We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful immersion in French village life with...”
other travellers have booked this property
2 Bedroom Gite @ La Grande Maison
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
2 Bedroom Gite @ La Grande Maison
You have full use of the facilities and 3 acre grounds of La Grande Maison Kitchen Diner
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
8 reviews
2 Bedroom Gite @ La Grande Maison
You have full use of the facilities and 3 acre grounds of La Grande Maison
Kitchen Diner
Double Bedroom
Twin Bedroom
Dining Table
Shower Room
The River
View from the bedrooms
La Grande Maison
The Garden
The Garden Kitchen at La Grande Maison
The Games Room
The Terrace at La Grande Maison
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Pas-De-Jeu, Deux-Sevres, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
CathCon
Kildare, Ireland
1 review
“Wonderful immersion in French village life with great hosts”
Reviewed 18 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Our family with three children aged 7 to 11 years rented this gite for our first holiday with car to France and choose La Grande Maison for the opportunity to experience the landscape, chateaus, vineyards of the Loire Valley. We tend to want to stay in a place that will allow us witness the rhythm of everyday life for locals while on holiday and hoped it would provide this. Our overall holiday experience was just wonderful and the setting, facilities and hosts at La Grande Maison were key to that.
The Gite itself is airy, clean and modern while retaining the integrity of the building. Beds were comfy and with crisp linen sheets and everyone was well rested by the end of this holiday. Cooking could be done in the kitchen or at the bbq and summer kitchen within the courtyard of the main house. The Gite faces the road while the remainder of the accommodation faces towards an internal courtyard. The road could be noisy at peak times and at first was a little unsettling but we quickly forgot about it as we settled into courtyard life very quickly. Guests in the gite have the best of both worlds in being fully included in all of the amenities and social life of the courtyard while also having a separate self-contained little pied-a-terre within the lovely village of Pas de Jeu allowing us avail of the daily bread van deliveries for fresh pastries at breakfast and the fruit and vegetable of a local family a few doors up.
The beautiful grounds of La Grande Maison as well as the magnificent big house really wowed us and for the first few days we all but especially the children wanted to stay put each day playing in the pool, with the duckings, walking to (and once swimming in) the river as well as getting involved in harvesting the plum crop with by now firms friends made with the other children. For days out Ben and Billie provided plenty of ideas and instead of large scale, commercial wine producing vineyard tours we were delighted to have two tours arranged for us by Ben with small, local, artisan and specialist wine producers in magnificent settings. The insight into wine production and the quality of the wines we tasted on these visits revitalised our palettes, grown too used to the offerings of the local supermarkets back home. The boxes we brought back with us are under constant threat as we cannot face screwing off reverting back to the screw cap/rubber 'cork'. And on both occasions the children were as taken with the wine tour as we were (if not with the wine itself). Other days out were to a few renowned Chateaus, kayaking down the Viennes, visiting beautiful medieval towns, shopping at local markets and swimming and sunbathing at a nearby man-made lake. With the great quality ingredients available, cooking and eating in was very enjoyable but there was also a good choice of local restaurants nearby and in particular the recommended Le Riceardau's (sp?) was a high quality restaurant of incredible value.
An unexpected highlight of the holiday was the sociable evenings spent on the terrace with other guests as we all shared stories of places visited that day and shared tastes of wines discovered. All the while children played in the half darkness of the garden cajooling Dad's into playing stuck in the mud. Billie's meals served on four of the evenings in the wine press were real highlights for the food, ambiance and conviviality.
We've already begun booking for a return visit as we felt there was lots, lots more to discover and that we had certainly not experienced all that La Grande Maison and this part of the Loire Valley have to offer in our first two weeks there.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Overall ambience and considerate hosting
Liked least: Leaving...
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
phaweir
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Probably the best holiday that we have ever had as a family”
Reviewed 14 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We stayed at La Grande Maison, in the 2 Bedroom Gite for two weeks at the end of July 2014. From the moment we arrived, we just absolutely loved the place.

Ben and Billie are fantastic hosts, always available to consult with queries or to offer advice on places to visit - they have an unrivalled knowledge of the wider Loire Valley, and La Grande Maison is ideally located to explore the region.

The wonderful grounds and gardens were a safe oasis for us to relax and for our kids to play. The main house is beautiful at present, but the owners have some exciting plans for the future and I am very sure that we will return to see how they are getting on in years to come.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Relaxed atmosphere, wonderful surroundings
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sophie M
Paris, France
2 reviews
“Warm welcome and excellent value”
Reviewed 13 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014

I highly recommend this gîte. We have stayed in both the one bed and the two bed gîtes when visiting family in the area. They are situated in a beautiful old house in a stunning part of the Loire region, near two small towns (useful for shopping) as well as countless beautiful châteaux to visit. On each occasion we have received a very warm welcome from our host, Ben, and have enjoyed a very comfortable stay. Both gîtes are very well equipped which make them perfect for travelling with teenagers and small children (as we do). We really appreciated the modern comforts in a charming, traditional setting. We have already recommended the gîte to our friends and family and look forward to staying there again soon!

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DizzieLiz...
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“2nd visit in two years. Planning next year already!”
Reviewed 10 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Our 2nd visit to La Grande Maison was as good if not better than last year. With 4 friends in tow this time, we BBQed each night, enjoying epic table tennis, pool & jenga contests with wine from our trips to Loire vineyards and mouth watering delights from local markets (Tuesday in Loudun, Friday in Thouars). Supermarkets in both towns are superb.

The charm of La Grande Maison Starts from the moment you arrive with warm greetings from Ben, Billie, Ella, the ducks & the hens. Evenings have a lovely community ambiance.

The 2 bed gite is well equipt for 2 couples. A spacious bathroom and lovely shower. The BBQ is great for outdoor dining.

Things to do...Highly recommend Alain for wine tours. He will pick you up from the gite. Chinon and Saumur make nice day trips. A walk (or run) along La Dive river is a great way to build an appetite for dinner!

We'll be back next year for sure. Thanks Ben & Billie.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John T
Widnes, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great Hosts, Gite and grounds.”
Reviewed 13 August 2012 for a stay in July 2012

On arrival at the Gite we were met by Ben who then proceeded to give the tour of the grounds and Gite.

The Gite was perfectly adequate for the duration of the stay. it provided a clean and comfortable place to stay.

The main grounds and house cannot be seen on arrival at the gite ( Which is accessed from the front of the building) , but are revealed when passing through large wooden doors from the frontage of the building.

The grounds where the perfect place for an evening barbecue - A small barbecue area is provided with gas barbecue available if required ( Gas provided )

Our Hosts Ben and Billie treated us like part of the family and the hospitality was tremendous.

There is also a games room which our 6 Year old son enjoyed the use of ( Pool table and table Tennis). The main source of excitement for the kids was the large gardens with tree swing where they could happily play together. Our Children Freya and Lewis made some good new new friends.

Further down the garden ( through a gate ) there is access to the river where it was possible to swim or just relax under the shade of the trees at the river bank.

The only minor drawback of the 2 bedroom Gite was its proximity to the road. There was some traffic noise ( however this did abate during the evening and night and didn't cause any problems with sleep)

The Gite is located between Thouars and Loudun - which both have supermarkets. Thouars has a traditional market on a Friday, which is worth visiting. Other areas of interest are close at hand such as the town of Chinon and things that Kids enjoy such as the various theme parks and Zoos which are close at hand. The small town of Montreuil - Bellay is also a good bet for an evening meal.

Thanks for a Great Holiday

John, Sarah, Freya and Lewis

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGARTE0
Lemoiz, Spain
1 review
Reviewed 26 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
Google Translation

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Los jardines de la casa y la hospitalidad y buen gusto de los dueños.
Liked least: El baño resultaba pequeño para 5 personas.
Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$77
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing