We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kitu Kidogo Cottages
Reviewed 16 September 2017

The place is clean, well kept and very well run. We loved the outdoor area as well as the beautiful decorations inside the house. Only 2 min from the beach, this is a real gem! Edith takes very well care of householding and is will always make you smile. We loved the funny monkeys in the garden every morning. Make sure you benefit from Bruno's cooking skills. He'll BBQ lobsters, fish or whatever you like to perfection!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank worldclassinspector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (51)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 51 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2017

We were 5 of us who took the 2 bedroom cottage for 3 nights. It is unbelievably luxurious and we got a really good deal for the stay. They recommend a chef - Bruno who is really very good. He cooked all our meals for 2 days and we totally enjoyed it. The cottage is 5 min walking distance from Forty Thieves - the most happening place for night life & also the beach. The lady incharge over there is very helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Girlonmove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2017 via mobile

Really nice cottage with a taste.The location is great, 5 mins walking from the beach and close to the main attractions in diani. The garden area is nice and relaxing but no pool. 24h security and a chef available.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Alessandro D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2017 via mobile

We had a great week staying there, the place is cosy and nicely decorated. Very close to beach. Shops a only a little walk away.
Bruno was the best host, helping us with all our needs and always happy to have a chat.

The only thing, kitchen was mainly clean but could be a little better.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Kinga K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2016 via mobile

We stayed 5 nights at this place. The 2 bedroom cottage is really cosy and has a lovely porch area which we like spending time at . The staff managing the place are extremely lovely and added to the experience of the stay. The chef was excellent and is really professional. The security guard will accompany us to get a tuk tuk or walk us to the nearby restaurant at night. The beach is beautiful and a short walk away. Bars and restaurants nearby.
Property is surrounded by trees and nature and monkeys make their appearance every morning.
Everything is wonderful except we had a huge water issue, or lack of.
we had issues with water at this cottage or rather, lack off. The water pump is faulty or tank is empty and we have had sporadic moments with water flow since we checked in. The last 3 days , completely no water in faucet, hot or cold. We went 3 mornings without showers.
The house keeper has been very helpful in coordinating help . She came even at night to help us. We were slightly disappointed that owner came by but didn't meet us to ask or apologize. The staff apologized instead. I wrote an email to express the problem with water while I was still there but didn't even get a response or apology .
On our last night, the wifi stopped working. I am one who usually don't complain but owners need to fix the water. Maybe we were unlucky.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
Thank zsuki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DianiSky, Manager at Kitu Kidogo Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2016

I would like to apologise for the water issue. Our onsite staff reported the problem to us and we acted with immediate effect. The initial issue we thought was the pump. We then asked our staff to have a look at the water tanks. It was concluded that there had been no water from the mains for a few days. As soon as we discovered this we called the water company to deliver water in the truck. We ensure that this will not happen again. We do hope we can host you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2016 via mobile

What a special place this is. We stayed in the two bedroom cottage and the air conditioning was a godsend as it has been very hot at this time of the year. I have been thinking of building my own property on the coast and this ticked every box. The build and furnishings were all very nice quality.
The cottages are set in very quiet grounds surrounded by beautiful flora which are well kept by the staff, all of whom where discreet but very friendly and helpful. Sadly we were only there for one night but next time it will be longer.
As a refugee from the North Coast I have to admit the South Coast is more beautiful and relaxed and once past Likoni the traffic is so much quieter.
I thoroughly recommend the cottages.

Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
Thank Ram200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2016 via mobile

The location is fantastic afew minutes from the beach ,serene and also a walking distance from alibabas cave and forty thieves bar and restaurant.we really. Enjoyed our stay. We could even arrange meals to be cooked by resident chef for affordable prices.

Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank shubbz02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Diani Beach hotels
0.4 km away
Hotel Diani House
Hotel Diani House
#19 of 29 in Diani Beach
49 reviews
1.7 km away
The Sands at Nomad
The Sands at Nomad
#7 of 29 in Diani Beach
454 reviews
6.2 km away
Kusini Beach Cottages
Kusini Beach Cottages
#24 of 29 in Diani Beach
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 km away
Diani Bay Resort
Diani Bay Resort
#29 of 29 in Diani Beach
31 reviews
0.7 km away
Diani Sea Lodge
Diani Sea Lodge
#9 of 29 in Diani Beach
499 reviews
0.2 km away
Stilts Backpackers
Stilts Backpackers
#2 of 70 in Diani Beach
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kitu Kidogo Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kitu Kidogo Cottages

Address: Diani Beach Road, Diani Beach, Ukunda 80401, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 70 Speciality Lodging in Diani Beach
Price Range: $91 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kitu Kidogo is an exclusive holiday retreat tucked away in a coastal indigenous forest that has been around for centuries. It comprises of two beautiful cottages made out of coral, sandstone and wood showing off the various textures of the ancient Swahili coastline. Each cottage is dressed with intricately hand carved Lamu furniture, Rajhastani and South African soft furnishings and Afghani and Ethiopian wool Rugs. The walls reflect our travels around the globe. Each wall piece has been carefully selected to fit in with the theme of the cottage giving the spaces an exotic but at the same time a harmonious look. The palm lamp shades highlight the beauty of each piece with its soft glow. What the cottage evokes is memories of the old Africa influenced by the spice trade route! Kitu Kidogo is ideal for families, groups and couples. If you are looking for comfort, style, privacy and personalized service then this is the perfect holiday home for you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Kitu Kidogo Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing