We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another amazing week at the Sunshine”
Review of Sunshine Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sunshine Hotel
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Lardos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 July 2010

Just back from an amazing week at the eternally wonderful Sunshine. Hotel spotless as ever. Popi and the team as friendly and helpful as can be. One of my friends was quite ill whilst we were away. Popi and co were amazing - arranged a Doctor, took meals to her room etc. It really is a home from home. Home cooked food in the restaurant is to die for. Faultless.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LesaPink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (206)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

169 - 175 of 206 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2010

Basic hotel but very friendly & helpful staff. Great pool with bar & snacks. No money exchange service available. Book swap on site behind reception. Quiet location with a few bars & good restaurants nearby. Plenty of supermarkets there for all your needs. Good beach within 10 mins walk. Good public bus service right outside hotel. Next resort Pefkos only few mins in taxi, more lively & more choice of bars, restaurants etc. Breakfast included in holiday price is poor. Only hot drink with bread roll & jam. Alternative choices are available for a price.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank xtwigx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2010

We went to the Sunshine the first week of July 2009, our accommodation was basic but basic clean (rooms cleaned everyday). Breakfast was adequate (if like me you don't eat much in the mornings) and you can order extra if you wish for a few euro's. The bathroom was spotless, the bin always has a lid and I fit quite nicely, as did my better half in the bath (I am 5ft 6 and he is 6ft). We had two fresh cups everyday, although they were plastic but who cares, if you want a proper glass or cup,Popi or any of the staff are happy to obliege.
Popi,Demitri and their sons were fabulous as were all the staff, the pool was brilliant as was the bar, yes sometimes unattended but always someone close by to serve. We always went to the mini market to the right of the hotel where the propriter was wonderful and always happy to help. The Cocktail bar was better lol serving buy one get one free from 6-9. The other holiday makers were great and we all had a smashing time at the BBQ on the Wednesday night, the food was delicious, cooked by dimitri with a watchful eye from Popi.
The only thing I would suggest not doing, is booking any trips with the rep, they are long, crowded and give you very little time at your destination, we missed out seeing all of Rhodes town for fear of missing our coach. You can do this easily though on your own with a bus stop directly outside the hotel and taxi's running frequently.
The beach was clean and a 5 minute if that walk away with a great bar. There are a lots of bars and taverna's around and the meals we had out were top notch, each time we ordered Greek food, delicious.
As I am disabled we asked for a room that was suitable and got one, although I don't use a wheelchair, so unfortunately may not be suitable for wheelchair users.
I spoke with Popi the night before we left while we were all congregated in the bar area thanked her for a great time and that we would be back again next year... my partner and I are going back on Wednesday with some friends we met there last year.... and honestly can't wait.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LuLu_172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2010

My wife and i stayed at the sunshine for 2 weeks and really enjoyed our stay, poppy and dimitri are fantastic people and not forgetting david the quiz 'cough' master. The rooms are very clean but you have to pay for the air con and fridge which was the only down side, the pool area and bar area are very quiet so i would recommend for a good pint and a chat to go to the bar on the left as you walk out of the hotel called 'CRAZY GEORGES BAR' where you will be met by the wonderful Mark and Emma an english couple who have taken the plunge. Dont be put off by the name its not 'crazy' at all its just a very nice place to go and have a drink till whatever time you want and a chat, they also have sky sports,bbc,itv, a wii for the kids and big kids and a good selection of music. For meals we would say that the hotel has some very nice food but we would recommend either a 30 min walk into lardos or get a taxi for 5 euro, in lardos you will find a selection of restaurants our paticullar favourites where ROULAS and VALENTINAS. All in all we had a fantastic time and are coming back this year to see our new friends we made. oh and Mark i have been practising on the wii so be afraid!!!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank redwinerus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2009

We just came back from a week at the sunshine and absolutely loved it. The hotel is quite basic, but is very clean and the owners are extremely friendly.
the rooms are very basic, but are spacious and clean everyday. the only thing missing is a tv. the pool is very nice and well mantained and the bar serves extremely cold beer, which is very nice at 35 degrees.
the bar is is also nice, with a great choice of cocktails, but its not as busy as it should be.
its located about 5 minutes from the beach and the resorts of lardos, pefkos and lindos are very close by. there are about 5678 "supermarkets" within 5 minutes walking.
but the highlights of this place has to be its owners and the restaurant.
popi and dimitri and their sons are very friendly and are always around to help. as for the restaurant, you dont need to bother going anywhere else, popi has got to be the best cook in rhodes. we highly recomend the meze and kleftiko, but everything in the menu is absolutely delicious, their ingredients are always as fresh as it gets. we ate at 3 other restaurants including the "famous" coralis, but just to confirm her food is the best around, as well as being very fairly priced.
if you are looking for a nice and relaxing holiday and understand that for the price you are paying you are not going to stay at the ritz, the sunshine is an excellent place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rogerioprolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2009

Stayed at the Sunshine for the first week in July - loved the place ! It's not posh or grand, but it's an excellent budget hotel, with good facilities. And it's run by the nicest people - Poppy and Dimitri - who could not have been kinder or more helpful to us. The hotel is spotlesslessly clean, the rooms are big ( by Greek budget hotel standards ), breakfast is fresh and adequate ( and if you want more - you can buy omelette / full english etc for a few euros more ). Pool is clean and plenty of loungers / space. The pool bar is good for drinks and snacks. There is a well stocked mini market next door - and the beach is a 5 min stroll away. There are a handful of bars and tavernas in the immediate vicinity of the hotel - all were good - try happy hour at the Cocktail Bar - or the Beach Bar for fab food and you can watch the setting sun / rising moon.
It was my first time to Rhodes, it's a wonderful island, so much to see and do. We hired a quad and car to get around the island. I would go back tomorrow.
The best thing about Rhodes ? The history ? The beauty ? The sun ? The lovely friendly helpful people ? It's hard to decide !

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LesaPink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2009

Just came back from a weeks stay in lardos,at the sunshine hotel.
We arrived at 5 in the morning to find a note on the reception desk telling us which room we were in and where the keys were,the hotel doors were never locked i later found out.
The rooms are dated but ok,the bathrooms...disgusting a small bath which i didnt fit in and i am just over 5 ft with all the surface rubbed off a dirty shower lead attached to the tap,hook to hold it on the wall no shower curtain so water went everywhere and you had to hold the shower head while trying to wash almost impossible so i never felt clean.
The bin used for all the dirty toilet paper had no lid!!
The air conditioning cost 8 euros a night and the fridge 4 euros a night and to add insult to injury when you left your room and took your key from its holder all the electricity went out!!So unable to keep air conditioning or fridge on.
The pool area was nice but no entertainment to speak of apart from loud pop music,the hotel rep was worse then useless dont trust his word for times/dates/pick ups/distances.
The trips the rep sells you are rubbish and way over priced when you can catch a taxi or local bus right out side the hotel to any where you wish to go or hire a car from around 30 euros a day.
The shop next doors is great very friendly and helpful gave us a bus timetable etc.
Casa di flavia restuarant worse place i have ever had the misfortune to eat in food at best was lazy and we were over charged when askedabout it the owner a lady became very nasty!
The breakfast was insulting 1 white plain bread roll,1 tiny portion of butter and jam 1 orange squash 1 tea or coffee.
A small box of cerels 2 euros when in the shop next door 70 cents,a english breakfast was 5 euros.
The staff and family were nice not really interested in you and im not sure they even realised we were staying at thier hotel as the resturant and bar are open to everyone.
UNSUITABLE for elderly /disabled due to steep steps up to the hotel and down to the ground floor bedrooms,boring place to stay im glad it was for a week and not a fortnight.
The bathrooms are mopped out daily apart from sundays and the sheets changed and toilet bin emptied towels get changed every few days.

  • Stayed: July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank caroline_exeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lardos
0.9 km away
Olive Garden Hotel
Olive Garden Hotel
#5 of 14 in Lardos
603 reviews
0.1 km away
Bel Mare Hotel
Bel Mare Hotel
#7 of 14 in Lardos
205 reviews
2.7 km away
Matina Pefkos Aparthotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Sunrise Hotel
Sunrise Hotel
#22 of 30 in Lindos
340 reviews
3.3 km away
Lindian Village
Lindian Village
#2 of 14 in Lardos
947 reviews
0.5 km away
Lindos Princess Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunshine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunshine Hotel

Address: | Lothiarika Beach, Lardos, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Lardos
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Lardos
#2 Family Hotel in Lardos
#4 Romantic Hotel in Lardos
Price Range: $37 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sunshine Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sunshine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunshine Hotel Lardos
Sunshine Hotel Rhodes/Lardos, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing