We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Luxurious Leela”
Review of The Leela Goa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Leela Goa
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Cavelossim
Certificate of Excellence
Stirling
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Luxurious Leela”
Reviewed 10 March 2012

Thoroughly enjoyed a blissful 10 nights at the Leela Goa. Total relaxation in beautiful surroundings. The hotel sits beside a fabulous soft, sandy beach, which was very uncrowded. Delicious food and lots of choice - we stayed on an all inclusive basis and found this to be a good option. The hotel staff are undoubtedly it's greatest assets. Led by the General Manager (a charming fellow North Irishman), they were unfailingly helpful, polite and very efficient.
If you're looking for guaranteed sunshine at this time of the year, in a lovely setting, the Leela Goa is the place to go.

Hot tip: take a vat of insect repellant - the mossies are the only irritating part of the holiday!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oatendottle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pascal_Dupuis, General Manager at The Leela Goa, responded to this review, 4 April 2012
We greatly appreciate your kind comments following your stay at The Leela Goa and look forward to welcoming you back.

Morton Johnston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,201 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,556
    457
    114
    42
    32
See reviews for
654
950
43
203
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (531)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
77 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2012

Just got back from a two day stay in the Leela Palace Goa Resort and I must say that it was truly a memorable experience.

Arrival: Great welcome with a floral garland and a refreshing coconut drink.
Property: The property is stunning with an amazing entrance and immaculately clean. The grounds are beautifully landscaped with trees, flowers and they even have a botanical garden on the club side of the property.

Rooms: We were initially given a Lagoon Terrace Room which was very well appointed with dual ACs, dual Tvs, spacious bathroom, complimentary toiletries and they made up the room at least twice a day. The mattresses were heavenly and they even have a pillow menu. The mini bar had a good choice of snacks and drinks.

The next day we were upgraded to a Club Pool Suite room and this one was even better with a sitting room, bedroom, dressing room, a spacious bathroom, kitchen with an espresso machine, outdoor rain shower and a private plunge pool. The pool was what hooked us and we spent a lot of time there. The rooms also have their own private butler service which I must say was excellent. Every time we went out the rooms were cleaned and our butler made the process of dinner reservations and checkout really hassle free.

Pools: The resort has three swimming pools, one big pool and kiddie pool in the public areas and one pool in the club side. These are in addition to the private pools which are very clean.

Beach: Beautiful. The resort has two private beaches. One for the club guests and one for the other guests. The beach is very clean, quiet and no crowds. Truly relaxing. Great service on the club side beach.

Food: The breakfast buffet in The Restaurant was good but the Club Lounge is better with lovely pastries and breads. The Susegado beach shack serves excellent fish dishes. The Riverside Italian restaurant was a bit disappointing but it does have a good collection of fine wines.

Staff: Amazing. They are what makes the resort a truly memorable place to stay in. Right from the security guards to porters to our butler. Everyone was so courteous, attentive and ready to assist you with every little thing. My compliments to all of them.

Casino: Small and pretty full of serious gamblers.

In all a truly luxurious and memorable place to spend your vacation.

Room Tip: If budget allows go for a Club Pool Suite. Its worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark_39018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pascal_Dupuis, General Manager at The Leela Goa, responded to this review, 4 April 2012
We thank you for your feedback following your stay at The Leela Goa. Your kind comments regarding our staff are also greatly appreciated.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Leela Goa.

Morton Johnston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 February 2012

I don't think I can put into words how amazing our trip to The Leela Goa has been. Not realising this was The Hotel featured in the movie Bride and Prejudice, it really is as breathtakingly beautiful and colourful inside and out as it is portrayed on the film.

My husband and I flew with Thomas Cook from Manchester direct to Goa and it took around 8 hours. The flight was ok, smooth journey and the in flight service was not "Emirates", but hey we knew that before we took off! We arrived close to midnight indian time and it was a barmy 25 degrees, lovely. This is my second time to India and as soon as you land your senses know you have left Europe as the local sounds and smells kick in instantly. We eventually retrieved our luggage from the madness at Dabolim Airport (you must grab your bag before the airport helpers do or you will be chasing your tail), and then we were directed to our coach for transfer to the hotel.

There were only three couples on our little minibus to the hotel, and my husband and I were one of them. The Rep Jack spoke very good English and informed us we would be the last drop off. For a stay at The Leela I was surprised we would have to drop the other folks off first and we would be the last. We were soon to learn that this would not any normal transfer. The journey took over an hour with two stops at the other hotels. At each stop I had to also get out and catch my breath! It was pitch black, the roads were long and winding, there are random and pointless speed bumps, there is little street lighting so the drivers constantly flash and dip their headlights, and of course there are the roaming cows and dogs to avoid along the way! It felt like a Universal Studio 3D theme park ride, sorry but that is the only way I can explain it. We eventually arrived at The Leela, by which point I felt sick as a dog, but out of nowhere you arrive at paradise - thank the lord!

It is sooooo beautiful, the first class service begins with a big smile and warm welcome from the porters who greet you and take your bags and don't forget the lovely garland they pop round your neck as your enter reception. The journey may have been long and the transfer a mini nightmare, but OMG the walkway to reception is stunning (even at night). Everything is pristine, the walkways are marble, the flowers are blooming and the reception staff immaculate. We take a seat while our passports are checked and out pops a lovely lady from reception in the Leela sari uniform with a refreshing coconut drink. This is the service I remember from my last trip to a 5 star hotel in india, you don't get this anywhere else in the world!

All checked in our bags are taken directly to our room and we follow behind. The receptionist is very informative about the hotel, breakfast times etc and shows us to our amazing lagoon room. The room was very spacious, tastefully decorated with all mod cons and fabulous bathroom with built in sound from the plasma tv. There is nothing you could complain about, just perfect!

Next morning we wake up to clear blue sky, warm weather and a kingfisher sitting on our balcony. Think he must have liked our room as he returned every day after that! Off we go to breakfast, walking through the lush gardens and greeted by every staff member we pass on the way. The whole hotel is just breathtaking and you could spend hours taking pictures, to the point you may even miss breakfast!

Breakfast room is called The Restaurant, which may seem a bit obvious, but this really sums up everything on offer at breakfast. You could have continental, full English, American, Chinese, Indian, healthy, not so healthy.......I could go on. In summary there is something for every taste and it is all first class. The service and waiters are all polite and again immaculate in their uniforms. It was a little off putting seeing a security chap with a rifle wandering the balcony, but I soon learned this was purely to scare off the birds - phew!

After breakfast off to the beach where the impressive attentive service doesn't stop. The beach guys see you coming and help you locate your sun beds and promptly place your towels for you. It is a bit unnerving at first, not doing these basic things for yourself like you do on European holidays, however the chaps are diligent and very helpful. They then give a blue and red flag. Put up your blue flag and the waiters know you want to order something. Put up your red flag and this means do not disturb. I told you this was paradise!

As we were there on a B&B basis we had to find somewhere to eat in the evenings. The hotel has an impressive international menu, and also offers different events most nights on the beach, however this will cost you and then you can add 30% tax on top! I know the hotel is amazing and pure luxury but when you can buy the same bottle of water for a fraction of the price down the road, you end up going elsewhere.

On recommendation from a friend who has visited Goa before, we were advised to try Betty's and The Fishermans Wharf. Both these restaurants are less than a 5 minute walk from the Leela, and when you get there you see familiar faces from your hotel as everyone seems to eat at these places (I presume to avoid the hotel prices too). For two people with starters, main, dessert and drinks it will cost you around £25! The food was fine and the fish very fresh. You have to watch the spices though as the Goans seem to love their chilli and the food can be rather hot! Best bit about these places is that they have live music, a singer or some form of entertainment most nights too.

We had a very relaxing two weeks, soaking up the sun away from the cold uk winter blues, with first class service, an amazing hotel, beautiful beach and felt very spoilt in this haven of luxury. We spoke to a guy on the beach who told us he has been coming to The Leela for the past 12 years, however the "record to beat" is 22 years, on asking him why he comes back he said look around, you don't get this anywhere else - and really we had to agree!!

Think we will be going back to Goa some day, and yes I would recommend The Leela 100%, however the transfer is the only thing that puts me off. A visit to The Leela is a life time experience that cannot be put into words and we are so glad we have been. Big thank you Leela it was amazing, I am so sad to be home!

Room Tip: Honeymoon island if you there for special trip!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank MrsSen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pascal_Dupuis, General Manager at The Leela Goa, responded to this review, 4 April 2012
We thank you for your kind feedback following your stay at The Leela Goa. Your comments are duly noted.

Look forward to welcoming you back to The Leela Goa.

Morton Johnston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

The hotel is amazing, with a great beach and the service is second to none.

The food in the buffet is great, with a great variety of all Indian dishes for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner.

The pool could be bigger for the size of the resort, and the Spa could also be improved.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TP1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pascal_Dupuis, General Manager at The Leela Goa, responded to this review, 4 April 2012
We thank you for your patronage and for your feedback following your stay at The Leela Goa. Your comments are duly noted.

Look forward to welcoming you back to The Leela Goa.

Morton Johnston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2012

From arrival to departure, we had a marvellous time at the Leela. The rooms are very well appointed, the public areas (especially the lobby) are spectacular, and the staff could not do enough for us. Add a beautiful beach and you have a superb resort. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GL21349
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pascal_Dupuis, General Manager at The Leela Goa, responded to this review, 4 April 2012
We thank you for your patronage and for your kind feedback.

Look forward to welcoming you back to The Leela Goa.

Morton Johnston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambala, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2012

Had been to this resort in summers with my wife and kid.......loved the lagoon suite , the kid enjoyed the pools and the food "AWESOME"...... i have stayed at some hotels at calangute in the past and did miss the hustle bustle of the flea markets .........but unwinding in a calm and serene environment at this resort was a wonderful and refreshing experience.........wud luv to be there sometime soon.......

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gps1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pascal_Dupuis, General Manager at The Leela Goa, responded to this review, 4 April 2012
We thank you for providing your feedback following your stay at The Leela Goa. Your kind comments are greatly appreciated.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to The Leela Goa.

Morton Johnston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tysons Corner, Virginia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2012

We were at this resort for 3 nights back in August 2010. I must say this resort is one of the best resorts I have been to in my life. Its a massive property located right on the beach and very well decorated.

Rooms:
The rooms are very spacious - almost like a suite. There is a living room, balcony, big bedroom and a huge bathroom. Its very quiet around the rooms, so you almost feel like you are in a secluded area.

Food:
We didn't even try the different restaurants at the resort, as the buffet was out of this world. I live in the US, so food is my biggest priority when I visit India. The 4 days we were there, not once was any dish repeated. There were an assortment of dishes for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. I just cannot say enough about the food.....it was out of this world. I easily put on extra pounds at Leela.

Beach/Pool:
This resort has a nice private beach. We went during monsoon season, so it would rain off and on. We walked on the beach, but mostly stayed at the pool area. The pool staff is very attentive and make sure you have a comfortable lounge chair and towel.

Service:
I cannot rave enough about the service. The service at 5-star hotels in India cannot be compared. As we arrived at the resort, the hotel staff was waiting to welcome us with garlands and coconut water. We were transported to our rooms along with the luggage. Throughout our stay at the resort, the staff didnt give us one reason to complain. I cannot wait to stay at another Leela resort in a different city in India.

The only thing that was a downer during this trip was the arrival of these middle-aged men who were there for a conference. These men would arrive at the pool (fully clothed) and just sit around gawking at everyone. Obviously, this was very uncomfortable. One guy even got in the pool with his underwear - ewww. I left a note about this experience with the hotel. I hope that in the future these kind of experiences and awkward encounters don't ruin what was an amazing experience at the resort.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ani J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pascal_Dupuis, General Manager at The Leela Goa, responded to this review, 7 March 2012
We thank you for providing your feedback following your stay at The Leela Goa. Your kind comments regarding our staff is greatly appreciated and your suggestions have also been noted.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Leela Goa.

Morton Johnston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cavelossim
9.9 km away
Taj Exotica Goa
Taj Exotica Goa
#1 of 14 in Benaulim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,900 reviews
39.5 km away
Goa Marriott Resort & Spa
34.2 km away
Grand Hyatt Goa
Grand Hyatt Goa
#1 of 2 in Bambolim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Holiday Inn Resort Goa
Holiday Inn Resort Goa
#5 of 10 in Cavelossim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,503 reviews
21.1 km away
The LaLiT Golf & Spa Resort Goa
16.9 km away
Alila Diwa Goa
Alila Diwa Goa
#2 of 38 in Salcette
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Leela Goa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Leela Goa

Property: The Leela Goa
Address: Mobor, Cavelossim 403731, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Goa > South Goa District > Cavelossim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cavelossim
#1 Spa Hotel in Cavelossim
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cavelossim
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Cavelossim
#1 Family Hotel in Cavelossim
#2 Business Hotel in Cavelossim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Leela Goa 5*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Combine the opulence and luxury of 5 star hotels, The Leela Goa with the natural beauty and Portuguese heritage of South Goa for the ultimate beach holiday. The hotel is set in 75 lush acres with a pristine beach, a 12 hole golf course and world class dining making it the finest 5 star hotels in Goa. While the rooms and suites, The Restaurant and the signature Jamavar have been designed by Jeffrey A. Wilkes, the principal designer of DESIGNWILKES, the art and embellishment has been done by Mrs. Madhu Nair. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Leela Goa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Leela Goa Hotel Cavelossim
Leela Kempinski Goa Cavelossim
Leela Goa
Goa Hotel Leela
Goa Leela
Leela Kempinski Goa Hotel Cavelossim
Leela Palace Goa
The Leela Goa Cavelossim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing