We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow view in a somewhat retro setting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hacienda Na Xamena, Ibiza
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 October 2011

the location and views are sublime, probably best on the island with dramatic cliffs. the hotel itself has a good feel with nice playfull architecture. the outdoor pool area and eden restaurants are very nicely done. the indoor pool is a bit dated and uninviting. the Cascades spa is somewhat gimmicky but as part of a package, fun to do - again mostly for the views. the rooms are spacious and nicely done. for a 5-star they could do some upgrades including more maintenance on the finishings (bathroom paint, sealants), more international channels on the tv and/or movies, coffee/tea maker, etc.

the hotel overall shows some wear/tear and provisional repairs.

the staff are generally friendly but could be a bit more pro-active.

Found food overall to be good with a complete breakfast buffet. the only major disappointment is the pricing of the food. it tastes good but for the prices charged the portions are quite small and very limited finishings. a basic hamburger lunch with fries running at 25eur without salad or other trimmings is steep. this applies to pretty much everything on the menu. we read several reviews prior to our visit with similar comments and would agree with them.

we were in the off-season (October) so the hotel was quite empty - can imagine that in peak season it may be a bit restless a.o. due to wooden flooring in the hallways which make lot of noise.

altogether a pleasant stay and certainly recommend the offseason package we got. at full list price, we would consider it overpriced.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DPL9473
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (645)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

237 - 243 of 645 reviews

Reviewed 21 October 2011

We had our second trip to the Hacienda this September. We were there the same time last year, and when we got engaged in December, knew instantly it was where we wanted to get married. Arranging our wedding with the Hacienda from London was a breeze - so easy, very efficient and we never once had to visit during the planning phase - everything was very easily managed by email. We were not disappointed when we arrived - the hotel was as glorious as we remembered and we spent the days leading up to the wedding enjoying the sunshine, swimming and having fun with our friends and family - NOT racing around organising tiny details for the wedding - Agate from the hotel had taken care of everything. The food all week, and especially at the wedding was incredible and nothing was too much trouble for the lovely and very polite staff.

We'll be back every year. For a summary, here are some of the high points, and things to know in case they matter to you:

Best things:
- Attention to detail - for the wedding, attention to detail was incredible - they had thought of things we hadn't, and it was all done to the highest quality and without fuss. Nothing was too much trouble at all. We had the very best wedding imaginable, and our friends and family have all commented on how effortless and fun it was (we danced until 4am - not something you'd ever be able to do in the UK)
- The view - astounding
- The sun deck - great sun loungers, loads of towels, good bar service to your lounger - no reason to leave the hotel!
- The food - fantastic food and a good wine list
- Housekeeping - really good attention to detail - everything spotlessly clean each day
- Breakfast - excellent range. We ate breakfast late each day and then lasted through until dinner (good way to keep costs down a bit)
- Service - very friendly, nice staff, very prompt to respond to requests

Things to know about (not necessarily bad, but good to note if it's important to you)
- The gym - could use updating and it's very small. However, if it's a relaxing holiday you want, you don't want to be in the gym all day. There are some good places you can run or go walking if you don't mind hill and track running
- Wi-Fi - there is free wi-fi throughout the hotel, which is okay, but would sometimes drop out a bit
- Mobile reception - virtually no signal in the hotel or beside the pool. You can get reception if you stand outside in front of reception, but that's not ideal. Again, great for people who really want to get away from it all
- Cost - yes, it's an expensive holiday. But never did we feel like it wasn't money worth spending - we never felt like value for money was bad. You pay for the holiday, but you get full value from what you've paid (especially when it comes to the food - really lovely).
- Bathrooms - could be brought up to date. They're a bit outdated for a 5 star hotel
- Lack of iPod docks - would be a good addition to the rooms

Room Tip: Standard rooms are okay (we stayed in one on our first visit), but upgrading one level made a big di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank L0nd0n_traveller13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2011

I'm giving it five stars, but read all of the reviews below. Even the critical ones about room configuration and decor aren't wrong or exaggerated, so if they hit on points that might be major ones for you, pay attention. It just happened that the downsides to this place were so much the kind of thing I didn't care about and the upsides were so good, that I had a really marvelous and relaxing time here.

Being built into the hill (and really "into" it) overlooking a spectacularly beautiful cove, rooms are sometimes oddly shaped and bathrooms are small, particularly for big, tall wide-shouldered Americans. Even with some lifts, you have to climb around a lot of steps as things seem to be distributed over multiple levels (you even have to climb over a funky concrete "moat" to get to the sun chairs by the main pool area), so if mobility is an issue for you, this is also something to consider.

That all said, the place is a spectacularly beautiful oasis of peace and tranquility with lovely pools, gorgeous natural views and really pleasant accommodating service. The food is also really high quality with great attention to detail. We ended up taking most of our meals there and all of them, including the really fine buffet breakfast (but top-notch egg dishes made to order and brought to your table) with excellent fruits, Iberian ham and meat, fish and cheese varieties, big variety of cereals, yoghurts and excellent pastries and bread.

My other half was irritated by some incipient noises from the A/C that wouldn't go away and the smallness of the bathrooms (two of them in our suite). I was enchanted and would even consider just coming here myself as a place to escape and rest and recover.

Room Tip: Xamena suites have patios with their own very large hot tub and stunning views over the cove.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mgpaley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2011

Na Xamena is on the sparsely populated northern part of Ibiza island. It is in a beautiful location high above the sea, with a big "wow" view. The resort was designed in the early 1970s by the Belgian architect owner, using very organic forms (vaguely reminiscent of Gaudi). It is beautifully designed and we found it very well maintained. The decor is a blend of eastern mysticism and early 70s hippiedom. In fact, the resort seems to attract rich aging ex-hippies and honeymooners. It is as far removed from the action of Ibiza as you can imagine (a 40 euro cab ride from the airport). Once you arrive, it is unlikely you will leave the resort. Therefore, expect to take all your meals there. Fortunately, the food is very, very good, but it is also fully priced. Figure on 150 euros per day per person on meals (though it's not hard to do more). the cascades at the spa (hydrotherapy circuit) is well worth doing and at 35euros per person, a good value. The rest of the spa is really pretty much hotel quality (typically disappointing, particularly for deep tissue massage). The swimming pools are very nice. The hotel staff is young, not particularly well trained in the world of 5-star accommodations, but incredibly sweet and well meaning. You will need to ask for what you want and be patient with them. If you are looking for a relaxing place to retreat (and are not vexed by overpaying or less than 5-star service), this should be a memorable place for you.

Room Tip: Room 210 is considered a standard room, but has some of the amenities of a suite, including the larg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank JeffZee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2011

2nd visit to this hotel and wasn't disappointed. Amazing location. If you want peace and quiet this is ideal, however if you want bars and nightlife you do need a car as you are up in the hills. staff friendly and efficient and nothing too much trouble. Food in the restaurants great but the hotel is very very expensive. Expect to spend between 100 to 200 euros per day on food and drinks per couple, more if you eat in the restaurant. The rooms are clean and great to chill out in. We had one with Its own terrace and jacuzi. Worth paying the extra. if you want a place to relax and de stress this is the place. Will definitely be going back next year.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hellopuds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2011

I cannot recommend Hotel Hacienda Na Xamena enough if you are a couple needing to get away from the children, house, job for a couple of days retreat! A wonderful place, relaxing, peaceful. The staff are fantastic and very friendly. The food is gorgeous and the view amazing looking out over the sea. My husband and I had wonderful treatments in the spa, wonderful meals and cannot wait to return. You will not be disappointed. We spent 3 days at the hotel and it felt like we had been away for a week.

Room Tip: A suite with your own plunge pool is fab if you do not want to sit by the pool and need extra privac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LizaD37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2011

Beautiful location with stunning views but this hotel suffers from a lack of investment from the owners.

Overall a very peaceful and relaxing hotel by day, the pool and sun bed area particularly nice. The restaurant Eden for lunch or dinner is a beautiful setting with lovely food.

However, the interior of the hotel and the bedrooms are dated and not as well represented as they appear on the website. The Hamman suite is odd with both the shower and bath in the bedroom. Not value for money. Wardrobe doors don't open unless you open adjacent door first. General decor of hotel leaves a lot to be desired with faded net curtains your granny would have been proud of.

Overall a potentially great hotel but seen better days.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NessyG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port de Sant Miguel
14.8 km away
Aguas de Ibiza
Aguas de Ibiza
#1 of 57 in Santa Eulalia del Rio
964 reviews
21.9 km away
Hard Rock Hotel Ibiza
Hard Rock Hotel Ibiza
#1 of 33 in Playa d'en Bossa
2,489 reviews
16.1 km away
ME Ibiza
ME Ibiza
#6 of 57 in Santa Eulalia del Rio
979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.2 km away
Hotel Mirador de Dalt Vila
Hotel Mirador de Dalt Vila
#6 of 51 in Ibiza Town
190 reviews
14.5 km away
Insotel Fenicia Prestige Suites & Spa
Insotel Fenicia Prestige Suites ...
#3 of 57 in Santa Eulalia del Rio
829 reviews
21.7 km away
Ushuaia Ibiza Beach Hotel
Ushuaia Ibiza Beach Hotel
#8 of 33 in Playa d'en Bossa
2,440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda Na Xamena, Ibiza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Na Xamena, Ibiza

Address: Calle Na Xamena s/n | San Miguel, 07815 Port de Sant Miguel, Ibiza, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Ibiza > Port de Sant Miguel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Port de Sant Miguel
Price Range: $501 - $1,636 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hacienda Na Xamena, Ibiza 5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hacienda Na Xamena, Ibiza, is a white washed style property suspended 180m high above the glistering Mediterranean Sea, in the heart of a preserved natural park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Preferred Hotels, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hacienda Na Xamena, Ibiza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Na Xamena Hotel
Hacienda Na Xamena San Miguel
Hacienda Ibiza
Hacienda Na Xamena, Ibiza Port De Sant Miguel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing