We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (37)
Filter reviews
37 results
Traveller rating
15
18
4
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
15
18
4
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmavis bankno electricityblue mountainsno hot waterland rovera great experienceoil lampshikepeakcoffeekingstonhostelevertonkerosenepickmancharge
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 37 reviews
Reviewed March 13, 2017

No electricity -light and heat with kerosene. Hard to reach without hiking of using a Land Rover. But worth the trip. Great food in this old army barracks. Definitely a unique place to stay. Not luxurious by any means but a great place to stay mid-hike to make it to the Blue Mountain peak.

Room Tip: hostel- mostly bunk beds
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Melisa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 12, 2017

Beautiful ride up the mountain to the house Everton was great. Beautiful house & property. Loved the tall trees. Easy trail to follow to BM peak hiking past coffee thru the mist of the mtn hikers must

Room Tip: The house & bunks are very comfortable but the property is so beautiful that you may want to bring a tent & camp or just a hammock.
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Matt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 25, 2017

We spent two nights at Whitfield Hall in April 2015. We actually like the place but did not care for the lack of warm water for showering, or the poor plumbing.
We loved the cool, fresh mountain air, the beautiful views and the old rustic accommodations. Lack of electricity, and television was not a problem for us but we did miss the warm showers.
We would go again for the fresh coffee, the climate, and the friendly host Everton.
Just wish they would install a solar powered water heater.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ngray2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 5, 2016 via mobile

This is one of the best places to stay in the Blue Mountains. It's rustic in that there is no electricity or hot water. But don't be turned away, this authentic hostel offers beautiful views, access to hike Blue Mtn. Peak, farm to table meals and all of the wonderful hospitality of Jamaicans.

Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank fsu4life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 8, 2016

We loved Whitfield Hall (with the one exception that the shower didn't seem to work). Everton and the rest of the staff were very friendly and made delicious food (especially breakfast which I will remember as the best I had in Jamaica). Hotel pick up was efficient, grounds and communal areas are really nice. Stayed in the Colonel Whitfield room which was small and cozy. Stayed for 2 nights after and climbed Blue Mountain peak. Probably the most memorable 2 nights of my holiday. Make sure you get breakfast after your hike it will be the best breakfast you ever have - eggs, Saltfish and ackee, dumplings, semolina cakes and plantain mmm.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Tim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews