We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peaceful place!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Arion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Arion Hotel
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Kokkari
Certificate of Excellence
Tehran, Iran
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Peaceful place!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

My husband and I stayed in this hotel for a week in July. We enjoyed the peaceful atmosphere of the hotel a lot. The rooms were very clean, the breakfast was nice, the view over Kokkari village was awesome and the staff were very friendly. (Jamil and Hassan in the restaurant and Christos at the bar!) The most interesting thing in the hotel was its"Greek Night" party! We enjoyed the night with the other guests of the hotel eating delicious food, listening to live music and learning Greek dance! We'll definitely go back to Arion hotel again!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rayhan_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    46
    15
    6
    1
See reviews for
36
63
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2011

As I have mobility problems we were given a room with no stairs, there are ramps around most of the complex. the hotel is up a fairly steep hill but with the courtesy bus driven by 'Bruce' , Australian Greek, getting to the local beeches is easy.

The hotel is half board, the breakfasts were brilliant, anything hot was cooked fresh ie; eggs, bacon, omlettes, pancakes, and the continental choice was very good.

At the evening meal there was always plenty of choice and again there was always something being offered and cooked while you wait. Also a weekly bbq during June, July and August with entertainment.

The beds were changed every other day whilst we were there and towels daily. With a 10 euro deposit towels for the swimming pool were supplied. Plenty of sun beds around the pool.

For most of our holiday we were the only british couple there. Overall we had a very quiet relaxing holiday and would thoroughly recommend it. Our holiday rep Nina could not have been more helpful especially with getting us a room to suit my needs in particular with having a wheelchair.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Merseagirl48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sentosa Island, Singapore
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2010

I booked into the Arion Hotel based on the reviews here and other recommendations. Unfortunately, I cannot endorse them and in fact had one of worst hotel experiences ever.
Yes, the hotel has a great (if somewhat isolated) position overlooking the quaint, touristy town of Kokkari. The daytime staff is generally friendly and helpful. It also has hordes of package tourists from Northern Europe, all of whom will likely be paying much less than you if you are an independent traveler. It is clear that this hotel relies on package tourism – the independent traveler is an after thought.

To my experience - My wife and I stayed twice in late July ‘10, once for one night on the way to Patmos, and the second time a week later for two nights. The first night we were in a basic and uninspired triple room (asked for double) and suffered incredibly because the aircon did not work (it must have been 30 degrees in the room)… It also didn’t help that the mattresses were no more than 15cm thick and sagging, with the metal springs pushing into our backs. The room bore visible signs of a previous break-in (i.e., a bent metal main door frame where a crow bar had obviously been used). The second visit we were given a quad room (two twin beds – same 15cm mattresses, and an ugly white bunk bed) which reminded me of scout camp as it felt very institutional. The first night was ok but on the second we again suffered because there was no air conditioning. At 180 euros per night, in a so-called four star hotel, this is simply unacceptable (two nights out of three without aircon in two different rooms – clearly the infrastructure of the hotel is failing). When I asked the night management to do something, I was told that “this was not their problem, it was mine, as the maintenance staff only worked days, why don’t I just leave all the doors open?” To add insult to injury, I discovered that while we had booked and paid 180 euros per night for two, including breakfast, via the hotel’s website, the maximum legal rate for the room, according the room-posted high season rates, including breakfast, was only 160 euros.

One other point. During our last day, we went to Turkey, leaving early in the morning and returned in the evening to find out that the maids had left our room unlocked…Thank god, nothing was taken. Of course, I could have been protected if I’d paid 1.5 euro per day to use the room safe... Has anyone on this site ever paid to use a room safe in a four star hotel?

In short, we paid four star Athen's prices for a two star product and had a miserable experience. My advice to fellow travelers is to avoid this place at all costs.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Ayah30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester UK
Level Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2010

Spent a great week here. Food was buffet and mixture of Greek and European food. Dominated with Germans which is good for standards but bad for manners... Air con not great in bungalows but spotlessly clean. Quiet when we were there but was getting noisier as the kids rolled in and the late night entertainment kicked in. Beaches near hotel brilliant - steep walks so despite bus service not great for vets. Kokkari was great - lots of bars and Tavernas - a little expensive. A car was needed to see the islands - found some great beaches and places to eat - enjoy

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MickDWinchesterUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2010

Nice,clean, quite, mostly families and couples were present. Perfect food, friendly stuff and an amazingly beautiful seaview from the balcony, would love to come back there one day.

Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AnastasiyaA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bakewell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2009

This was our fourth visit to the Arion but unfortunately it has gone downhill somewhat in our estimation. The location and grounds of the Hotel are superb and we have never tired of the views over the last 7 years or so. One of the pleasures of the Arion used to be lazing around the lovely pool enjoying the peace and quiet, but come mid morning the pool bar stereo was switched on and for the rest of the day we were listening to whatever took the barmaids fancy which was anything from traditional Greek through to disco and even rap on one occasion complete with its swearing...whatever happened to Fanny and Jasmine???
I also think its about time some decent sunbeds were available as the ones they have now are more than likely the same we used years ago
Last year the food was great but this year I could only rate it as average and it was rather bland which was a real shame.
Despite this couple of gripes I still have yet to see a better hotel in the Kokkari area of Samos and would still recommend the Arion to anyone else

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank monyash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2009

Although we have visited Greece many times before, this was our first trip to Samos and the Arion Hotel and we enjoyed every minute of our visit. The hotel is set in lovely gardens, about a ten minute walk downhill to Kokkari. The staff at the hotel are very helpful and friendly. Our room (which was in the main hotel building) was a decent size, kept spotlessly clean, with a large balcony, and a hot and powerful shower (not all that common in Greece but very welcome). The food served at breakfast and in the evening was excellent. There was a large choice both in the morning and evening, from a hot and cold buffet. There was also a separate grill. The food was of a high standard and there was a varied and different choice every day of our two week holiday. The breads and pastries are particularly recommended - all freshly baked at the hotel.

We hired a jeep for three days - highly recommended to see the island. Don't be tempted to stick to the main road. You will find some lovely traditional villages if you head off the main road and into the inland hills. The roads are pretty good - even in the hills.

The location of the Arion was perfect. Having driven around the island we definitely thought Kokkari was the best location. Lovely little tavernas around a very pretty bay. Two beaches were within walking distance of the Arion Hotel, although we only visited one - Lemonakia - as we loved it and were happy to spend the days there. Lemonakia Beach is pebbly (we did find a lovely sandy beach at Psili Ammos near Pythagoria) but we preferred that. The sea was like swimming in a swimming pool - very warm and crystal clear. There was a good taverna on the beach too - run by the very friendly and larger than life Dimitris. All in all a perfect Greek holiday. If you are reading this because you are heading there soon - then I am very envious!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Flyingdolphins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kokkari
1.0 km away
Armonia Bay Hotel
Armonia Bay Hotel
#1 of 21 in Kokkari
4.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
0.2 km away
Kalidon Panorama Hotel
Kalidon Panorama Hotel
#2 of 21 in Kokkari
4.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
1.4 km away
Kalidon Beach Hotel
Kalidon Beach Hotel
#4 of 21 in Kokkari
4.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.7 km away
Samaina Inn Hotel
Samaina Inn Hotel
#1 of 9 in Karlovasi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
10.9 km away
Fito Aqua Bleu Resort
Fito Aqua Bleu Resort
#1 of 38 in Pythagorion
4.5 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
1.8 km away
Sunrise Beach Hotel
Sunrise Beach Hotel
#20 of 21 in Kokkari
4.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arion Hotel

Property: Arion Hotel
Address: Kokkari 83100, Greece
Region: Greece > Northeast Aegean Islands > Samos > Kokkari
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kokkari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Arion Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Bookgreece.com and Reservation Counter so you can book your Arion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arion Hotel Kokkari, Samos, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing