We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The Greeks have a word for it”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
7 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
2 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Skiathos Town, Skiathos, Sporades

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Epicurian...
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“The Greeks have a word for it”
Reviewed October 2, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

After a somewhat exhausting flight, finally arriving at 10.30 at night having originally got on the plane at Gatwick at nine o'clock that morning and then having had a massive delay at the airport while we and Monarch waited for a replacement plane, we were not in the best of moods upon our eventual arrival in Skiathos. However, despite her own programme being messed around by our non-arrival at the appointed time, we were met and welcomed most warmly by our hostess, Maria, and driven to Villa 2. Having looked forward to an evening in a tavern lapped by the warm Aegean, ham and cheese toasted sandwiches were definitely second choice, but nevertheless a very welcome one at that time of night and we were able to crack open the complimentary bottle of wine which made us feel a whole lot brighter as we glanced round our surroundings and made our way to bed.

The warmth of the bright sunshine the following morning did much to restore our spirits and as we threw back the shutters and saw the inviting pool across the lawn and took in the view of hillsides covered in olive groves sweeping down to the coast, with just a glimpse of the sea from the balcony, the same cerulean blue as the sky above us, we were reminded the Greeks had a word for it.

The facilities at the villa were all one could hope for. The bathrooms (all three) modern, spotlessly clean and with really roomy showers satisfied in all respects - except water pressure became almost non-existent whilst the pool was being topped up. It was a question of timing - that's all. The pool was tended every day most efficiently, an olive escaping being removed from the bottom upon one occasion, but heavens above, one could forgive an overlooked olive and, in the gin-clear water, it seemed an almost exotic additive! The beds were comfortable and large, the kitchen was adequate in every way, the seating area most satisfactory and dining both in and outside on the terrace shaded by a generous fig tree gave one a choice of experience. We didn't use the barbecue, but it was there and underneath proved to be a comfortable shelter during a brief but dramatic thunderstorm one evening for a mother hen and her brood of chicks who became regular and welcome visitors.

Cocks crowed and - yes, dogs barked, as others have mentioned - and the odd goat even had the temerity to bleat and tinkle its bell occasionally, but we were enjoying the countryside setting and not the roar of quad bikes passing under our balconies and the noise of disco music or, even worse, incessant Abba!

It was a pleasant stroll down to the main road and a short step along to the bakery each morning for a selection of fresh breads and croissants and doughnuts for breakfast, the last few yards of the return journey being particularly steep and breath-taking, but the hillside setting was rewarding in so many other ways, and a taxi journey back from the town in the evenings only amounted to seven euros for the four of us and saved us that final climb. One tip - if you do decide to save on taxi fares, make sure you pack a torch for a return to the villa in the dark. The villa itself and the pool are both romantically illuminated at night though.

Skiathos is a delightfully green island, heavily wooded with pine trees and olives and affording many excellent walks with very fine views. "Mamma Mia", the film, was set here and on the neighbouring island of Skopelos, and is even more beautiful in real life than on celluloid.
The word I would use is "Paradise".

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Genandste...
Rainham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Beautiful villa and totally chilled holiday”
Reviewed July 11, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
3
people found this review helpful

Have been back 1 week already and so want to go back to the 20th June. Maria met us from the airport what a lovely lady and perfect host . Fridge and main essentials all provided by Maria , as she said you don't have to go out just relax after the long journey , don't get that in all inclusive . The villa is perfect , spotless and cleaned everyday by a lovely lady , sorry can't spell her name . Villa is situated just up from bus stop 2 which if you don't hire a car will only take 5 minutes to walk down , but would need a torch if coming back late . Very central to skiathos town . Me and my husband hired a jeep as we love to explore the many beaches on skiathos but when at the villa day or night it was so relaxing and chilled . If you have a big family and would like a holiday all together Maria has a 3 bedroom villa just up from villa 2 so you could all be in the same area . Maria is a perfect host and would recommend this villa to families , couple romantic holiday .

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M C H
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Villa”
Reviewed June 15, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
3
people found this review helpful

Had an excellent two week holiday in this Villa. Villa was so comfortable, clean and well maintained. The pool was lovely to swim in and kept very clean. Maria personally met us at the Airport and guided us to the Villa in our hire car. Nothing was too much trouble for Maria to assist us in any way. We would thoroughly recommend this Villa.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosic49
Croydon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Superb villa - highly recommended”
Reviewed May 26, 2013 for a stay in May 2013
2
people found this review helpful

This is a superb villa! We have just returned from a week there and can honestly say that it was a fabulous holiday and certainly the best villa we have ever stayed in. It is spacious, clean and private with lovely views. There are modern en suite shower rooms to the two bedrooms with showers big enough for at least two people!! In addition there is a wet room with toilet on the ground floor. There are hairdryers in every shower room and TVs in both bedrooms as well as the lounge. Maria, the owner, met us at the airport and guided us to the villa as we would never have found it otherwise, as it is up a track off the main ring road. Although Maria and her family live next door, you can barely see her house and we were left completely alone to enjoy our holiday, though she was very helpful and said we must call her if we needed anything at all. On our arrival she had left us 2 bottles of water, 2 bottles of wine, some bread, jam, croissants, butter (spread), ham & cheese, some tinned milk, fruit from her garden and a few teabags! Ideal to start us off. When we couldn’t find the toaster - only a sandwich toaster, which wasn’t what we wanted at the time, she got one for us and it was there when we returned at the end of the day. I should mention here that there is no washing machine or dishwasher as stated in the list of facilities, but as we had no need of them we did not bring it to her attention. We had very little washing-up to do and no desire to do any washing!! We found no iron either, but again, we didn’t need one. I am sure Maria would provide one if asked. There are supermarkets very close by, also 2 bakeries. It is a very short drive from the airport but we were never, ever bothered by any plane noise. The island is lovely with some great beaches and we would certainly return - and if we did it would be to this villa. I would give it a 5* rating and would not hesitate to recommend it.
PS If you like the idea of roaming and exploring the island on their rough roads we would recommend hiring a 4WD , motor bike or quad bike. We managed on a bottom-of-the-range car, but there were many roads it was not up to, so when we go again we may opt for something else.
I have ticked the boxes saying it is suitable for people with disabilites and for young children because there is a slope to the villa from where you park the car and there is a wet room on the ground floor, but there is a step at the front door which may be hard to negotiate perhaps. Also - young children would need supervision around the pool.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The overall quality of the villa, the views, the seclusion
Liked least: Dogs barking and roosters crowing in the night
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cinziarcc
Rome, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“perfect holiday in a perfect house”
Reviewed September 2, 2012 for a stay in August 2012
3
people found this review helpful

I really recommend this house for those who want to live a perfect holiday as it happened to me and my friends.
We enjoyed everything in the house. It 's been perfect and we had fun and relaxed. Maria, the owner, is very nice and professional.
Top.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: I really loved the pool, the nature around the place and all the stuff inside the house
Liked least: internet wifi connection unstable
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing