We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (24)
Filter reviews
24 results
Traveller rating
6
7
5
2
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
6
7
5
2
4
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 24 reviews
Reviewed January 24, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights and felt at home in our en suite double with kitchen. There was a problem with the ceiling fan in living room which we reported but nothing was done before we left so it was pretty hot during the day. Also, the mosquito net in the bedroom blocked the air coming from the ceiling fan in there so during hot nights it is not very pleasant. We woke a couple of times during the night to take a shower (cold water only). It was nice to be able to cook and the staff were friendly for the most part. The location is about 200 meters from the beach so there is a lot of foot traffic and some hawkers even harass you while you're in the restaurant.

Room Tip: Ask for the room next to the reception for more privacy and internet access from veranda.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BDeF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 1, 2012

Stayed here with a large group. Plumbing doesn't work and toilets don't flush. No hot water and the water trickles out of the shower at best. The Management would say they fixed the issues when you reported them but they never did. Towels and sheets are filthy. They overbooked and kicked us out of our room the last day. Staff is unfriendly. If none of these are a problem for you then enjoy. Location is about 75 yards to the beach.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MK4601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew B, Guest Relations Manager at Diani Campsite and Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2012

We would like to first clarify some matters as depicted here,we do understand the plight of hot water was there at the time but that was in relation to a specific cottage and furthermore was due to a technical fault and given that equipment such as heaters are sourced from Nairobi it may have taken a day or two to fix same applying for the pressure pump but that matter was resolved and all cottages have hot water presently and enough water flowing through.Your remarks about the sheets strikes me as not true as clients sometime demand sheets changed daily and the policy is after every two days.We apologise though for the inconvenience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 25, 2012

Shocked to read other peoples reviews about this campsite as we had a great time! It was very quiet when we were there only us and one other tent, we stayed 4 nights and had no problems. Good location 2 minutes from the beach, the campsite has fridges to use which is always a bonus, and seating areas which is nice, showers are fine, a basic campsite really. The guys helped us put out tents up when we arrived and lent us mattresses and pillows. There is not the highest level of security on the site, fences and gate aren't that high but the security guard at nighttime was so friendly and nice we never felt unsafe, and there is a safe to keep any valuables in. The bar does good food, shows the football and there is a fruit shop 5 minutes walk up the road. We had a great few days laying on the beach!

Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Bethan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 4, 2012

We had to stay here for ten days. Due to a severe skin-burn I couldn't drive to another place for more than a week. On arrival the place seemed nice. It looked safe, showers (cold water only) and toilets were simple but ok, there was a cooking area with power and a fridge (!). Campsite is 5 minutes walk from the beach. They are growing trees but those are still small so little shade to put your tent. Price is 1000 KSh (10 euro) per person, regardless of being a Kenyan, EA-resident or foreigner. If everything would have been perfect I would have found the price on the higher side but acceptable.

Unfortunately things were not perfect. The staff makes sure only guests and staff are allowed on the campsite which is good, but when things still get stolen it means that the staff themselves are stealing. On top of that there are very annoying velvet monkeys around that grab food from your tent or even plate. At night a 'watch'dog is running around your tent because he (or she) is still a puppy. The guard likes to go through the fridge at night. One night we were the only guests on the campsite and in the morning we found a big bite out of our cheese, gross!! Another guard told us in the morning that we should keep our one year old son quiet at night, where did he get the guts to tell this to us!

When talking to the manager about all of this he couldn't believe it and just said that we were just making this up so we didn't have to pay the bill. We hadn't even mentioned anything about payments!
The owner finally came in and paid for our losses and apologized for the behavior of his 'manager'. As soon as I was able to drive we went to another campsite nearby in Tiwi beach. I have put a review about that one too.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank primatetoursuganda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew B, Guest Relations Manager at Diani Campsite and Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2012

It is truely unfortunate that you chose to put up this review but all the same,your case i remember vividly.First off about the price,charges have always been 400 per person and half price for children and if i am not wrong there was two adult and a child.some complaints here even make no sense at all such as the monkey issue because monkeys are all over diani and clients in the camp are always fore warned to be careful especially food stuff,we also have a disclaimer on personal effects that unless a client gives us belongings to keep in the safe he/she should take care of it himself.There has never been a time the watchman on duty went through the fridge and your cheese was obviously biten by a monkey because they nibble on everything they find lying around and if they dont like it they leave it there.Our guard dog is always restrained and is only opened when doing laps with the watchman therefore that complaint is invalid. The watchman your are speaking about didnt say anything of malice to you except he was concerned that other campers and neighbours were agreived with the noise and no report was brought forth that morning.
I recall you raised a complaint about a phone missing and it ended up being mixed up with your belongings and when found it was evident no theft occured you had just misplaced and again on the day of departure you claimed theft of your phone which later turned up to be with your wife who had just forgot where she kept it, so really the theft issue..invalid.
The owner never paid for your losses and it really did turn out you didnt want to pay and only paid after realising your accusations were untrue and that your phone was with your wife she just forgot where she put it.it would just seem all your have written in your review is untrue,except the cold water,but due to public demand that was adjusted.
such a shame you would give such a misleading review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 29, 2012

We came here by chance - called the Stilts, they were full and gave us the details for Diani Campsite. And we really thank them for that!
We were welcomed by Andrew, the manager's son, and our cottage was perfect: nice bed, big room, good shower and an amazing terrace with a sofa and couches. And tonnes of sweet cats, the friendliest ones we've seen in Kenya. Which, in our opinion, says something about the people running the place.
The staff is helpful and smiley, and Andrew helped us with everything we asked for, including chasing the monkeys that were interested in our food... The swimming pool is clean and nice and the beach is practically outside the place.
The restaurant is affordable (relatively, Diani is ridiculously expensive in comparison with the rest of Kenya), try the Nyama Choma. There is also a supermarket nearby, which is nice in case you have a cottage with a kitchen.
We will definitely come back next time we come to Diani, already miss the place!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SONJA D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews