We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely villa with excellent ameneties in an an...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
We have a selection of outdoor games equipment for use on the lawn and pool
The pool has lights allowing for a nighttime dip
Brick barbecue with preparation and outdoor dining area
The local beach at Praia da Luz
The local beach at Praia da Luz
View from the coastal path within walking distance of the house
Carrapateira (40min drive)
Lagos marina (10min drive)
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Luz, Faro District, Algarve

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
julian778
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely villa with excellent ameneties in an an area with lots to offer.”
Reviewed 28 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

The villa is very well located in a quiet area ,between Burgau and Luz ..To get the best out of the area
and take advantage of all the beaches, restaurants and places, then a car is a must.
We had a two weeks stay and the villa was exactly as described, so there were no problems.
We had a lovely holiday ,going to different beaches or sightseeing during the day and using
the large pool and gardens in the late afternoon, wonderful!.
The villa owners are well supported by a pool man/gardeners/and Fatima the housekeeper who is very reliable,
was there to greet us , and very reliable in changing sheets/towels and advice.
Ate out every night, usually in different restaurants ,all within twenty minutes drive max.
Will definitely look forward to coming back.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Oct 2016
Really good to hear that you enjoyed your stay! We look forward to seeing you again next year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CCW374
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A dismal experience”
Reviewed 12 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We booked the villa on the basis it was 'Under a 10 minute walk' (per original website statement) from the main resort, which turned out to be wildly inaccurate. We found it to be nearly a 40 minute trek into Luz and the main area where the restaurants are located. The web description on this has subsequently been changed, but too late for us.

The portable fans, bought in to replace the air conditioning which was not operating, were regretfully quite inadequate, and so noisy they had to be turned off at night. To try to cool down, we all would have slept downstairs, but one of the featured downstairs bedrooms was locked up and 'off limits' according to our local house manager, and on no account were we to use it.

The 'Satellite TV' as advertised was also not working, both ourselves and the house manager wrestled with various remote devices and cable links, all to no avail. While we are certainly not 'telly addicts', it would have been nice for the children to have watched the Olympics.

This is the seventh villa in ten years we have stayed at in Portugal, and the first time we have has occasion to complain. Yes, the property was clean and spacious, but the location and facilities were not up to the standard we had been led to expect, and overall offered extremely poor value for money.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Oct 2016
A mistake on our website did give the distance to Luz as less than it is. Google maps says it is approximately 22 mins, which is about how long it takes us to walk. When this mistake was brought to our attention before you arrived, we offered to cancel and give a full refund.

Air conditioning was never advertised and is not part of our rental package. The fans are all new and no noisier than any other fan, or indeed most air conditioning units.

Bedrooms surplus to the number of guests booked are kept locked but had you contacted us we are nearly always available, we could have arranged a change of bedrooms.

Our housekeeper has confirmed to us that the TV was working fine before and after your stay. She made no mention of this problem to us. Again, had you contacted us to tell us about the problem, we could have asked our housekeeper to check again, and show you how to use it.

We regret that your stay did not meet your expectations, but can only solve problems that we are told about.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannelore...
Hulst, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great house with pool!”
Reviewed 15 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We stayed one week at Casa Dora. The house is very convenient. The kitchen was well equiped. The terrace is great to sit & relax. Plenty of sunbeds around the pool. Quiet neighbourhood.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisset S
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great stay”
Reviewed 11 May 2016 for a stay in March 2016

I was positively surprised that the house itself is better in person than in the pictures (normally is the opposite). It has all the necessary to have a comfortable stay. The areas that I liked the most were the kitchen, that has a good size, and the pool area with the garden. I shared this time with really good friends and as it was only short time, I wished it never to end. The surrounding area is also really beautiful. The beach and stores are in a walking distance. I truly believe is the perfect space to relax and expend time with the family and/or friends.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 December 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The pool and BBQ
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Duncan G
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“You'll love the pool and the sun”
Reviewed 10 November 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This is a fantastic house. It was very spacious inside with lots of natural light.

I stayed here with a group of 4 friends and our favourite feature of this house, most definitely was the pool. It started off shallow, perfect for the vertically challenged, and finished a bit deeper at torso level for the tallest amongst us. The pool was always a welcome refresher after coming back from being burnt underneath the Portugese sun (in September).

The house was situated within reasonable distance of the shops in Luz; you could walk it, but I would recommend driving. If you're cycling, you should be warned though, only the fittest amongst us could cycle back up the hill (Portugal is very hilly).

We spent our time playing in the pool, visiting beaches, cliff walking and touring towns. I highly recommend visiting the fish market in Lagos (get there in the mornings for the best catch); the variety, freshness and sometimes randomness of some of the fish there is quite cool to a Brit like myself.

I suppose in any review I have to say what I liked least. I believe I was there during cricket season because some of the little ******s would jump into the house and make that noise keeping you up at night.

All in all, I would highly recommend this place. I know I would definitely come back for seconds.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool.
Liked least: Crickets
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;