We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (531)
Filter reviews
531 results
Traveller rating
372
110
23
13
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
372
110
23
13
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beach cottage forest view boutique hotel indian ocean seafood crab sea breeze following morning octopus beach boys east africa beach front prawns scuba diving standard room special thanks white beach
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 531 reviews
Reviewed October 20, 2018 via mobile

We had one of the superior cottage rooms right on the beach. It was wonderful to be able to walk out straight onto the beach. The swimming pool is one of the most fabulous I've ever experienced. The staff were so good one of the gardener's offered to lend my wife his flip flops for walking on the hot path. The food is a highlight and absolutely stunning. Lots of activities to do, all professionally organised.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank MalawiMixer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dianibeachboy, General Manager at The Sands at Nomad, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2018

Thank you very much for your kind review! We are very happy, that you have enjoyed your stay with us! Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 12, 2018

My wife and I spent 3 nights here after a long safari and we needed to down time.

Our room was considered ocean view but it was really ocean front. The room was very large and had a great view of the ocean.

The mattress was very comfotable and the pillows were nice.

The room was clean and housekeeping did a great job of keeping it that way.

The bathroom was a little strange because there was no shower curtain and the water woudl spread across the floor. The shampoo was in a large container which I know bothers some people. It is not my favorite thing but after 9 days on safari I would have used anything.

The beach was great and the water was super clear. The only issue with the beach is the guys that are always trying to sell you something. They were like vultures.

I food in the restaurant was EXCELLENT and we are every meal there. I woudl almost go back just for the food.

The hotel staff was ver firendly and went out of their way to make sure we had everything we needed.

I woudl love to go back and spend at least a week here.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank kidflemingo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dianibeachboy, General Manager at The Sands at Nomad, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2018

Thank you for your nice comments!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 4, 2018 via mobile

We stayed at The Sands for 3 nights after our safari and were very much looking forward to a couple of days on the beautiful Diani Beach coast.

First the good news: the food served in the restaurant is very good and there is an extensive menu catering to mosts people’s tastes. The staff is very friendly and helpful, both in the restaurant and the hotel.

The resort is set in beautiful gardens, but all the space around each of the individual bungalows along the beach front is marked ‘private’, and not accessible to other guests.

Our ‘sea breeze room’ (room 12) was in the main building and though large enough, was very sparsely furnished: A narrow, hard bench seat, a small table, desk area with mini fridge underneath and open-fronted shelves and clothes rail. The king size bed (no bedside tables) had a very hard, uncomfortable mattress. We could feel the springs every time we turned.

The shampoo, shower gel and conditioner are supplied in large bottles that are obviously refilled numerous times, which is not very hygienic. There is no soap or body lotion, things you would expect in a 5 star hotel.

Our main issue is with the inferior locks on the doors. We couldn’t lock out door from the inside and subsequently found out that the key to no 11 opened the locks on the doors to no 12 and no 13 as well! The key that was supposed to work on the patio door opened the front door instead. The real issue is that the locks on all these doors are 2-lever locks, which should only be used for internal doors, such as the bathroom doors, as they are not secure and easily opened by multiple keys.

We informed the management of the issue and hopefully the locks will all be changed to 3- or 5-lever locks in the near future.

All in all, for the prices charged, you do expect better quality accommodation and furnishings.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank sgordons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dianibeachboy, General Manager at The Sands at Nomad, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2018

Thank you for your comments! In our efforts to reduce all plastic and other waste we had decided to use for shampoo/conditioner ect refillable aluminium dispencers. Those dispencers are being desinfected and refilled by our housekeeping team. We are sorry for your disappointment, but we do intend to continue this practise! In regards to the door locks we had been communicating to you and we are in the process of exchanging those locks! Nevertheless we hope that you have enjoyed your stay with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 2, 2018 via mobile

A beautiful cozy home away from home ... wrll laid out and well structured boutique hotel with sea view rooms and garden views all with adequate privacy.
All rooms have beach access with loads of shaded sun beds at the beach as well as at the pool area.
Beautiful african antiques displayed and artistically utilised with swahili decor and fabric.
Friendly and efficient staff and well maintained facilities in a very natural enviornment.
Rooms are comfortable however rooms MUST have the electric kettle with tea and coffee choices as a basic facility. A 3star hotel too has this service hence THE SANDS must include it in all their rooms which are at upmarket prices.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Sukesha D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dianibeachboy, General Manager at The Sands at Nomad, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2018

Thank you for your comments which we will take under consideration! We hope, that you will visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 15, 2018

We were recommended this place for dinner by the manager of the accommodation in which we were staying. She rang and booked a table for us and they arranged to send a driver for us who arrived perfectly on time and arranged to collect us again when we were done. The restaurant looked beautiful (like a ship with lots of seaside decorations which I loved) and the service was impeccable. We could see the sea and the moon over the water. The food was lovely; I had a chicken korma with spiced chips and my husband had seafood tagliatelle. We had sorbet and an ice cream sundae to finish. My sorbet was amazing - orange and ginger in particular!

We returned for breakfast the following morning and were less impressed. As we weren't staying there, there was some confusion but eventually we got the external people menu and order a frittata and pancakes. For the price, we found these a bit small.

We spent the day on their sun deck, enjoying the beach and enjoyed an amazing pizza!

Overall, we were very impressed with the place.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dianibeachboy, General Manager at The Sands at Nomad, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2018

Thnak you for your comments!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews