We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Very peaceful stay”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
19 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Almyrida, Chania Prefecture, Crete

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
CLandP
Lancs
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very peaceful stay”
Reviewed July 5, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We have just returned from a 2 week holiday at Villa Helios in Crete. Booking the villa was easy and the owners gave us detailed instructions on how to locate Villa Helios. Villa Helios is located between Almyrida and Gavalohori, and we walked to both villages on numerous occasions throughout our stay, Almyrida takes approximately 30 mins to walk and Gavalohori is approximately a 15 mins walk, the walk to Almyrida is very steep and if you struggle walking you would find this difficult. The walk to Gavalohori is much easier on the old pins!, both villages are lovely we would recommend for lunches in Almyrida a place called Annas café which is great for breakfast and lunch, for an evening meal we would recommend Makis. In Gavalohori there is a spectacular restaurant called Gavalianos which is a must if you are staying at this villa.

The Villa has beautiful surroundings and is very quiet and private, having a private swimming pool was great and the water was always warm, we enjoyed a number of bbq's as there is a large bbq with a large patio area and outside table and chairs. The villa is very spacious and all rooms have their own balcony, we did find the mattress was a little too hard for our liking. The living room area, has two comfy sofas, and a dining table, the kitchen is well equip which was great as we like to cook our own meals on occasion when on holiday. We did however find that the living room area was quite small in comparison to the rest of the villa, and was disappointed with the size of the tv and lack of English channels, it was also very small and you could not see it properly from the sofa, when we first arrived at the villa we had no satellite box, and had to wait 5 days for it to be fixed by the local engineer. The villa is clean and tidy and the cleaner visited the villa 3 times during our stay to change the bedding and towels, however, in places a lick of paint wouldn't go a miss.

The air-conditioning was good, you can select the aircon for each room for 2 hours at a time, which we found adequate, however the unit for the living room area was located outside near the patio and was quite noisy, which meant you would need to turn it off if you were eating/sitting outside.

We really enjoyed our stay and would recommend this as a holiday rental.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Private pool
Liked least: Mattress
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jul 2015
We are glad to see that the guest liked the lovely taverna in Gavalohori (Gavalianos) which we really enjoy. It is great for a late afternoon snifter or a lovely dinner on the terrace in the evening. The comment about the TV is well taken and we will certainly consider a new one for next season. The villa is also scheduled for some repainting at the end of this season.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter D
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great spot”
Reviewed January 26, 2015 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Villa Helios. A great position and very quiet. We had a car which made getting around very easy. We cooked for ourselves in the well equipped kitchen as well as enjoying nearby restaurants recomended by the owners.

We had great week on the island of Crete and when returning we would consider staying at Villa Helios or another villa within the same property.

Thank you to everyone who helped organise our trip. The service we received was excellent.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jan 2015
The other properties that are referred to are the 3 similar villas we have on our olive grove. We have 4 villas on our 4 1/2 acre olive grove 60-80m apart for privacy.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frome, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 30, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and spaciousness
Liked least: Only having booked for one week!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
1 Oct 2014
We have just 5 villas on our 4 1/2 acre olive grove of which 4 are rented as holiday homes. They all have private pools, are spaced 60-80m apart and surrounded by olive trees so as the guest says they are private and peaceful.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Geordie42...
Newcastle
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Peaceful Villa”
Reviewed August 10, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

This villa is in peaceful countryside but within a 20 -30 minute walk of the lovely small resort of Almyrida.
The pool and outside areas are well maintained and comfortable.
There is air-conditioning throughout the villa but it the units are set on a timer and the maximum time is 2 hours.This meant that the bedrooms were warm overnight. There are ceiling fans.
Wifi is available. You can by a token from a kiosk in Almyrida. 2GB was 20 Euros.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Pool area and distance from Almyrida
Liked least: Air conditioning needs upgrading Bedrooms very warm overnight
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Aug 2014
We put ceiling fans in all rooms as many guests prefer not to use aircon. If the aircons are put on a for a short time before bedtime most guests find that the room remains comfortable whil sleeping with the fan running. We set timers on the aircon for environmental reasons so that aircon is not running when not necessary.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed July 29, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location.
Liked least: The need to get an internet card to use the Wi-fi.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Leicestershire
Reviewed August 4, 2013 for a stay in July 2013
2
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Private courtyard and pool
Liked least: Lack of WiFi
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 1, 2013 for a stay in July 2013
2
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views of the hills and surrounding olive groves
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing