of drinks which were gladly received, but it wasn't until we paid at the end of our stay that we became aware we were charged for each cup of tea which we thought was a bit harsh. Generally a good stay.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bev C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 15 November 2010

We planned to visit Chilcotin Lodge for a while and now that we did we were not disapointed. The Lodge is very nice and comfortable, as well as the surounding country side, which we explored on Ria's advise. We saw some wild birds, as well as a black bear and deers. It was just wonderful to see the Farwell Canyon too. At the end of the day the dinner made by Ria was excelent and the special treatment the guest gets at the lodge is so nice. She sure makes you feel at home. We just wished we could stay longer, but I am sure we will be back.
Thanks again Ria for being such a wonderful host.
David and Flavia

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 098lodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
1 review
Reviewed 9 November 2010

Beautiful lodge,stunning location and the perfect host. Ria even remembered what I liked to eat from two years ago! She is also a fund of information regarding local natural history and wildlife.
The rooms are comfortable and the food great. We would have returned this year for a second visit but flooding in the Valley prevented it. Hopefully, we will be back next year.
Chilcotin Lodge really is a home from home!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janeuzzell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gibsons, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 2 November 2010

Our second stay at Chilcotin Lodge proved to be as special as our first stay. The accommodations are perfect and the food and service are first rate. Ria is very helpful as to what to do and where to go. We had an amazing drive into the Nemaiah Valley the first day and it placed us in an area of majestic beauty and unspoiled land. After a hard day of backcountry driving, what a welcome sight the Lodge is, a soak in the tub(bubbles and all), a glass of wine in the cozy lounge, with fire burning, and then a sumptious meal in the dining room, what more can you ask for. We will be back for more and always Ria will be as welcoming as the first time. We recommend this highly.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulanddonna_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2010

Having left Bella Coola via The Hill we landed at Chilcotin Lodge for a two night stop on our way back to Vancouver. What a gem of history. A beautiful wooden Pioneer lodge with nothing but style and comfort. The food served by Ria and TG was excellent.
The bedrooms were comfortable and the lodge was warmed by a wood burner. The smell of timber wafting was welcoming and refrshing. A pity we could not stay longer. Our flight back to the UK was getting very near and we had to reach Vancouver. A wonderful stop over. A must if you are in this area.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goatfishEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Riske Creek
0.0 km away
Tweedsmuir Park Lodge
0.0 km away
Eagle's Nest Resort
Eagle's Nest Resort
#1 of 3 in Anahim Lake
44 reviews
0.0 km away
Nimpo Lake Resort
Nimpo Lake Resort
#1 of 7 in Nimpo Lake
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Halcyon Hot Springs
Halcyon Hot Springs
#1 of 6 in Nakusp
485 reviews
0.0 km away
Retreat Wilderness Inn
Retreat Wilderness Inn
#3 of 7 in Nimpo Lake
13 reviews
0.0 km away
No photo provided
Cumbrian Inn
#6 of 6 in Bella Coola
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chilcotin Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chilcotin Lodge

Property: Chilcotin Lodge
Address: Box 2, Riske Creek, British Columbia V0L 1T0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Chilcotin > Riske Creek
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Riske Creek
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Chilcotin Lodge Riske Creek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing