We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“All Inclusive for the price of self catering” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of smartline Ellia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
smartline Ellia
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Lardos
Salisbury, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“All Inclusive for the price of self catering”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2012

We (my sister and I) stayed at the Saint George for a week in May. It was still early season for Rhodes and for the first two days there were very few other guests, but it did fill up during the week. Lowcost holidays advertise the hotel as Pefkos but it is nearer to Lardos, not a big problem as there is a bus stop right outside the hotel and you can take a bus to Lardo, Lindos (both 1.60 each way) or Rhodes Town about 6.00 each way. Lindos is well worth a visit for shopping or the Acropolis (By Donkey).

The Saint George is a lovely hotel. The staff cannot do enough for you. The rooms are spacious and clean, the food was good, varied and plentiful, (could do with being a bit warmer). It has a large swimming pool, a small kiddie pool and plenty of sunbeds.

There was no entertainment except a cd playing in the bar but it didn't bother us, we met some nice folk from Wales and Liverpool and sat around most evenings chatting and getting know each other. Whether this changes in high season I don't know, there was a small indoor stage in the bar and an ampitheathre outside so there is definately potential for entertainment.

In summary if you want a very resonably priced AI holiday in a quiet resort then check out the Saint George. I would go again on my own and feel secure.

Room Tip: Hotel is build into the side of a hill so lots of steps and slopes to cope with. Asking for a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Vaughn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    69
    72
    45
    41
See reviews for
114
136
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Sheppey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2012

We traveled as a couple and with a family friend. Having booked this hotel we were advised that we would spend the first 2-3 nights of our week's holiday at the Pefkos Garden hotel a short distance away which we should also recommend, this was due to the Saint George not opening for our first couple of days. However, following some initial frustration at being moved and the general irritation with our travel company for late advice (24hrs prior to departure booked through Travelbag) we can thoroughly recommend the Saint George with superb staff throughout the hotel, beautiful location and views of the sea and the hills as a back drop, Our room was cleaned daily, and the Al inclusive package suited us well for our stay, food very varied and yummy, bar, restaurant and reception personnel were all lovely and nothing was too much trouble during our stay. Bus stops are located outside the hotel for exploring other parts of this wonderful island.also a very useful small supermarket on the doorstep with brilliant staff to assist you. Do try the Saint George hotel and make the holiday yours by ignoring the slightly pathetic, negative comments in some reviews.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Ramlalady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2012

What you have to remember when staying at Saint George is the low price you have paid in the first place! Don't expect The Ritz and you won't be disappointed.

We went at the end of the season and shared the hotel with around 30 other guests at the beginning of the week which dwindled to just 5-or-so on the last day. This meant no queues for food or drink and plenty of choice of sun loungers.

We arrived a lot later than planned due to the strikes in Greece delaying our flight but, once we finally arrived at 5am local time, we were greeted by someone who showed us our way to our room.

The room we had was next to the pool but one. It was very clean and tidy.

The food was a lot better and more varied at the beginning of the week than toward the end but at all points it was still edible.

The staff were all very friendly and good fun, especially Alex the barman whom we often sat and got more than tipsy with on cocktails more than once!

The pool was in good condition although freezing cold but what can you expect?

The room was cleaned every day at about 11am and the bed covers changed every 3rd day by a very friendly woman.

The only problem we had was when the heavens opened and our room leaked. It came in from the ceiling and under the door but you know what? Who cares! A bit of water doesn't hurt anyone. The floors aren't carpeted so it was easily amended.

The area of Lardos is rather pleasant although quiet. Then again we did go at the end of season.
We highly recommend checking out the cocktail bar just down the road ("Cocktails and Dreams") - very accommodating staff who pulled out all the stops to make our time in there very enjoyable!
A walk into the village centre is only 20 minutes or €4 in a taxi one way. There you won't find much stuff to do although there is an excellent pub called Yamas which serves cocktails to die for!

The bus into Rhodes city centre took about an hour and cost about €15 in total for one person, if memory serves me well. We found that you should always ask the driver if he's going to Rhodos regardless of the number on the front of his bus because he will take you to Lindos or Pefkos to change there.

All in all, our trip was very enjoyable. We won't be going back to the hotel but that's only because we like going to a new one each time we go away. If we were creatures of habit then the Saint George would definitely be on the list to go back to!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank CiaraBrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2011

Booked this holiday as was advertised as being in Pefkos but it is actually 4-5 k away (small writing giving address as Lothiarika on paperwork which is very quiet and not English friendly) As soon as we arrived we were moved to another hotel (It seems that many English are moved to other hotels) and told that we would be moved back to Saint George asap, but when I enquired on our second day about moving back the receptionist stated that we were booked at the other hotel for the week, so the hotel manager had obviously lied to us. Following our complaints we were finally moved back in to Saint Georges on our fourth day and realised that the hotel we were originally moved to was sub-standard and not the equivalent star rating, in our opinion, or certainly the room that we were given.

Also, due to the fact we were not in walking distance of Pefkos we hired a car which helped us to enjoy our holiday because there is certainly nothing going on in Lothiarika and Saint Georges put no entertainment on at all.

Upon our return to the UK we complained and asked for some form of refund due to the false advertising of the location and alocation of sub-standard accomodation. This was declined as the hotel had forged a document stating that they had paid for our car hire which was a total lie.

Saint Georges was full of Russian and Italian people and the English were treated poorly.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Rob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lardos hotels

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

We booked to stay at the St George hotel in September and after reading other reviews on here became concerned about being moved to another hotel so i contacted low cost holidays who we booked with and told them my concerns, they said they had contacted the hotel on our behalf and the hotel had confirmed we were definitely staying there and would not be moved ( yeah right). so anyway on the day of our arrival we were met by the hotel owner who my son nick named mayor quimby as he thought he looked like him lol. he was very friendly but we were a bit apprehensive about being moved. and sure enough as soon as we booked in mayor quimby said we were not stopping in the st George but we would be staying up the road somewhere at this point i was getting a bit annoyed and i showed him the email print out from low cost holiday but he said no one from there had emailed him.
he took us to his van put our luggage in and took us up the road to an apartment block about 5 to 10 mins walk away he put us in an apartment and said we would just need to walk down the road for food drinks ect. well that's the only negative bit about this review and to mayor quimby's defence the apartment block he put us in was brand new very close to the beach (100 yards) and he also gave us free air con for the whole 2 weeks. now the St George hotel its self was very clean, staff were polite food was ok although a bit repetitive drinks were good a few snacks in the day. deserts were a bit rubbish ( ice cream and jelly every day) but it is 3 * so i guess you get what you pay for. to sum up i would say this hotel is not that bad but if your British dont expect to stay there most British get moved when the polish and Russians are staying in the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Cliveellis4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2011

We stayed at saint george hotel in October this year. The hotel was fine, clean and tidy the staff were friendly enough. the only criticism i would have is on the block the we stayed the music was quite loud and it stayed on till quite late so kept me and my husband awake, i normally wouldnt have minded but i am pregnant and felt tired after the days of exploring the island.
The food was ok for a 3 star hotel and the pool was fine and safe.
The location was a bit out of the way from anything the hotel is neither in lardos or pefkos

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank satelitegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2011

We visited the hotel recently and it was terrible. The first night we were sent 200 yards down the road. It was 2am and I had recently broken my foot, so as you can imagine the walk down the road after all that travelling set things off on the wrong note! We went back the next morning with our cases and there was an Englishman outside who said that we were in for a terrible two weeks. The hotel was full of Russian/ Polish people, which we didnt mind, but it did make you feel a little isolated. And that all the English that came to the hotel were sent down the road to the 1* hotel.

By our second week there was a group of english girls and two couples - who were ALL staying down the road!! The only reason we got moved to the St George was because I demanded to as I couldnt limp up and down the road everytime I wanted breakfas/ lunch/ dinner.

The food and drink were okay, and we weren't expecting much for how cheap it was. The other hotel guests were quite rude in the dining room and didnt understand a queing system, but that wasnt too terrible. The soft drinks were local brands that turned our teeth brown after a couple of days so we switched to water in the day! The wine and beer was good though.

We saw the manager in constant fights with the English and Italian guests. He was obviosuly overbooking the rooms and sending everyone down to his mate at the crappy 1* hotel!! The receptionist was overly rude too.

I have never moaned about a hotel/ holiday and have almost always gone 3* so know what to expect. But this was the pits!

I would like to say the bar staff & entertainment girl were lovely - and they were one thing that didnt make the holiday totally terrible.

Bottom line - if you plan to STAY at the hotel you've booked, stay away!!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Louannew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lardos
0.2 km away
Lindos Princess Beach Hotel
0.4 km away
Olive Garden Hotel
Olive Garden Hotel
#5 of 15 in Lardos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
32.7 km away
SunConnect Evita
SunConnect Evita
#20 of 74 in Faliraki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Sunshine Hotel
Sunshine Hotel
#6 of 15 in Lardos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
41.8 km away
Smartline Cosmopolitan Hotel
Smartline Cosmopolitan Hotel
#20 of 129 in Rhodes Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
22.6 km away
Delfinia Resort Hotel
Delfinia Resort Hotel
#12 of 33 in Kolimbia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to smartline Ellia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about smartline Ellia

Property: smartline Ellia
Address: Lardos 851 09, Greece (Formerly Ellia Hotel)
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Lardos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Lardos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — smartline Ellia 3*
Number of rooms: 134
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your smartline Ellia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smartline Ellia Rhodes/Lardos, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing