We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (139)
Filter reviews
139 results
Traveller rating
97
32
7
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
97
32
7
1
2
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
65 - 70 of 139 reviews
Reviewed January 19, 2013

My husband and I have just returned from what I can only describe as "the perfect retreat"! Bamboo House is everything that Amar the owner has wanted it to be, but its so much more!! When we originally booked our expectations of the hut was basic, what we found was an exceptionally comfortable, well equipped hut, with a very large, very comfortable bed, a large bathroom and shower area with constant hot water and even a kettle, with tea and coffee! The surroundings are lush and extremely well maintained, and so incredibly peaceful - with only the crows breaking the silence!

The position of Bamboo House is perfect, hidden away from the big hotels where you share the beach with only the many black kites that fill the sky, but only a short walk to the bus stop, an experience not to be missed.

Amar and his staff provide fantastic friendly service without being intrusive. We were there over New Year and had not expected any special dinner, however Amar and his staff laid on a buffet dinner the quality of which would compete with any top hotel, the night was topped off sitting on the beach bubbly in hand watching an amazing firework display, courtesy of the hotels further down the beach.

The Blue Whale restaurant provides wonderfully tasty, inexpensive food, served by the very lovely Rocky and the happiest waitress with the biggest smile I have ever had the pleasure to meet - kalsa.

To sum up, if you are looking for an escape from the crowds and total relaxation then this is definitely the place for you.

Thank you Amar - keep doing what you are doing!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jill F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amarbedi, Owner at Bamboo House Goa, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Thanks and it is so very helpful for us to receive an objective feedback. It was a wonderful time with you both too at the resort and I personally am looking forward already to our next meeting. THANKS again and hope to see you both soon again at Bamboo House.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Stayed there in Dec/Jan for 5 nights.
Resort:
The rooms are immaculate clean and well kept, enough space to hang your clothes (I particularly appreciate open shelves instead of moldy closets!). Bathroom spacious too with hot (!) water and hooks to hang your stuff. Cottages are surrounded by well kept gardens. Bathtowels and beachtowels are provided (particular of advantage if you travel around as you do not have to bring your own towels). Nice verandah with chairs to while away the morning. We also like the approach of treating waste water, conserving energy. Extremely helpful and friendly staff.
Restaurant:
We had Tandoor food each evening - great Naan, great Tandoori chicken. New year´s eve
dinner buffet was excellent and sumptuous. Unfortunately the music was way to noisy and DJ could not be convinced to switch to a different selection. In general the menue caters to all tastes (including children), I would love to see a wider selection of Indian vegetarian dishes.
Location:
Remote and quiet, great clean beach, we had to share it with only a handful of other people (mainly guest of Bamboo House).
Conclusion: we´ve seen quite a few beaches and beach resorts. This is definitely one of our favourite places although we find it a bit pricy (well, Goa is anyway and particularly around Christmas time). Will definitely come back next year!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Singapore00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amarbedi, Owner at Bamboo House Goa, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

THANKS a lot for the excellent feedback. Really appreciated. You and your family are always welcome to be with us anytime .
P.S. The dogs already miss the special care they received..
:-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Me and my girlfriend stay in Bamboo House Goa only two night, but the best of all our holliday in India!!!! Place is wondefull, you go to sleep with the music of the see, get up with birds....brekfast with food in the sand and then beach and sea close to the jungle!!!
The room are large, clear and fresh. Bathroom clear, big and very nice. The floor in black stone is fresh and comunic the idea of the clear, that in not so comun in India...
At last the staff is the best of all my holiday.

Marco Franchi Italia

Room Tip: All the rooms are good, but to stay close the sea it is alwais better
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank marco f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amarbedi, Owner at Bamboo House Goa, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

The days spent with you both were just splendid. The time went so quick. THANKS to both os you, and you are always welcome back in Bamboo House.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights with my boyfriend in December 2012. The hut was clean with a comfy bed, good mozzie net, ample hanging space and a good sized bathroom with plenty of hot water.
It is a really peaceful place to stay and the staff were great, arranging taxis from the airport and to the train station and booking train tickets for us.
It is a little out of the way (but having a massive beach to yourself is fantastic!) It is shame that the five star hotels have dictated that only taxis should work the area so tuk tuks aren't available but the bus stop is only a short walk from the Bamboo House and getting around was easy enough.
We would definitely stay here again; it was just the start we needed to out trip.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fee1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amarbedi, Owner at Bamboo House Goa, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

BIG THANKS and your appreciation is just wonderful. We aim to stay small and keep the service factor at the very top of our daily agenda. Personilized service is what makes the difference and we do really mean to make the difference. Feel welcome always to be with us anytime you wish to.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 5, 2013

The best 3 days in my two weeks of visiting Goa. I highly recommend Bamboo House Goa, it's not just a hotell, it's an experience. The nature is close and so is the best beach in Goa (about 100m from the hotel). The rooms are really cosy and well planned. The staff is probably one of the friendliest staff i haver met. Although there're some minor things that's worth knowing. The bathrooms is separated from the rest of the room with a thin curtain and in if the wind comes from the wrong direction (south), there's a fish smell from fishermen nearby. Also there's not a daily cleaning, but i didn't find this problematic in my short stay, maybe i would have felt it more if i stayed for longer. But overall I'm really happy with BHG and I'm definitely visiting it again in the future. On a scale 1-10 (1 is really bad while 10 is best there is) i give it a 8.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vincent_Ri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amarbedi, Owner at Bamboo House Goa, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

THANKS too and I was really touched by the uncomplicated and easy going nature of you all. It was wonderful with you and if possible, do post some of your great pictures too on the tripadvisor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews