We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (25)
Filter reviews
25 results
Traveller rating
17
6
1
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
17
6
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbars and restaurantsbed apartmentfamily holidaywashing machineruaabrilunitschurchmicrowavetvlagosbalconypool
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 25 reviews
Reviewed June 14, 2016 via mobile

Myself and two friends decided to do a break to portugal. We came across st.james apartments.
Very reasonably priced, quiet safe location. Enclosed pool area with key pad lock. The apartment itself had one double room and two single beds. Perfect for couples or fanilies. Everything we needed there. Washing machine, hair dryer, coffee maker!! Spacious apartment probably ten minutes from the restraunts & beach.
Will return here for sure.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Evelyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 14, 2015 via mobile

This place is great ..short stroll down to the beach plenty of restaurants in the town..

Loads of ex pats live in the apartments. .if you like golf you will love this area with a golf course seemingly every couple of miles..

Stayed: September 2014, travelled with family
Thank Stuart P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 12, 2015 via mobile

This is our 4th year at these apartments in Luz and we love it. The apartment we stay in is in block 3 (there are 5) and is 2 bed, 2 bath. There is an open plan lounge, dining area and kitchen (just separated by a breakfast bar) and it has 2 balconies (sun on 1 in the morning and the other smaller one in the afternoon) and it is very spacious. I would say that your apartment location could affect your experience if you are located near the bins or restaurants.

All the apartments appear to be privately owned and are never fully occupied (we've been in May & August). There are lots of English families here although that's probably more to do with the fact we come in the school holidays. We have 2 boys who love to make new friends so the fact there are other English families is good. The complex is well maintained and kept very clean.

The kids pool is a great size (about 50cm deep) and there is another deeper pool (about 1.5m deep) great for swimming lengths. There are 'walk-in steps' to both. In the summer there are pool attendants (check your apartment has access to the pool as not all of the owners pay for it).

The beach is about a 10 minute walk downhill and a bit longer on the uphill return! It's not bad though and there are ice cream stalls on the way!

There are 3 shops pretty close, a small one on Rua de Abril called O Celeiro, which sells most things (and does lovely pain au chocolat/croissants in a morning) then a Spar a bit further away and Baptista just behind, Baptista also have a fish shop and patisserie across the road.

The main pickup point for trips to Zoomarine, Slide & Splash etc is a 5 minute walk away by the church and it's the same place for the bus stop (a trip to Lagos is recommended) and taxi rank.

There are also loads of restaurants close by (in our opinion Dolphin, South African, great steak, is the best, you'll need to book though) and a pub called The Bull which shows sport.

The doctor and pharmacy is also close to the apartments.

All in all it's a great choice!!

Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
2  Thank Debs2135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 11, 2015

Read the reviewer's comments of the 26th Sept,2014, it says it all. We have just returned from the same apartment, it's a very nice apartment, home from home, we enjoyed our 10 day holiday, comfy bed. However there is road noise and noise when the bins are being emptied at 6 .00/ 6.30 if the patio doors are shut it helps lower the noise and if you are a heavy sleeper I doubt it would wake you. It woke me up as I'm a light sleeper, went back to sleep tho. I would stay here again, nice pool, short walk to bars restaurants and a nice little beach entrance next to the Bull. Restaurants worth visiting are The Dolphin, Paulos, and Fabrica' s. The Chinese is also nice if you fancy Chinese food one night. Clive' s bar down the road is also worth a visit good music, good measures and good cocktails. We enjoyed the view from the balcony and ate in a few times, as well as enjoying the local restaurants. Thanks David and Heather for sharing your apartment.

Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Gill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 30, 2015 via mobile

The apartment was superb. Clean well equipped and airy. Lovely pool area which is gated so only residents can use so wasn't over busy. Lots of sun beds. Not too noisy and in easy reach of shops, restaurants and beach. Felt very secure. Had a 2 bed apartment which has plenty if room. Lounge dining area big kitchen 2 bathrooms and a balcony.

Stayed: June 2015
Thank Christine N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews