We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (37)
Filter reviews
37 results
Traveller rating
15
18
4
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
15
18
4
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmavis bankno electricityblue mountainsno hot watera great experienceoil lampshikepeakkingstonhostelevertonpickmanchargecookingpeacebirds
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 37 reviews
Reviewed February 25, 2017

We spent two nights at Whitfield Hall in April 2015. We actually like the place but did not care for the lack of warm water for showering, or the poor plumbing.
We loved the cool, fresh mountain air, the beautiful views and the old rustic accommodations. Lack of electricity, and television was not a problem for us but we did miss the warm showers.
We would go again for the fresh coffee, the climate, and the friendly host Everton.
Just wish they would install a solar powered water heater.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ngray2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 5, 2016 via mobile

This is one of the best places to stay in the Blue Mountains. It's rustic in that there is no electricity or hot water. But don't be turned away, this authentic hostel offers beautiful views, access to hike Blue Mtn. Peak, farm to table meals and all of the wonderful hospitality of Jamaicans.

Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank fsu4life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 8, 2016

We loved Whitfield Hall (with the one exception that the shower didn't seem to work). Everton and the rest of the staff were very friendly and made delicious food (especially breakfast which I will remember as the best I had in Jamaica). Hotel pick up was efficient, grounds and communal areas are really nice. Stayed in the Colonel Whitfield room which was small and cozy. Stayed for 2 nights after and climbed Blue Mountain peak. Probably the most memorable 2 nights of my holiday. Make sure you get breakfast after your hike it will be the best breakfast you ever have - eggs, Saltfish and ackee, dumplings, semolina cakes and plantain mmm.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Tim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 15, 2015 via mobile

We only stayed one night but had a great time. Upon arrival we were simply shown our room and told to make ourselves comfortable. We brought dinner with us and ate on their picnic tables outside while watching a beautiful sunset surrounding by huge Eucalyptus trees. They also give you the option of ordering dinner for them for a small extra cost and from what we saw it looked great as guests ate dinner in front of a fireplace. We asked them to prepare a guide for us to take us for the hike at 2AM and he was there ready and waiting at 2AM on the dot. After a great hike we came back to see them preparing some coffee and breakfast for us. We showered with very cold water and enjoyed some coffee which they prepare themselves. Breakfast was also good with some spicy cabbage, scrambled eggs and delicious fried dumplings. We all left very happy and satisfied. It is a very simple cottage but perfect if you only plan to sleep a few hours to go hiking.

Stayed: September 2015, travelled with friends
1  Thank Madisimo0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 27, 2015

Spent a night here. Tons of character. Beds in attic were fun.
Getting there is an adventure and great access to Blue Mountain. Rode our bikes to the top then blasted down back to the Lodge. Hella fun. Reminded me of camp. Bring some warmish clothes. Gets cold up there.

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Ben A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews