We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Experience the ‘Deep South’ by train”

Southern Prairie Railway
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Ogema
Type: Rail Tours, Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Useful Information: Stairs / lift, Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase
Reviewed July 14, 2018 via mobile

A slow moving train ride through the Deep South that culminates with a tour of the Horizon grain elevator. Be prepared for the weather. If it’s hot out the train car gets very warm. The day we traveled was cloudy and windy and many were underdressed. 1.5 hours from Regina.

Thank corkerym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jon S, Director at Southern Prairie Railway, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2018

Thanks for posting, and yes we are definitely at the mercy of the weather. We can pump some heat during the cooler days at the end of the season, and we’ve now got ceiling fans in the passenger car to help circulate air on the hot days. These help, but our travellers do need to be prepared!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (50)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"rum runner"
in 5 reviews
"train trip"
in 5 reviews
"steak"
in 4 reviews
"pioneer museum"
in 4 reviews
"all ages"
in 4 reviews
"pitchfork fondue"
in 4 reviews
"small town"
in 4 reviews
"salad"
in 4 reviews
"wonderful experience"
in 3 reviews
"my husband and i"
in 3 reviews
"grain elevators"
in 3 reviews
"heritage tour"
in 2 reviews
"no idea"
in 2 reviews
"love trains"
in 2 reviews
"watermelon"
in 2 reviews
"catholic church"
in 2 reviews
"great information"
in 2 reviews
Filter

5 - 9 of 50 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2018 via mobile

What an experience, I highly recommend it to anyone. The staff were very helpful and it was a breeze getting there.

We drove in from Saskatoon which is about a 4 hour drive.

We did the heritage train with the grain elevator tour. FYI there is a bathroom on the train, they didn’t make an announcement until the train had left the station.

They had great information about the history of the area and we learned a lot!

Thank sheshai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jon S, Director at Southern Prairie Railway, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2018

Thank you for the feedback, great to hear you enjoyed!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 17, 2018

The Southern Prairie Railway in Ogema Saskatchewan gives you an excellent experience of the past on a beautifully restored 1922 Pullman passenger car that seats about 75 passengers. A 45 minute trip down the rails to visit a farmer's market at the next town. Then on the way back the train is stopped by robbers (who are collecting funds for the Stars Air Ambulance charity). From young kids to retirees everyone had a wonderful experience. The robbery tour is one of ten different tours for all tastes, ages and interests. We took our grandson along and he loved it!

Thank larrys306riders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jon S, Director at Southern Prairie Railway, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2018

Thanks for the review, glad you enjoyed the trip!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 11, 2018

Two couples took the excursion including the pitchfork fondue supper. A great experience and the hostess provided a bit of commentary on the countryside and community of Ogema. Meal was good with a very large steak. Would recommend to anyone travelling in the area or make it a destination.

Thank Roy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jon S, Director at Southern Prairie Railway, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2018

Thanks for coming out Roy, and also for the feedback. The pitchfork fondue trio had been a great addition for us here at SPR!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed June 10, 2018 via mobile

It was a beautiful blue day when we went for a ride on southern prairie rail. Ogema had just recieved lots of rain and the fields were lush and green. The train engine is a diesel locomotive. The car was very comfortable and has fans on the ceiling which kept it cool. We went for the pitchfork fondue which include a steak dinner with baked beans, coleslaw, roasted potatoes, and watermelon. The dinner takes place at an old catholic church in the former town of horizon.

Thank Manoau2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jon S, Director at Southern Prairie Railway, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2018

Thanks for the detailed review! You’re right, it’s amazing how a couple good rains can change he landscape in a hurry.... things are looking really good this spring. The ceiling fans were recently installed as we continue to improve the fleet where we can - good to see they are making a difference already. Have a great summer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Southern Prairie Railway also viewed

Bengough, Saskatchewan
 

Been to Southern Prairie Railway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing