We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$135
US$121
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$130
US$112
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Blue Marlin Beach Hotel(Diani Beach)(Great Value!)
US$78
US$68
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Afrika Pearl & Spa(Diani Beach)(Great Value!)
US$89
US$76
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa(Diani Beach)(Great Value!)
US$94
US$71
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$186
US$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Diani Backpackers(Diani Beach)(Great Value!)
US$31
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Sands at Nomad(Diani Beach)
US$349
US$165
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 24% below average rates

The price you found is 24% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$216/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$208
US$164
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$188/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (643)
Filter reviews
643 results
Traveller rating
418
166
42
15
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
418
166
42
15
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstractor ridelow tideitalian managermangrove forestcolobus monkeysno electricity during the daystandard roomcatch of the daydirect access to the beachbumpy roadseafoodthe penthouseday bedspa treatmentsoctopusfacing the seawhite sand
Filter
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 643 reviews
Reviewed January 7, 2018

Gorgeous place - absolutely magnificent in all ways ; island location, hotel, facilities, phenomenal staff, gorgeous food.

If you get opportunity to go here, go ! ( unless you are someone who wants things like bingo or obnoxious people in which case, please don't go !...) Stunning, natural, charming, clean with character; completely unique.

The most incredible place we have ever stayed ( and we travel a lot) We came back a week ago - it will live on in your memory forever.

Room Tip: There is everything from penthouse up 5 floors to individual houses and rooms. Banda little houses are charming.
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Pavlova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSands-Kenya, Front Office Manager at The Sands At Chale Island, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2018

Hi Pavlova,
Thank you for your short, sweet and precise comment with regard to your experience at The Sands at Chale Island. we are happy that you totally enjoyed your stay with us.
we call upon you to come visit us again during your next vacation so that together we can continue making everlasting memories. karibu tena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 3, 2018

The entire experience was sublime. The staff was warm, welcoming and so helpful. The food was excellent and abundant, activities were everywhere, and the spa was divine. From just playing in the clear waters, to relaxing in one of three pools, to exploring hidden beaches, the entire stay far exceeded my wildest expectations.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Thank Nancy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSands-Kenya, Front Office Manager at The Sands At Chale Island, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2018

Hi Nancy,
It is extremely fulfilling to know that your stay at Chale Island was an ultimate experience, we are glad you treasured every bit of your stay with us. it is so humbling to know that we surpassed your wildest expectations. we grasp this opportunity to express our gratitude for the chance you gave us to serve you. come back soon so we can pick from where we left ... thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
21
Reviewed January 1, 2018 via mobile

After a week safari we stayed 3 days at the Diani Beach.
As we where not So happy in our own hotel we looked for some solutions. We where very happy that we could stay the full day at this wonderfull resort.
Ok 50€pp incl lunch but it was more than worth it!
Even that we where not resident we felt welcome from the first second.
Very nice location and very good and fresh lunch. Compliments to the staff!
Would love to stay here if we come next time to Kenya.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSands-Kenya, Front Office Manager at The Sands At Chale Island, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2018

Hello,
Thank you for dropping by and having a taste of what Chale Island has to offer. we can assure you that that was just a tip of the iceberg, we urge you to come for a longer time during your next vacation for a complete magical experience and we promise to make it worth your while. thank you once more.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 26, 2017

The reception by staff from the phone call to make reservations to being picked up to cross with the boat to the reception of the hotel itself was great. The downside is finding your way to the boat. Perhaps incorporate taxis to the lunch package? We went on over for lunch and a swim. The salad bar is laid out well and the variety is definitely worth a mention.The mains however lacked variety especially the sea food options. The ambience,decor is amazing and the view from the second pool is so serene. I will definitely plan to spend a few nights and I believe it is great for a couples trip.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
    • Service
Thank Maryanne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSands-Kenya, Front Office Manager at The Sands At Chale Island, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2018

Hey Maryanne,
We are glad you dropped by for lunch and had a glimpse of what we have in store. we welcome you to visit for a longer stay this time so that you can exploit the full package. all in all we thank you for taking time to write about us. Karibu tena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 25, 2017 via mobile

It’s a bit remote and somewhat difficult to reach (you can pre arrange a hotel cab but that costs 35 dollars one way). The views from the resort are great. The buffet meals have a lot of options but could be better. It’s advisable to stock up on water since you’ll only get one litre everyday.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank kalravmishra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSands-Kenya, Front Office Manager at The Sands At Chale Island, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2018

Hi,
Thanks for squeezing time from your time table to write about your experience at our resort. we are glad you loved it and we try to make necessary adjustments so that the next time you visit you enjoy your stay without limitations. thank you once more and welcome

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews