We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hikers paradise,”
Review of Whitfield Hall

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Penlyne Castle
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Whitfield Hall
Reviewed 12 March 2017

Beautiful ride up the mountain to the house Everton was great. Beautiful house & property. Loved the tall trees. Easy trail to follow to BM peak hiking past coffee thru the mist of the mtn hikers must

Room Tip: The house & bunks are very comfortable but the property is so beautiful that you may want to bri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Matt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (37)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

6 - 12 of 37 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2017

We spent two nights at Whitfield Hall in April 2015. We actually like the place but did not care for the lack of warm water for showering, or the poor plumbing.
We loved the cool, fresh mountain air, the beautiful views and the old rustic accommodations. Lack of electricity, and television was not a problem for us but we did miss the warm showers.
We would go again for the fresh coffee, the climate, and the friendly host Everton.
Just wish they would install a solar powered water heater.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ngray2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2016 via mobile

This is one of the best places to stay in the Blue Mountains. It's rustic in that there is no electricity or hot water. But don't be turned away, this authentic hostel offers beautiful views, access to hike Blue Mtn. Peak, farm to table meals and all of the wonderful hospitality of Jamaicans.

Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank fsu4life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2016

We loved Whitfield Hall (with the one exception that the shower didn't seem to work). Everton and the rest of the staff were very friendly and made delicious food (especially breakfast which I will remember as the best I had in Jamaica). Hotel pick up was efficient, grounds and communal areas are really nice. Stayed in the Colonel Whitfield room which was small and cozy. Stayed for 2 nights after and climbed Blue Mountain peak. Probably the most memorable 2 nights of my holiday. Make sure you get breakfast after your hike it will be the best breakfast you ever have - eggs, Saltfish and ackee, dumplings, semolina cakes and plantain mmm.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Tim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2015 via mobile

We only stayed one night but had a great time. Upon arrival we were simply shown our room and told to make ourselves comfortable. We brought dinner with us and ate on their picnic tables outside while watching a beautiful sunset surrounding by huge Eucalyptus trees. They also give you the option of ordering dinner for them for a small extra cost and from what we saw it looked great as guests ate dinner in front of a fireplace. We asked them to prepare a guide for us to take us for the hike at 2AM and he was there ready and waiting at 2AM on the dot. After a great hike we came back to see them preparing some coffee and breakfast for us. We showered with very cold water and enjoyed some coffee which they prepare themselves. Breakfast was also good with some spicy cabbage, scrambled eggs and delicious fried dumplings. We all left very happy and satisfied. It is a very simple cottage but perfect if you only plan to sleep a few hours to go hiking.

Stayed: September 2015, travelled with friends
1  Thank Madisimo0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2015

Spent a night here. Tons of character. Beds in attic were fun.
Getting there is an adventure and great access to Blue Mountain. Rode our bikes to the top then blasted down back to the Lodge. Hella fun. Reminded me of camp. Bring some warmish clothes. Gets cold up there.

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Ben A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2014

If you are planning to hike to the Blue Mountain Peak, well this place is perfect.
To get there, you have to go to Mavis Bank, with your car or taxi. before this, ask for a pick up from there, Whitfield will send you a driver. We had Roydel, very nice guy. don't go with your own car even if you have a 4WD. The road is a nightmare. I have a lot of experience in driving in bad roads but this one is very very bad. You need someone with a proper vehicle and who knows the road.
The transportation is expensive but you don't really have the choice. It's a 1 hour trip from Mavis Bank (police Station).
The place is amazing, and the food exactly what you need for a 6-8hours hike. It was very good. Dinner and breakfast.Everton the guy in charge did an amazing job. and so cool to speak with him. He used to be the guide, now he is doing the cooking. I wish we had him as a guide. He seems to know all about it. Instead we had Paul, a 24 years old guy. If you are with him, good luck. He's a joke. He knows nothing about the mountains. ask for someone else, honestly. He even tried to cheat on us with the price. he's not reliable.

Room Tip: If you need a guide, ssk for a real Guide, NOT PAUL. (see my comments)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bradbin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Whitfield Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whitfield Hall

Address: Blue Mountains, Penlyne Castle, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Thomas Parish > Penlyne Castle
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Penlyne Castle
Price Range: $19 - $26 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whitfield Hall sits at 4000 feet directly on the main hiking trail that travels up to Blue Mountain Peak. The hall itself, dating from the late 18th century, can provide rustic accommodation for up to 30 guests. Most rooms have bunkbeds, although the Colonel Whitfield room has a double (full) bed and is private. Guides to the Peak can be arranged for trekkers. Hearty, home-cooked meals and other refreshments, including cups of, Blue Mountain coffee brewed with fresh spring water, are available (with advance notice). Guests may also use our kitchen to cook. A campsite is also available. You can hire our driver to provide safe, 4 wheel drive transportation. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Whitfield Hall Hotel Kingston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing