We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Unspoilt relaxing perfect holiday experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of SENSIMAR Grand Mediterraneo Resort & Spa by Atlantica

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
SENSIMAR Grand Mediterraneo Resort & Spa by Atlantica
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Ermones
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Unspoilt relaxing perfect holiday experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2012

I have,stayed in many hotels on the island and have enjoyed them. This hotel exceeded all of my expectations it is exactly what is described in the brochure...the staff,are attentive pleasent and available to attend to your needs.....Nat and sheryl added to the ambiance with their wonderful renditions of contemporary songs....all in all a wonderful holiday cannot fault it....

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank wistfulllwendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,550 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    912
    420
    135
    45
    38
See reviews for
100
1,206
7
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (522)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2012

We stayed for a week in this hotel in the 3rd week of May. The hotel is not very far from Corfu' City and we used the local bus to get there. The hotel staff are very good and friendly and from our experience are able to help with any problems that may crop up. The most helpful was the Customer Relation Manager, a position in our opinion that is not very well advertised within the Hotel. I would therefore like to take this opportunity to thank all the staff of this Hotel for trying to make our stay very comfortable. I stop here as most has already been said regarding the Hotel.

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank VeroSiciliano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2012

We have just returned from what can only be described as an amazing week !
The hotel is in a fantastic location with wonderful views over the bay, the food, service and staff are second to none and nothing is to much trouble, albeit the drinks are a little pricey ! But when your drinking Manhattens with such a view over the bay I guess it's only to be expected :o)
As the previous review mentioned, WATCH OUT for the desserts, one is never enough !
We stayed in room 211 which had a great view over the bay and was within easy reach of the hotel.
Ninos boat hire is a MUST ! We spent a whole day cruising the island with Janet & Kenny, stopping off at secluded bays and tavernas that you would never find by road, the days hire was reasonably priced and we were collected from the hotel and taken to the harbour, it was certainly a day to remember !
We would recommend Grand Mediterraneo to all and would definitely return

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Linz39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Bromwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2012

We have just spent a week at the Grand Med and had a lovely time. We felt special whilst there and the place lives up to its 4T rating. The complex is clean, well looked after, dramatic and pretty with good facilities and excellent customer service (which I’ll come to later).

The hotel certainly has an impressive setting, rippling down a verdant hillside like a concrete slinky. The main body of the hotel with the lobby/restaurant/bar etc is at the highest point and the views over Ermones Bay and the wooded hillside opposite are spectacular. However, the sheer hilliness of the setting could be a problem. We are able-bodied people in our 30s and by the end of the week, we were a little tired of clambering up to the restaurant/bar several times a day. The main road is a 25% incline in parts. The ‘lobby staff’ do operate a fleet of golf buggies and an MPV to assist people getting up and down the hill when called but given our age, we were reluctant to bother them. Several times they stopped alongside us on their travels and offered us a lift up which was great but all I could think was I would hate to have mobility issues and have to rely on a lift each time I wanted to move around the complex. Bear this in mind before you book!

In addition to the buggies, there is also the funicular lift which ferries people between the beach and the reception with four stops at different room levels in between. I read various comments on here about the funicular often being broken. But we were fortunate that it worked for the whole week that we were there. The lift is useful to have but my goodness it’s slow as there is only one ‘carriage’ and it takes almost five minutes to slide its way all the way up the incline. Like any lift, you also have to be lucky that it’s heading in the direction that you wish to go when it arrives at your stop!

The food was excellent all week. There is plenty of choice and most of what we tried was really tasty and of a high standard. You can sit inside or outside and there always seemed to be seats available. One of the only major downsides for us was the price of the drinks in the bar (cocktails 9.50E, whisky 7.50E and OJ 4.50E). As there are barely any other bars nearby, you are a captive audience when you stay at the Grand Med which is why the prices are so steep. Fortunately, we are not big drinkers so this didn’t really bother us – but if you wish to frequent the bar every night, you will have a pricey week.

The rooms were very clean, with a good standard of fittings and massive super-king size beds that are five and a half feet wide. There is air con in the room which is quiet and efficient. There is also a kettle and some mugs in the room but take your own tea/coffee/sugar as it will be a lot cheaper than buying from the hotel or the local shop.

The Grand Med particularly excels with its customer service. Right from the moment we walked into the lobby, the staff were friendly, welcoming, and helpful and nothing ever seemed too much trouble. The waiters and waitresses in particular were universally excellent. The standard of English throughout the Gran Med was a little variable but at the end of the day, you are in Greece and there was never a problem which couldn’t be solved by patience.

It’s worth noting that there is barely anything else to Ermones itself, just another couple of smaller hotels, a restaurant and George’s seemingly well-known taverna on the beach, which although very welcoming indeed, is nothing particularly special. The beach is okay but the sand is coarse and it looks better from a distance. There is a small shop at the end of the hotel drive where we were able to buy some milk and basic snacks from.

Finally, we didn’t hire a car in Corfu but the reviews, the guide books and the rep all said we should to make the best of the island and in retrospect, I agree. The guided tour we booked did not take in as many of the sights that we wanted to see such as Plantokrator and the northern hills but the guide was excellent and very knowledgeable. Also, the roads were really quiet when we were there which makes it a more viable option.

Room Tip: We did not pay extra for the 'partial sea view' and we got one anyway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CaptainScarlet75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2012

My wife and I have just returned from a fabulous week in the Grand Mediterraneo. Although the complex is built on a steep hill there are plenty of buggies available at all hours to help you to or from your room or if you want to keep fit the walk up the hill will help.
The complex is well laid out and there are tennis courts and a gym for the energetic. There are also several walks that can be done from 1-3hs around the hills surrounding the complex and the Thomson rep gave us route guides to help. If you want to go to Corfu town there is a local bus that runs about every two hours and stops at the hotel entrance to pick you up.
We stayed in room 613 with a view over the forrest and surrounding countryside. The sun was partially on the balcony all day so you could sit in the sun or the shade and enjoy a glass of wine at your leisure. The room was kept spotlessly clean and to a very high standard with fresh towels and bedding every day.
There is a wonderful pool area to sit around during the day or a grassy area with sun beds if you don,t want to lie by the pool with magnificent views out to sea.
The food was magnificent with plenty of choice for everyone. The dessert table was a work of art and there should be a warning sign to anyone on a diet.
The manager and staff should be given special mention as nothing seemed to be a problem for them and everything was done with a smile.
We will definately return.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2012

We stayed at the Grand Mediterraneo hotel from 25.05.12 to 01.06.12.

We booked this hotel for our honeymoon having read the reviews and read carefully the setting and facilities this hotel had to offer. We booked a sea view room and thought that the price seemed very reasonable for a 5 star hotel.

The transfer was quick about 25 mins from airport to the hotel and we were greeted with a glass of champagne on our arrival. We were then driven to our room by the porters and showed around our room. There was a fridge and free water, a safe and aircon. We were advised not to put the key card next to your phones and bank cards as this can make them stop working, which may be what happened to a previous reviewer who was having problems.

The room was very clean, modern and spacious with a large balcoony as all the rooms have as standard. Plently of room for sunbathing, lying down, which I did on occasions. The bed was massive and confortable and the bathroom had a seperate bath which was a nice treat and seperate shower, water was powerful and hot, no broken tiles or any problems with our room.

Room 370, 2 levels down from reception. The view was beautiful overlooking the sea and mountains, each room is like an apartment in a way meaning that you can see the roofs of the others on the level below but this did not at all hinder the fantastic view. We used our balcony everyday and took great pleasure from the view in the day and evening.

The lift was fully glass and large you can see lovely views down to the beach from it and its a ride in itself! It can be slow depending on which way its going when you catch it but no more than 5 to 10 mins for a round trip and as your on holiday and the views from the lift are so good I dont really see what the rush is to get off.

Sometimes the lift had already gone when we got there so we did walk up the steps to the reception, particulary for breakfast. If you take it slow its fine and having eaten our own body weights it was good to get a little well needed excersise! You can ring reception at any time and a buggy will collect you so there is no problem if you have disabilities etc. its much easier to go down hill down the steps and we did this most nights.

We have read a few previous reviews regarding paying for the safe in the room and we have to say that we used it constantly and were not charged, so i dont know if this has now been changed but there was no mention anywhere of this being an extra cost.

The pool/bar area/ resturant was lovely, wonderfull views from the pool and so relaxing. As couples only it was truely tranquil and i spent many an hour taking in the wonderfull sea and mountain views whilst taking a dip, sipping on a beer or relaxing in the sunshine.

The staff were extremely helpful and pleasent, the males may appear a little brusk but this is just their manner and they are more than friendly and helpful.

The reception staff and especailly Erika the sporting coordinater are very kind and nothing is too much trouble. We also enjoyed the little games by the poolside that you could do whilst sat on your lounger, such as higher or lower where you had the chance to win a cocktail and bowls and table tennis if you wanted a bit of activity. We used the table tennis and tennis courts as this was also at no extra charge.

We were suprised by the little extras which made the holiday so special, free crisps, fruit, biscuits, cheese and chocolates which came free when you bought drinks. It was a lovely touch and we sometimes had to decline as we had eaten way too much free snacks already! One night, The chefs bought out some donut balls for the guests and on the managers cocktail night we had free champagne and cake which was lovely.

We decided to visit the vertigo al a carte resturant for our last night, as a guest of the hotel you got 20% off the food bill. We splashed out on the champagne which is expensive but the food was good value and very nice. Again free apetizers were bought out and we were waited on well, when the evening got a little colder I was offered a pashmina for my shoulders which again was a lovely touch, a very special and romantic evening with stunning views.

If you have the local beer and wine the prices are reasonable and the wine is good and we enjoyed the local mythos beer. If you have imported spirts the prices are more expensive, but there are lots of options to suite all tastes. We had iced coffee in the day and the shop outside the hotel offers coke and all soft drinks and alcohol at very reasonable prices.

There is a shop in the hotel which is small but you can get the odd essential there, the one con of our entire stay was the lady in the shop who we found to be grumpy and rude even though we tried our best to be friendly.

When we were there we did hear one couple complaining that it wasnt a 5 star in their opinion, their case was due to there being no tea and coffee in the room, which I have to agree is a shame, so please remember to bring some with you, you can get milk at the shop.

They also comented on the lack of sun lounger cushions, which again would have been nice but wasn't an issue for us in anyway. They mentioned there was only one shower outside by the pool, which was not an issue for us and i hardly saw anyone using it anyway and never the people who were complaining! Also they would like a pool bar. I personally dont think that the pool is big enough for one and it would spoil the look of the pool area and the bar is right by the pool so again not a problem to us. I can only think that the couple had not read the facilities of the hotel properly before they booked. In our opinion this hotel exceeded our expectations and we would class this hotel as 5 star.

We also hired a pedlo from the beach wich was very reasonable 10 euros for 2 hours, we were directed to a cave on the left of the bay and a little secluded beach on the right. we went to both and moored up on the secluded beach with was wonderful, we read our books and sunbathed before returning. You cannot get to this from land so you have it all to yourself, well worth it and we would recomend this.

We really enjoyed our holiday, it was one of the best, if not the best hotel we have been to. The views are amazing and the atmosphere is tranquil and romantic. We felt completely relaxed and my husband has already been looking to see when we can return!

If you want a relaxing holiday in a beautiful area, not too secluded but not tacky or rowdy either then this hotel is for you. Your holiday is what you make of it and if you are looking for faults you will surely find them at this hotel or at the ritz! but we cannot complain and would go back tomorrow.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
17 Thank Mowgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2012

Stayed 1st week in May. This is an adult only hotel, but on arrival there were a number of children here as the hotel they were due to stay at hadn’t opened yet, same for some all-inclusive guests, but they were only here for a few days.
The hotel is built on levels into the side of a steep hill. There is a cable car, but didn’t work until our last day (and it broke down), but this wasn’t a problem as the hotel arranged for golf buggies to take guests either to the main hotel building or down to the beach (still steps/ramp to get to the beach). There were a lot of elderly guests here and some with walking difficulties who complained about the position of the hotel (they hadn’t done any research beforehand)
The views from our room were lovely and at times all you could hear was the sea and the birds singing. As this was the beginning of the season the little supermarket at the entrance to the hotel only sold a few drinks and crisps. There is nothing in Ermones except a few smaller hotels which when we arrived were closed, but as the week went on work was in progress in regards to re-opening, was interesting to see how slowly pools fill up with water!! It was quite refreshing not to see any postcards etc. on sale.
The beach is pretty and there are 2 very good tavernas and the hotel has a beach bar. Again for guests with walking difficulties there is either a steep ramp or steps to get to the beach.
The hotel is very clean and the staff very friendly and pleasant, nothing was too much trouble. The one exception to this was the reception staff, we paid 20euros for the safety deposit box, but it took 3 requests to have it unlocked so we could use it. The air conditioning in our room didn’t work, after telling reception 4 times and the Thomson rep we gave up!!!
Only one thing that I would comment on to the hotel was that the walk ways between some of the levels weren't very nice. You walk out of your room to be meet by a very high wall.
I would recommend taking a set of clothing an extra size up as the food is very good, very fresh and with a good choice.
We took the local bus which stops outside reception to Corfu for 2euros, well worth the trip. We also walked up to the village of Vatos which was lovely and if you make it up to the very top you are rewarded with stunning views, you could see Corfu town on a clear day. But go early in the day as it’s very hot and tiring.
Evening entertainment was a young couple singing the same old oldies, but they were a nice couple.
Would certainly recommend the hotel to anyone, but maybe a bit quiet for some younger guests as there really isn’t much to do here except relax and relax a bit more.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank wendy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ermones
17.0 km away
MarBella Corfu Hotel
MarBella Corfu Hotel
#1 of 5 in Agios Ioannis Peristeron
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,998 reviews
9.0 km away
Grecotel Eva Palace
Grecotel Eva Palace
#1 of 3 in Kommeno Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,195 reviews
0.4 km away
Philoxenia
Philoxenia
#1 of 4 in Ermones
4.5 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 km away
Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa
19.6 km away
Delfino Blu Boutique Hotel
Delfino Blu Boutique Hotel
#1 of 4 in Agios Stefanos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
10.3 km away
Corfu Mare Boutique Hotel
Corfu Mare Boutique Hotel
#3 of 10 in Corfu Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SENSIMAR Grand Mediterraneo Resort & Spa by Atlantica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SENSIMAR Grand Mediterraneo Resort & Spa by Atlantica

Property: SENSIMAR Grand Mediterraneo Resort & Spa by Atlantica
Address: Ermones 49100, Greece (Formerly Atlantica Grand Mediterraneo Resort & Spa)
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Ermones
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Ermones
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — SENSIMAR Grand Mediterraneo Resort & Spa by Atlantica 4*
Number of rooms: 267
Also Known As:
Grand Mediterraneo Hotel Ermones
Grand Mediterraneo Resort And Spa
SENSIMAR Grand Mediterraneo Resort & Spa By Atlantica Corfu/Ermones

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing