We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect holiday, perfect wedding” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hacienda Na Xamena

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hacienda Na Xamena
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect holiday, perfect wedding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2011

We had our second trip to the Hacienda this September. We were there the same time last year, and when we got engaged in December, knew instantly it was where we wanted to get married. Arranging our wedding with the Hacienda from London was a breeze - so easy, very efficient and we never once had to visit during the planning phase - everything was very easily managed by email. We were not disappointed when we arrived - the hotel was as glorious as we remembered and we spent the days leading up to the wedding enjoying the sunshine, swimming and having fun with our friends and family - NOT racing around organising tiny details for the wedding - Agate from the hotel had taken care of everything. The food all week, and especially at the wedding was incredible and nothing was too much trouble for the lovely and very polite staff.

We'll be back every year. For a summary, here are some of the high points, and things to know in case they matter to you:

Best things:
- Attention to detail - for the wedding, attention to detail was incredible - they had thought of things we hadn't, and it was all done to the highest quality and without fuss. Nothing was too much trouble at all. We had the very best wedding imaginable, and our friends and family have all commented on how effortless and fun it was (we danced until 4am - not something you'd ever be able to do in the UK)
- The view - astounding
- The sun deck - great sun loungers, loads of towels, good bar service to your lounger - no reason to leave the hotel!
- The food - fantastic food and a good wine list
- Housekeeping - really good attention to detail - everything spotlessly clean each day
- Breakfast - excellent range. We ate breakfast late each day and then lasted through until dinner (good way to keep costs down a bit)
- Service - very friendly, nice staff, very prompt to respond to requests

Things to know about (not necessarily bad, but good to note if it's important to you)
- The gym - could use updating and it's very small. However, if it's a relaxing holiday you want, you don't want to be in the gym all day. There are some good places you can run or go walking if you don't mind hill and track running
- Wi-Fi - there is free wi-fi throughout the hotel, which is okay, but would sometimes drop out a bit
- Mobile reception - virtually no signal in the hotel or beside the pool. You can get reception if you stand outside in front of reception, but that's not ideal. Again, great for people who really want to get away from it all
- Cost - yes, it's an expensive holiday. But never did we feel like it wasn't money worth spending - we never felt like value for money was bad. You pay for the holiday, but you get full value from what you've paid (especially when it comes to the food - really lovely).
- Bathrooms - could be brought up to date. They're a bit outdated for a 5 star hotel
- Lack of iPod docks - would be a good addition to the rooms

Room Tip: Standard rooms are okay (we stayed in one on our first visit), but upgrading one level made a big di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank L0nd0n_traveller13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    301
    109
    51
    40
    40
See reviews for
61
326
10
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portola Valley, California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2011

I'm giving it five stars, but read all of the reviews below. Even the critical ones about room configuration and decor aren't wrong or exaggerated, so if they hit on points that might be major ones for you, pay attention. It just happened that the downsides to this place were so much the kind of thing I didn't care about and the upsides were so good, that I had a really marvelous and relaxing time here.

Being built into the hill (and really "into" it) overlooking a spectacularly beautiful cove, rooms are sometimes oddly shaped and bathrooms are small, particularly for big, tall wide-shouldered Americans. Even with some lifts, you have to climb around a lot of steps as things seem to be distributed over multiple levels (you even have to climb over a funky concrete "moat" to get to the sun chairs by the main pool area), so if mobility is an issue for you, this is also something to consider.

That all said, the place is a spectacularly beautiful oasis of peace and tranquility with lovely pools, gorgeous natural views and really pleasant accommodating service. The food is also really high quality with great attention to detail. We ended up taking most of our meals there and all of them, including the really fine buffet breakfast (but top-notch egg dishes made to order and brought to your table) with excellent fruits, Iberian ham and meat, fish and cheese varieties, big variety of cereals, yoghurts and excellent pastries and bread.

My other half was irritated by some incipient noises from the A/C that wouldn't go away and the smallness of the bathrooms (two of them in our suite). I was enchanted and would even consider just coming here myself as a place to escape and rest and recover.

Room Tip: Xamena suites have patios with their own very large hot tub and stunning views over the cove.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mgpaley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
84 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2011

Na Xamena is on the sparsely populated northern part of Ibiza island. It is in a beautiful location high above the sea, with a big "wow" view. The resort was designed in the early 1970s by the Belgian architect owner, using very organic forms (vaguely reminiscent of Gaudi). It is beautifully designed and we found it very well maintained. The decor is a blend of eastern mysticism and early 70s hippiedom. In fact, the resort seems to attract rich aging ex-hippies and honeymooners. It is as far removed from the action of Ibiza as you can imagine (a 40 euro cab ride from the airport). Once you arrive, it is unlikely you will leave the resort. Therefore, expect to take all your meals there. Fortunately, the food is very, very good, but it is also fully priced. Figure on 150 euros per day per person on meals (though it's not hard to do more). the cascades at the spa (hydrotherapy circuit) is well worth doing and at 35euros per person, a good value. The rest of the spa is really pretty much hotel quality (typically disappointing, particularly for deep tissue massage). The swimming pools are very nice. The hotel staff is young, not particularly well trained in the world of 5-star accommodations, but incredibly sweet and well meaning. You will need to ask for what you want and be patient with them. If you are looking for a relaxing place to retreat (and are not vexed by overpaying or less than 5-star service), this should be a memorable place for you.

Room Tip: Room 210 is considered a standard room, but has some of the amenities of a suite, including the larg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JeffZee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2011

2nd visit to this hotel and wasn't disappointed. Amazing location. If you want peace and quiet this is ideal, however if you want bars and nightlife you do need a car as you are up in the hills. staff friendly and efficient and nothing too much trouble. Food in the restaurants great but the hotel is very very expensive. Expect to spend between 100 to 200 euros per day on food and drinks per couple, more if you eat in the restaurant. The rooms are clean and great to chill out in. We had one with Its own terrace and jacuzi. Worth paying the extra. if you want a place to relax and de stress this is the place. Will definitely be going back next year.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hellopuds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend on Sea
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2011

I cannot recommend Hotel Hacienda Na Xamena enough if you are a couple needing to get away from the children, house, job for a couple of days retreat! A wonderful place, relaxing, peaceful. The staff are fantastic and very friendly. The food is gorgeous and the view amazing looking out over the sea. My husband and I had wonderful treatments in the spa, wonderful meals and cannot wait to return. You will not be disappointed. We spent 3 days at the hotel and it felt like we had been away for a week.

Room Tip: A suite with your own plunge pool is fab if you do not want to sit by the pool and need extra privac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LizaD37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2011

Beautiful location with stunning views but this hotel suffers from a lack of investment from the owners.

Overall a very peaceful and relaxing hotel by day, the pool and sun bed area particularly nice. The restaurant Eden for lunch or dinner is a beautiful setting with lovely food.

However, the interior of the hotel and the bedrooms are dated and not as well represented as they appear on the website. The Hamman suite is odd with both the shower and bath in the bedroom. Not value for money. Wardrobe doors don't open unless you open adjacent door first. General decor of hotel leaves a lot to be desired with faded net curtains your granny would have been proud of.

Overall a potentially great hotel but seen better days.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NessyG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2011

We stayed at Hacienda Na Xamena for a weekend to discover Ibiza. We could not imagine than this island was so beautiful. Hacienda Na Xamena is the perfect place to discover the "real" Ibiza.
The hotel was built in a wonderful secluded Northern part of the island overlooking the sea. The scenery is spectacular! Waouh!
We could even enjoy the view from a private jacuzzi we had on the terrace of our room.
You should not miss the sunset from the terrace above the restaurant (excellent food and service!) and the swimming pool.
The hotel is very well organized with a pleasant swimming pool and a quiet sun deck. There is also a spa my wife particularly appreciated. The staff was always friendly and attentive.
Away from the night life of downtown Ibiza (but not that far either if you want to indulge in some partying) this is a perfect place to enjoy the beauty of the Mediterranean.
Ibiza has a soul! Thank you to those who keep it alive!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ethnologue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port de Sant Miguel
16.1 km away
ME Ibiza
ME Ibiza
#5 of 55 in Santa Eulalia del Rio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 828 reviews
14.8 km away
Aguas de Ibiza
Aguas de Ibiza
#3 of 55 in Santa Eulalia del Rio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 790 reviews
1.8 km away
Hotel Ole Galeon Ibiza
Hotel Ole Galeon Ibiza
#1 of 9 in Port de Sant Miguel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 km away
Insotel Fenicia Prestige Suites & Spa
Insotel Fenicia Prestige Suites ...
#2 of 55 in Santa Eulalia del Rio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
21.8 km away
Hard Rock Hotel Ibiza
Hard Rock Hotel Ibiza
#2 of 35 in Playa d'en Bossa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,898 reviews
21.7 km away
Ushuaia Ibiza Beach Hotel
Ushuaia Ibiza Beach Hotel
#4 of 35 in Playa d'en Bossa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda Na Xamena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Na Xamena

Property: Hacienda Na Xamena
Address: Calle Na Xamena s/n | San Miguel, 07815 Port de Sant Miguel, Ibiza, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Ibiza > Port de Sant Miguel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Port de Sant Miguel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hacienda Na Xamena 5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hacienda Na Xamena is a white washed Ibiza style property suspended 180m high above the Mediterranean, in the heart of a preserved natural park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hacienda Na Xamena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Na Xamena Hotel
Hacienda Na Xamena San Miguel
Hacienda Ibiza
Hacienda Na Xamena Ibiza/Port De Sant Miguel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing