We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Luz
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
St. James Apartments
Ranked #6 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Luz
Reviewed 13 July 2017 via mobile

Stayed in a 1 bed apartment with gorgeous views. Really well located with great views . Close to beach , bars and restaurants . Worth booking a stay here. Free parking, lifts and secure apartments. Ask for a sea view when booking- makes all the difference.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank spongesdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (21)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 21 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2016 via mobile

This year is the 4th time I have been with my family. The location is great because you are ten minutes away from the beach. You can easily catch a bus into Lagos and there are lots of nice restaurants nearby. Would recommend the Italian that is on the edge of the site called Amici. Shame that the coffee shop on site closed down, so nowhere to buy drinks. Would recommend booking restaurants if you come in August. The local church is worth a visit where you can go inside and light a candle.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
Thank Sharon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2016

Spacious apartments about ten minutes walk from beach, two pools that had plenty of space, shade and loungers. Good sized balcony with sea view, but that would depend on where your apartment is in the complex. Apartment itself was bit dated but facilities and size made up for that. Also great value for summer holidays. Complex feels a bit jaded as poolside cafe is closed and for sale sign up. But we would definitely visit again if needed space with family.

Room Tip: Apartment facilities and views will vary, check carefully when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brooks72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2016 via mobile

Myself and two friends decided to do a break to portugal. We came across st.james apartments.
Very reasonably priced, quiet safe location. Enclosed pool area with key pad lock. The apartment itself had one double room and two single beds. Perfect for couples or fanilies. Everything we needed there. Washing machine, hair dryer, coffee maker!! Spacious apartment probably ten minutes from the restraunts & beach.
Will return here for sure.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Evelyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2015 via mobile

This place is great ..short stroll down to the beach plenty of restaurants in the town..

Loads of ex pats live in the apartments. .if you like golf you will love this area with a golf course seemingly every couple of miles..

Stayed: September 2014, travelled with family
Thank Stuart P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2015 via mobile

This is our 4th year at these apartments in Luz and we love it. The apartment we stay in is in block 3 (there are 5) and is 2 bed, 2 bath. There is an open plan lounge, dining area and kitchen (just separated by a breakfast bar) and it has 2 balconies (sun on 1 in the morning and the other smaller one in the afternoon) and it is very spacious. I would say that your apartment location could affect your experience if you are located near the bins or restaurants.

All the apartments appear to be privately owned and are never fully occupied (we've been in May & August). There are lots of English families here although that's probably more to do with the fact we come in the school holidays. We have 2 boys who love to make new friends so the fact there are other English families is good. The complex is well maintained and kept very clean.

The kids pool is a great size (about 50cm deep) and there is another deeper pool (about 1.5m deep) great for swimming lengths. There are 'walk-in steps' to both. In the summer there are pool attendants (check your apartment has access to the pool as not all of the owners pay for it).

The beach is about a 10 minute walk downhill and a bit longer on the uphill return! It's not bad though and there are ice cream stalls on the way!

There are 3 shops pretty close, a small one on Rua de Abril called O Celeiro, which sells most things (and does lovely pain au chocolat/croissants in a morning) then a Spar a bit further away and Baptista just behind, Baptista also have a fish shop and patisserie across the road.

The main pickup point for trips to Zoomarine, Slide & Splash etc is a 5 minute walk away by the church and it's the same place for the bus stop (a trip to Lagos is recommended) and taxi rank.

There are also loads of restaurants close by (in our opinion Dolphin, South African, great steak, is the best, you'll need to book though) and a pub called The Bull which shows sport.

The doctor and pharmacy is also close to the apartments.

All in all it's a great choice!!

Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
2  Thank Debs2135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2015

Read the reviewer's comments of the 26th Sept,2014, it says it all. We have just returned from the same apartment, it's a very nice apartment, home from home, we enjoyed our 10 day holiday, comfy bed. However there is road noise and noise when the bins are being emptied at 6 .00/ 6.30 if the patio doors are shut it helps lower the noise and if you are a heavy sleeper I doubt it would wake you. It woke me up as I'm a light sleeper, went back to sleep tho. I would stay here again, nice pool, short walk to bars restaurants and a nice little beach entrance next to the Bull. Restaurants worth visiting are The Dolphin, Paulos, and Fabrica' s. The Chinese is also nice if you fancy Chinese food one night. Clive' s bar down the road is also worth a visit good music, good measures and good cocktails. We enjoyed the view from the balcony and ate in a few times, as well as enjoying the local restaurants. Thanks David and Heather for sharing your apartment.

Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Gill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luz hotels
0.1 km away
Estrela da Luz
Estrela da Luz
#1 of 9 in Luz
636 reviews
1 km away
Hotel Baia da Luz
2.3 km away
Quinta Do Mar Da Luz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Hotel Belavista da Luz
1.1 km away
Luzmar Villas
Luzmar Villas
#5 of 9 in Luz
145 reviews
0.8 km away
Vilamar Hotel
Vilamar Hotel
#6 of 9 in Luz
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. James Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. James Apartments

Address: Praia da Luz, Luz, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Luz
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Luz
Number of rooms: 316

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing