We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant staff”
Review of Filoxenia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Filoxenia Hotel
Ranked #6 of 50 Hotels in Tsilivi
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, England
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Brilliant staff”
Reviewed 4 November 2011

Sorry it took me a while to write a review. This is the friendlest hotel I have ever stayed in. The staff, from the chambermaids to the the Manager were brilliant. It would be churlish to pick out individuals but I'm going to anyway. Sarah, entertainmants was brilliant and Dennis, barman was also. But in fairness they were all brilliant. Had to put up with a few Jocks and a few recalicitrant Bristolians but they definitely added to the occassion. Great hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thockley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
katerina-dianahotels, Manager at Filoxenia Hotel, responded to this review, 16 November 2011
Hello Thockley!

Thank you so much for taking the time to add your review on Filoxenia hotel. On behalf of all the staff and family i would like to thank you for adding your kind positive comments. We are very happy we made you feel comfortable and we hope you took back home with you some good memories from your holidays to keep you company on cold nights. ( next to a fire place would be a good picture ;-) )
A very big hug from all and a promise from all for an enjoyable second round of great holidays on a summer coming. Until we meet again, have a great time time back home and a warm winter. Love and hugs from the staff and family at Filoxenia. xxx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

929 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    562
    251
    78
    26
    12
See reviews for
313
395
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mancunians
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2011

First let me say that the staff at this hotel are the friendliest, most helpful, hard working people I have ever come across in any hotel I have stayed in. From the cleaners to the most wonderful chef they cannot do enough for you and all of it with a smile. However, there are some negatives.
The rooms are very large with plenty of hanging and drawer space but the beds are very, very hard. We woke up most mornings with our joints stiff and it took us a while hobbling around before they loosened up. There was no bath in our bathroom only a shower. This was ok with us but the shower was quite small with only a plastic shower curtain around it. By the time you tucked it inside the lip so the water did not go all over the bathroom floor, it stuck to your body and it was a fight to have a decent shower.
The drinks on the all inclusive basis were the local beers, wines and spirits, however, if you wanted a cocktail, which was made from the local stuff, you had to pay for it. A lot of the entertainment which was advertised was either changed or just did not happen. I really do think that paying extra for the air conditioning is a bit rich. This is to be expected in 2 or 3 star hotels but I have never stayed in a 4 star that does this. It is quite a way from the town but we found that if you stayed on the same road as the hotel instead of going the way the courtesy bus goes you can walk into the centre in about 15 minutes. Do not use the supermarket near the hotel, he rips you off! We also found a lack of any information at all in the rooms. You usually find a folder with meal times, local attractions, etc. but none of this was available in the rooms.
Overall, the food was good. Some dishes were even outstanding but there was little choice. It is true that Andreas will cook you something else but then you have to wait for that. The majority of the food suited us but I can see how some people would find it repatative.
I hate to write anything negative about this hotel because overall we had a good holiday. I only hope that the management will rectify some of these problems and turn this hotel into the fabulous four star it could be.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank notmoaners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
katerina-dianahotels, Manager at Filoxenia Hotel, responded to this review, 16 November 2011
Hello notmoaners!

Thank you so much for taking the time to add your review on Filoxenia hotel. On behalf of all the staff and family, i would like to express our appreciation for your kind comments. We are very happy that our staff made you feel comfortable.
After reading your review, i saw that you had some drawbacks which i hope did not influence the overall experience of your holidays. For all TA readers information, with all due respect, i would like to mention that we do take our star rating after our hotel is reviewed from the National Tourism Organisation and from annual checks from all the major European tour operators. We are fully aware that you are a an experienced traveler having visited many countries around the world and that makes you capable of having a valuable opinion when it comes to hotel standards. This fact can also make your expectations vary from hotel to hotel in different countries and we totally respect that. As we take our guest's opinion seriously under consideration we do hope that you give us the chance to share your advice and thoughts on what we could do to improve our standards and hopefully meet your expectations.
With regards to the shower curtains, although we do not get any complains we are thinking of removing them and place cabins so as to make your shower experience more enjoyable. Thank you for pointing this into out attention. Our queen and king size bed mattresses are carefully designed and customized due to their big size. We have chosen orthopedic mattresses as we think that it is safer for an enjoyable sleep and our guests seem to be happy with their sleep quality. We apologize if you did not have the sleep you were expecting.
Our daily entertainment consists of a 14 day schedule which is placed on the snack bar board. We do though have to change the schedule sometimes as Sarah ( our entertainer) speaks with guests that may wish to have a different activity or maybe do not want to participate at all. Whenever a change takes place, Sarah is always on house to inform everyone. I must express my frustration if this did not happen in your case. Lastly as for the information we provide to our guests, information equipment ( brochures, boards, fliers, in house time tables), are always available at the reception. I hope you had the chance to notice them in our reception as we believe they are very easy to be noticed. Thank you very much for taking the time to read our response. Again we apologies if we did not manage to meet your expectations and we will do our best to investigate what is behind your writings and make any improvements needed. On behalf of our staff and family we wish you to have a great winter back home. If you wish to discuss any of the above, please feel free to contact us. We will be happy to hear from you. Have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2011

I stayed at the Filoxenia 3 years ago when it was just self catering and decided to return this October 2011. When you arrive you are given a welcome drink. there are 2 sides to the hotel one side is located by the reception area with a small pool and the other side is accross a small road with a slightly larger pool.

The hotel is situated well back from Tislavi with about a 20min walk into the centre we found that the time of year we went everything started to close down there were abou 4 other hotel on the way down to centre which closed and bars and shop followed.

The room we stayed in was large with 2 double beds and bed settee. The room has also been fitted with a small flat screen T.V. with basic channels. If you want the air con on it is an extra 35euros per week and the safe is 25euros per week. The rooms are very basic they do have microwave, kettle and electric hob.
The hotel has now changed to all inclusive which i found the menu to be very repetative and the food set out was sitting in lots of oil and the meat was very fatty i think overall they cooked the cheapest cuts of meat they could find. There were no chips which did not worry me but there were children and the food in general did not suit a childs pallet you could asked the chef to cook you some which alot of residents did. The chef did do a speciality every day where he would cook in front of you either pancakes, fried eggs, omlet. Me and my wife chose to eat out a few times. The breakfast was about the worst of the food which consisted of ofcuts of bacon garlic mushrooms, salad, scrambled egg. The chef and waiting staff were very welcomming and would bend over backwords to help always smiling.

The reception staff are very welcoming and if they can help they did. They have free wifi but you had to go to reception every few hours to gain a new code for it to work. If you had to be out of your room on the last day before 10am and if you needed to extend due to your flight it costs up to 80.00euros.

The bar starts the all inclusive at 10am and finishes at 11.pm on the dot the day time bar man Denis was great he has worked at hotel for 10years. We had to complain about one of the night bar staff 3 days into our holiday because he was very rude and was belittling some of the residents. If you went to the bar and order say 2 pints of lager they would ask how many there were at your table before giving the drinks especially when it came close to 11pm when last drinks were served. Whilst i understand why they did this 90% of residents did not order over what they wanted and this ended up in the said barman shouting in front of other residents at people because he did not believe them. after the complaint things did get better. The drinks they serve are very cheap local plonk. After 11.00 you can still drink at 3.50euros for a pint.
Would I return to this hotel maybe' not because of overall review because of were the hotel is possioned if you like very quiet and a little walk this hotel is for you.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Simon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2011

I travelled with my friend and two teenage daughters we moved here from a really bad hotel on the island after two days and wish we had been here from the start. The staff were so welcoming and friendly. The Hotel is clean and comfortable the rooms are really nice and were cleaned every day. The chef Andreas was fantastic he worked long hours and we had fresh food everyday he was out there to greet us and no request was too much for him. He made fresh omlettes for breakfast and he did a food demostration in the middle of the week.

The only negative thing I can say is the entertainment was very poor and lots of activities that were planned never happened. The greek evening was a big success but that was about it. It was a long walk to the nearby town but a taxi ride was only 5 euros each way. There are lots of bars and restaurants here and a lovely beach with lots of water sports, the hotel provide a free bus service every morning to the beach and there are two pick up times which is really handy.

We got a taxi into Zante town one evening and that was 10 euros but it is a lovely Town and well worth a visit.

I would definietly go back to Zante and to this Hotel

Room Tip: if you want a quiet holiday don't book a room by the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eileen_Cambs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycimbe
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 October 2011

I am a firm believer in never going back to the same place twice as the world is so big with so much to see but after returning home after spending a week at the Filoxenia I WILL be going back!
Sarah (my Karaoke partner), Andreas (the best chef I have found in an All Inclusive) George (I don’t cheat at cards) Ramos (You do my Swede in!, Dennis (cocktail king) and my very special sweetie Luca all made my Wedding Anniversary and my husband’s Birthday ones we will never forget which we celebrated whilst here.
There is nothing I would change about my visit to the Filoxenia other than the weather!! Through the rain, thunder and lightning all the staff were there with a smile on their faces, keeping the drinks flowing and the guests as entertained as much as we wanted to be!
Yes this hotel is a good 20 minutes walk from the centre of Tsilivi but if you read the reviews you know this before you book and we booked All Inclusive not to have to leave the hotel! As for the air conditioning being chargeable most hotels I have stayed in have charged extra so this came as no great shock.
For all of the Staff at the Filoxenia a very, very, very big thankyou from the bottom of our hearts for a truly wonderful holiday even though the sun wasn’t shining.
Yamas
Wesley & Louise

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MoodyLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 October 2011

We have just come back from a one week stay in the Filoxenia hotel. The staff are excellent and cannot do enough for you. We travelled in a party of 6, one of whom is paraplegic, they ensured we were in a suitable room, although they did need to take a bathroom door off to make it suitable for a wheelchair. If you need wheelchair access ensure you contact the hotel prior to booking to fully explain your situation. We stated on booking that one room was for a wheelchair user, but they did not realise he could not walk. Tsilivi resort is alright for a wheelchair user as long as they have excellent upper body strength as there are a few hills to conquer, and they cannot always get onto the pavement, which would be an issue in the peak season when more cars are about. All in all we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and are definitely looking to go back again. Lovely people, lovely place xxx

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RachelHare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arbroath, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2011

We have just returned from this hotel and it was absolutely fabulous.Every member of staff were fantastic, they all went out of their way to ensure our every need was catered for. The bar staff were so friendly, polite and attentive at all times, the cleaners made sure the room ,which was lovely,was spotless everyday and Sarah did her utmost to make sure we were all having a good time. As for the restaurant, what can I say, the waiting staff were so friendly and attentive for our entire stay. So now lets talk about the food, it was amazing. Andreas the chef showed his passion for cooking and what a result. I can honestly say we had the best food ever, we looked forward everyday to meal times!!! Andreas was on hand from morning to night.We met some lovely people and would not hesitate to recommend this fantastic hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
katerina-dianahotels, Manager at Filoxenia Hotel, responded to this review, 26 October 2011
Hello Angela and Paul!

Thank you so much for taking the time to add your review on Filoxenia hotel. First of all, we would like to thank you for your kind comments on our lovely staff and our hotel. Every single person working at Filoxenia is a gem for us and we feel we are a big family having visitors in our home. We are very glad we made you feel comfortable and we feel honored that you have a nice holiday story from Greece to tell your friends on your winter night gatherings next to your fire place ;-)
In case you need a recipe from Andreas drop us a note! Maybe you can challenge yourself at home for a nice Greek dinner! We all hope to see you back again in the future. Until we meet again, accept our love and appreciation. Have a great day :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tsilivi
6.3 km away
Diana Palace Hotel
Diana Palace Hotel
#2 of 27 in Argassi
1,398 reviews
0.4 km away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#8 of 50 in Tsilivi
382 reviews
2.1 km away
Zante Pantheon Hotel
Zante Pantheon Hotel
#9 of 50 in Tsilivi
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Contessina Hotel
Contessina Hotel
#3 of 50 in Tsilivi
1,218 reviews
16.7 km away
Mabely Grand Hotel
Mabely Grand Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kampi
642 reviews
1.5 km away
Zante Maris Hotel
Zante Maris Hotel
#7 of 50 in Tsilivi
1,170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Filoxenia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Filoxenia Hotel

Property: Filoxenia Hotel
Address: Tsilivi 291 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Tsilivi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Tsilivi
#12 Romantic Hotel in Tsilivi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Emerald green grass. Topaz blue skies and big mountains. These are the jewels of Tsilivi Zakynthos that plan to spoil you from the moment you arrive in Filoxenia Hotel. The natural scenic beauty of the complex is juxtaposed by our traditional Greek hospitality; enchanting visitors who leave with the most favorable impressions and the certainty that they will keep in touch and vow to return. An exquisite and comfortable "Home away from home", a warm feeling of welcome in a quite and soft atmosphere, unique in Zakynthos. Newly refurbished in 2009 with its new modern minimal character and very spacious and unique accommodation, will certainly give you the comfort you expect from your holidays.The four star Filoxenia Hotel is only 4 km away from Zante town, ideally situated in one of the less busy and beautiful countryside in the island, within 20-30 minutes walking from Tsilivi beach and the busy resort center.Modern amenities, a sprinkling of umbrellas by the poolside, 2 swimming pools and a children's pool accentuate the natural beauty of our complex for the young guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Bookgreece.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Filoxenia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Filoxenia Hotel Tsilivi, Greece - Zakynthos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing