We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
Booking.com
Destinia.com
US$188
View deal
Free cancellation until 21-09-24
Expedia.comUS$223
eDreamsUS$223
ZenHotels.comUS$328
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,519)
Filter reviews
1,519 results
Traveller rating
525
515
306
108
65
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
525
515
306
108
65
Show reviews that mention
All reviews plastic glasses huge balcony main bar family holiday plenty of sunbeds old town lounge area junior suite buffet style fantastic holiday all inclusive hotel meal times tui pools entertainment portugal kettle
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 1,519 reviews
Reviewed July 10, 2021 via mobile

We have just returned home from a two week stay at the Palm village in Saldalgos .
Would I go again NO!!!!!
There were positives being that the resort was clean, lots of Covid precautions being followed.
The staff were friendly and professional. Our family room which had two bedrooms, two bathrooms was spacious and great for us with my teenager daughter .

I really think it depends on what standard of fully inclusive resort you are looking for. I was mistaken . Thought it was4 star and stated the drinks were branded. This is not the case ! You can buy branded spirits / alcohol but expensive.
The drinks were ok . The wine red, white , rose was ok .

The best drinks were made at the pool bar . Sangria and cocktails were good tasted so much better than the lobby and sports bar.

If you have young children then this could be the place for you . Jam packed with babies, toddlers and young children. The restaurants (3) were chaotic & noisy .
No dining experience! help yourself to food and no service of drinks .
The food got repetitive. The grill was a selection of meat usually 3 choices and fish too . It was ok but at busy times you would have to stand for a period to grab the meat before it was gone .
The Italian was basic , Portuguese ok but rarely a different choice.
I will say the food was fresh , and restaurants kept clean . But wasn’t an enjoyable experience . Noise levels were huge !

Evening entertainment in the lobby bar were basic and unable to enjoy with the amount of young children.

The sports bar serving the whole resort had two pool tables never managed to get a game

The spa in the Palace hotel next door is fabulous and the Zebra Safari trip is amazing !!!!!

Just a holiday for very very young families ‍‍‍

Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Lexelsbel3
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NAU Hotels Resorts, General Manager at NAU Salgados Palm Village Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2021

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review on on your recent stay at Hotel Salgados Palm Village. It is saddening to read your review and note that we were unable to meet up on your expectations and that disappoints us. We take all feedback being it positive or negative to heart as our main aim is to provide what our clients with a pleasant and enjoyable stay.
We appreciate the time you took to share your concerns, and it is our hope to have the opportunity to better serve you in the future.
Sincerely,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 2, 2021

On paper this should be a lovely hotel.

The hotel is exceptionally clean, and the rooms are extremely good with air conditioning that works. Food is buffet style, so nothing special but ok (the fish is always the best dish).

The staff at the kids club are amazing, a real credit to the hotel as this team does an incredible job.

Only let down was the Brits (I'm a Brit too), and the boozing that starts from what we saw as early as 9am.

This dented our experience of the holiday/hotel as being a young family we didn't really want to get involved in any of this. What this meant for us was whilst trying to get our children to sleep we had to allow for the bellowing music being played in the hotel until 12am every night. Then we had the room below us, a good of young men drinking and continuing the party (shouting and screaming) until 2am for three nights in a row.

This is where the hotel let's themselves down. They allow for drinking but do not do anything to discourage bad or anti social behaviour.

Whilst we were there we saw a group of yobs (with children) terrorise another family. Their behaviour towards the other family was disgusting. They should have been kicked off the hotel but were allowed to stay, and allowed to continue drinking.

It's a real shame because what should be a lovely hotel is ruined by the culutre they've allowed to happen there.

Also, the check-in process is a nightmare despite doing the pre-check-in for a faster service...

Date of stay: June 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 80Rhino
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NAU Hotels Resorts, General Manager at NAU Salgados Palm Village Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2021

Dear Guest,
NAU Salgados Palm Village would like to thank you for your preference.
We appreciate the sharing of your experience, and we are delighted to realize that enjoyed our cleanness and kids club staff.
We truly apologize for all the inconveniences felt during your stay in our property. Our aim is always to provide an amazing experience and memorable moments of tranquility and relaxing.
All your comments are constructively accepted and valued. Please rest assured that these matters will be addressed so that we can prevent similar events from occurring in the future.
We appreciate the time you took to share your concerns, and it is our hope to have the opportunity to better serve you in the future.
Sincerely,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 20, 2021

My Boyfriend and I went here when Portugal went onto the green list but unfortunately it turned amber when we were there but we decided to stay, it was the best decision! The hotel was amazing with COVID restrictions and everything was sanitised including sunbeds and tables and chairs, and everyone was made to sanitise before entering the buffet and the restaurant area. The rooms were massive, very clean and had lovely big balconies. Food was great, had a lot of choice including vegetarian options; freshly made pizza, fish and a lot of different meat options. Drinks were amazing, serving iced coffee with whipped cream and many different cocktails made from hand was even better. Had a choice to go to 3 different restaurants every day, also had the choice to go to a quiet pool or a pool with music. The entertainment was brilliant, we did karaoke and it was very funny. Snack bar was open until so late and also had a good one for afternoon snacks. 10/10 would recommend.

Date of stay: June 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Hannahcollins118
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NAU Hotels Resorts, General Manager at NAU Salgados Palm Village Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2021

Dear Mrs. Hannah Collins,

First of all we would like to thank you for the preference on the Salgados Palm Village for your holidays.

We are delight to know that you have enjoyed our facility's and restaurants. Your kind words give us the great filling of mission accomplished and we will share with our Team.

t was a real pleasure to have you staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back sometime soon. .

Kind regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 10, 2021

I'm staying at the hotel at present with my husband and 1 year old, we've been here nearly a week.

Good points
- staff very friendly, clear tables quickly, always smiling etc
- resort seems very clean with covid protocols in place
- rooms spacious with huge balconies and clean
- food is OK but bit repetitive and the 3 restaurants seem to serve identical food.
- plenty of good sized pools

Bad points
- noise! This is not a quiet hotel as I had hoped. We tend to sit around the quieter pools on the side rather than near the restaurants. But all afternoon you can hear the music booming from the busier pools and there is no escaping it! At night the lobby bar plays football really loudly through the speakers even though there is a separate sports bar elsewhere in the hotel. Then when the evening entertainment starts it's blaring until nearly midnight every night! Our room isn't near the bar but it is still so loud and will easily stop you sleeping!
- check in was very slow, and understaffed and unnecessarily long process!
- you have to book times for restaurants in advance due to covid which is understandable. Whilst breakfast and lunch vary their times in different restaurants, it's not possible to book dinner before 7pm when all the restaurants open, with a 1 year old we found this quite difficult as he was hungry and tired by then, it'd be nice if 1 of the restaurants maybe opened at 6pm. (I suspect we're not the only ones wanting this given the queues of pushchairs waiting inside the restaurants at 7pm!)
- plastic - drinks all served in disposable plastic glasses, they won't refill or let you refill your plastic glasses meaning you have to use a fresh plastic glass for every drink, I dread to think of the environmental impact, the waste seems so needless!
- minor issue but we arrived with a lot of luggage including sports equipment and a pushchair, after the long check in process it would have been nice if someone could have helped us with the luggage to our room, especially given the hotel likes to state that it's 5 star, I would expect that from a 5 star resort but no offer here.

If you stay here I'm sure you'll have a nice holiday but with a few touches and a bit more thought and consideration it could actuality be a good 4 start or maybe 5 star resort. We've had a pleasant stay but not sure I'll be rushing back mostly due to the noise!

Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank nicholall359
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NAU Hotels Resorts, General Manager at NAU Salgados Palm Village Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2021

Dear Guest,

First of all, we want to thank you for the preference on the Salgados Palm Village for your holidays.

We are very happy to hear your positive feedback concerning our staff and rooms.

Our aim is always to provide an amazing experience and memorable moments of tranquility and relaxing, nevertheless, we will have in consideration your feedback related to the opening time of our restaurants and entertainment, as we will share your opinion with the respective management departments in order to analyses your concerns.

Looking forward to receive you again in our hotel.
Best Regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 8, 2021

I am kicking myself. I was booked to go to Malta when it was predicted to be "green". When BJ surprised everyone and made it amber I swiftly got on to the web and booked this resort - snatched at it, really, and repented at leisure.

I was in the hotel part, on an all inclusive basis. It's a large complex which includes apartments as well. a 15 minute walk to the bay, or take the shuttle train. Quite pleasant. A 15 minute taxi ride to the Old Town of Albufeira.

Check-in: abysmal. Under resourced. I queued for 50 minutes. Housekeeping - Reception admitted switching the phones off during busy periods, so if you run out of soap in the 4 star dispenser (!) don't bother ringing reception.

Rooms are mini apartments (spacious, if basic) in large blocks built as a tribute to soviet architecture. Lots of cupboards, though, so quite good there. Lighting poor, bathroom small compared to size of the room.

The three canteens (yes, that's the word) are indistinguishable one from the other, so don't look for better next door. Buffet food institutional - lacking variety, quality or appeal. OK if you like pasta...and pasta,,,and (you get the idea). They are rigorous in ensuring covid protocols are followed. Sanitizing is, I guess, the only way to facilitate a self-service buffet.

A shame that all drinks have to be served in plastic glasses - even in the lobby bar.

After my first dinner I decided I had to eat out in the evenings. Try the Bellavita next to the beach car park where the shuttle train parks - really nice.

Space around the complex is in good supply, as are sunbeds, even in the busy week that I was there.

Room tip: Block 1 is quiet
Date of stay: June 2021
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank captainchaosandjenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NAU Hotels Resorts, General Manager at NAU Salgados Palm Village Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2021

Dear Guest
We would like to thank you for choosing Hotel Salgados Palm Village for your stay. We were saddened to read that your experience was not as enjoyable as you expected. In first instance we apologize for the disappointment caused.
We would be pleased to welcome you back in a near future to Salgados Palm Village, so that you can experience a stay that matches our usual high standards.
Kind regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews