We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful, clean, well equipped private villa...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Villa Gecko

VILLA GECKO
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
VILLA GECKO
Sea view over Arillas Fully fitted kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
VILLA GECKO
Sea view over Arillas
Fully fitted kitchen
Kitchen & Dining area
Dining area
Lounge area
Lounge area
Front terrace
Bedroom 1
Bedroom balcony
Bedroom 2
Bathroom
Front terrace
Nearby island
View over Arillas
Arillas beach
View from rear garden
Sunny rear garden
View from rear garden
Arillas beach
Arillas beach
View of St George - nearby resort
Sunset from balcony
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Arillas, Corfu, Ionian Islands

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
SaraMc43
Musselburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful, clean, well equipped private villa with a great view from the balcony.”
Reviewed August 4, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

The communications with the owner of the property was excellent, with the help of very precise directions also. The villa is situated in a quiet, very steep street near Arillas on the Afionas road. The benefit of this is the amazing view from the balcony over the sea, with amazing sunsets. The property is very homely and furnished with lots of lovely touches. The place is kept immaculate by the very friendly Barbara. The garden is private and a great place to sit and read. We were glad we'd hired a car as the kids would have found walking to the beach too far. The beach at Arillas is perfect for families and we spent a few days there as well as at other beaches nearby. We also enjoyed going to the outdoor pool in Arillas which is free to use and run by the lovely Sharon. The only small issue was that i'd thought there was Satellite TV, of which there was a few news channels, but not much else. We ended up having to borrow a few DVDs to entertains the kids...but there are lots of good DVDs at the villa for adults to watch. We had a lovely holiday, and would go back in a flash....

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The garden, balcony with sunset, the personal touches of decoration.
Liked least: Lack of channels on Satellite TV.
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Aug 2014
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay & found everything to be as promised. Also that you enjoyed the area around the villa & the pool-bar we recommended, amongst others. We are very proud of The Gecko. Thanks for the "5 star" rating.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jesse W
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Villa!”
Reviewed April 24, 2014 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Villa Gecko last August. Its a beautiful villa (both on the exterior and interior). Clean and very nicely kept! The location is really good - quite close to the beach resort of Arillas and the beautiful old village of Afionas. And a great supermarket very close by.

The owner Graham is incredibly friendly, fantastically helpful and very passionate about Corfu! Couldn't be a nicer guy!

If you're looking for a lovely place in Corfu I certainly recommend Villa Gecko!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The cleanliness, simple decor and general appearance and location of villa.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 May 2014
We are very pleased to receive another positive review from a new guest. Excellent & thanks!
The only negative comment we have had so far was that the villa was hard to find - but detailed directions to the villa are provided (in both English & Greek), so......
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGreen201...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“A really comfortable house, very clean and cared for - beautiful location - awesome sunsets.”
Reviewed October 9, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

"We return to Villa Gecko every year and are never disappointed. It is a really comfortable house, very clean and cared for - wifi connection (very important!), beautiful location - awesome sunset views, nice garden.

It's well equipped on all levels and when we're there, it feels like home.

Totally recommended."

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Oct 2013
Regular visitors - they have caught "the bug" of Arillas & The Gecko (as did we ourselves!). We see many repeat visitors in Arillas & we think we know why..... Try it for yourself!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Superdoc1...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Home from home - all you need from selfcatering accommodation, plus a little more.”
Reviewed October 8, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Villa is a little difficult to find at first, set back and above the road, just round a sharp bend, with no house name on the outside gate. But once in, it has more than you need for a short stay. A car is a necessity for getting to a choice of lovely beaches and plenty of restaurants.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Sunset view
Liked least: Need to drive to get to local ameities restaurants and beaches
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Oct 2013
"A little difficult to find" is, I believe, part of it's charm & adds to it's seclusion - but each to their own.
Everything else is "as it say's on the tin".
Just check out the views etc.!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 20, 2012 for a stay in September 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
11 Oct 2013
Thank you for the positive comments! We are proud of The Gecko & (so far!) have had no negative opinions.
We love it & others seem to feel the same way. Excellent.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
484anne2
Ottignies-Louvain-la-Neuve, Belgium
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 4, 2018 for a stay in April 2018
Google Translation

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Aug 2018
Thanks very much (Merci beaucoup) for your kind review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael B
1 review
Reviewed January 17, 2018 for a stay in October 2017
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jan 2018
I don't speak German, but having finally translated the review - Well done Michael & friends! You found the beauty of the area quite easily. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay & welcome you back again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing