We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fab rustic hideaway, but still close to town”
other travellers have booked this property
La Grande Maison
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
La Grande Maison
Antique Furniture Take breakfast to your room?
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
La Grande Maison
Antique Furniture
Take breakfast to your room?
The Window
The 3 acre Garden
The Breakfast
The River
The Summer Garden Kitchen
The Bike Barn
The Games Room
The Terrace at La Grande Maison
Writing Desk
French Beds
All B&B suites are in the main mansion at La Grande Maison
Evening meals by arrangement
We do evening meals twice a week in the old wine press, on the terrace or in the dining room.
Dining Alfresco
The Terrace at night
The Old Wine press
The Dining Room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Pas-De-Jeu, Deux-Sevres, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
robfal12
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
“Fab rustic hideaway, but still close to town”
Reviewed October 6, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Stayed with Ben for a couple of days.A wonderful friendly reception and a great property with tame ducks semi tame grounds and a river. Very attentive hosts, plenty of tips on things to do and see and a great breakfast. Not a lot in the actual village, but plenty in Ludon which is just 10 min down the road. Yes I would recommend Ben and his Grand Maison to anyone.

Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cockburns...
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely place to stay”
Reviewed September 1, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Although we only stayed 2 nights Ben and Billy were very warm, welcoming and informative. The room was fine for 3 adults staying and the grounds and surrounding area were lovely. The breakfasts were delicious in a lovely dining area. It was also great to be able to sit outside.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The wonderful big old house and the hosts.
Liked least: Not having the usual shampoos etc. in shower as ours was packed away!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traceytri...
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Secluded sanctuary”
Reviewed August 25, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We stayed here by default due to the standard( or lack of ) at our previous gite and am so glad we did.
Don't be put off roadside because as soon as you go through the gates you are in a secluded sanctuary. The grounds are large with a river running down the bottom and the house is beautiful . We sat outside on several evening having taken advantage of the outdoor kitchen and shared tastes of wine purchases with other guests.
Our hosts Billie and Ben were so welcoming,nothing was to much trouble, and their knowledge of the area, sites and restaurants was shared with great enthusiasm . (Sorry Ben we may have kept you talking )
The supper nights in the wine press were great fun , local produce cooked and served in a fabulous atmosphere and shouldn't be missed.
Thank you Billie and Ben for a wonderful stay, we hope to return very soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katherine...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“A piece of Heaven for the whole family”
Reviewed August 7, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We enjoyed a fantastic week at this location due to the amazing efforts of the hosts who have created a tranquil hotel in the heart of the Loire. We stayed in a two bedroom suite that was designed to highlight its origins dating back several hundred years. The kids enjoyed looking out over roof tops at bedtime and then waking up to run downstairs for an amazing breakfast daily. We spent our time taking short trips to some incredible places many of which were personally recommended, and some even escorted, by our delightful hosts. But there were several days we simply had to spend the day on the property enjoying the pool, river, games room, sunshine, chasing ducks, and sipping wine with the other lovely families who fast became our friends. What a truly magnificent week it was all thanks to this piece of heaven.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The grounds were simply amazing as were the thoughtfulness of the hosts
Liked least: Having to leave at the end of the trip!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SharonB11...
Talent, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“This is a fantastic place to stay.”
Reviewed July 7, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

I cannot say enough good things about La Grande Maison and the owners, Billy (female) and Ben. The hosts were gracious, the breakfast was generous and delicious, and we felt welcomed and comfortable. (An added bonus for our American family is that Ben and Billy are British, which made communication effortless!)
The mansion is amazing. The family suite we booked was spacious and high class. Our 20 and 18 year olds ooh'ed and aah'ed over the place, so you know it is impressive! The place is entirely charming, with ducks, chickens, and cats wandering the courtyard.
Ben and Billy's hospitality, availability, accommodation, and friendliness made this stay a complete pleasure. Perhaps the saying, "Like attracts like" is true: we also really enjoyed the other guests who found their way to La Grande Maison. Ben was very knowledgeable about the area's history and attractions, and it was a good location for exploring prehistoric sites and some of the chateaux. A great b and b!

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hosts. Even with how wonderful the place is, that would have been cold comfort if not for the hospitality.
Liked least: Located in a tiny village.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lmorgan65
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous”
Reviewed April 22, 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed as part of a group of cyclists stopping overnight on the way to the South of France. We all (aged between 18-50) loved it and wanted to stay longer and explore further. Ben and Billie made us very welcome and were great hosts. We hope to be back for a longer stay. Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Hosts
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed July 9, 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing