We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
5 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.com
US$213
View deal
Hotels.comUS$213
Booking.comUS$214
eDreamsUS$214
PricelineUS$214
Orbitz.comUS$213
TravelocityUS$213
View all 11 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (175)
Filter reviews
175 results
Traveller rating
102
27
12
16
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
102
27
12
16
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews boutique hotel barrel mexico concept guadalajara
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 175 reviews
Reviewed January 8, 2021 via mobile

The room was in terrible conditions, lack of maintenance, dirty, and the bed had hair and blood stains. We booked 3 rooms for 2 nights. All the rooms were in similar conditions. The manager of the hotel offered to cancel our second night and to get reimbursed. However, they didn’t reimburse us for the unused nights, breaking their word. Funny enough, the Sales Director is the daughter of the owner, she was the one who block the reimbursement. Don’t stay here, there are better 4/5 stars hotels in the area (Guadalajara) for the same price. This hotel charges a ridiculous fee for what it is. Check reviews in TripAdvisor and here. We are not the only ones who have experienced this. Regarding Covid protocols, they have a tunnel for human disinfection, not recommended by the WHO, and forbidden in first world countries. My body temperature was not taken and some staff were not wearing face masks.

Date of stay: January 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
3  Thank Nicoeu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 1, 2020

Bathroom looked dirty like it hadn’t been cleaned in a while and the sheets had hairs and looked worn out. Specially during covid19 I didn’t want to risk staying there. Definitely not worth it for almost $200 a night, for less than that I got a luxurious hotel in tequila centro.

Date of stay: October 2020
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank maritzam505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 19, 2020

During our stay we had to move rooms twice due to first room encountering a broken shower head & then second room infested with roaches. We asked the front staff for some type of discount. However they were unable to provide without owners approval. We still haven’t heard back from the owner.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Jenavi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 30, 2019

The concept and grounds are beautiful. The restaurant is a 5 out of 10. For being in Mexico and being a “boutique” hotel the food doesn’t live up to what the caliber of this hotel is. I guess this is true of Tequila in general. The food is not very good. Also the hot water last about 3 minutes. Don’t expect a hot shower.

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank kalastmil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 17, 2019 via mobile

This is one of those places where you go for the experience and not for the hotel service. We stayed only for a night and sort of regretted not spending another day as we travelled halfway around the world and highly unlikely we’ll visit again. Beautiful barrels and sunrise + sunset views with agave all around. Completely mesmerising. The rooms were quite decent so not sure what the other reviewers are complaining about. Hot water was aplenty as well.

That said, their service is appalling. Nobody speaks even a word of English and we don’t speak a word of Spanish, so one can imagine what would have happened there! If they want to make it an attraction for international tourists (and let me say it is totally worth it), they ought to have some English speaking staff at least. We got lucky that the distillery (which is in their premises) tour guide spoke a bit of English so we were not completely clueless on what he was explaining. We opted for the tequila tasting class as well, where the guide only spoke Spanish so it was more like go figure! The food in their restaurant is tasteless and the effort required to explain the waiters on what you actually want is just not worth it. I had to wait 20 minutes trying to explain them to get the bill! They don’t even understand that much English!! So I’d suggest going to town to get a bit, plenty of options there and the mood in the square is so lively at night, it’s magical. The hotel offers free drop offs and pick ups from the main square (which was another communication challenge!) but this facility is helpful as it’s hard to spot a taxi in town.

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank apoorvag_stue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews