We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Just stunning!”

Review of Villa Alto Mare

Pool upper level
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Pool upper level
The villa from Alaties Beach View from the living room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
34 reviews
Pool upper level
The villa from Alaties Beach
View from the living room
July sunset
Teck rattin white cotton and Greek blue
Entrance
Terrace upper level
The large living room
View from the pool
Internal stairs
Summer flower and Greek blue
infinity deck
Master bedroom
View North West from terrace ground level
Outdoor relaxing siesta bed
Alaties Beach, 400 meters from the villa
Catherine's kitchen
Alaties rocks view from the terrace
Villa Alto Mare. View from the sea
Fiscardo village, 8 km from the villa, 10 minutes drive
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Fiscardo, Cephalonia, Ionian Islands

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jane A
Birmingham
1 review
“Just stunning!”
Reviewed September 19, 2012 for a stay in September 2012

I stayed at Villa Alto Mare for week commencing 09/09/12 with my parents, brother, boyfriend and his parents. This villa is better than the photos. When you first arrive the view is just incredible. The decor inside and out is beautiful. Little Atalies beach at the bottom of the hill is perfect for swimming and snorkelling and the lady who runs the Taverna at Atalies beach is lovely! You have everything you need to enjoy a relaxing holiday close by... however if you want to explore - the north of the island is so picturesque. Don't miss out on having Katerina the maid cook a traditional Greek meal for you one evening! Such good value and really tasty.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ljrNLincs
N Lincs
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Beautiful peaceful villa - an unwinding type of holiday.”
Reviewed September 17, 2012 for a stay in September 2012

Stayed here in Sept 2012 in a party of seven. This villa's prized feature is its location, several hundred metres up on a headland with very little adjacent to it.. The view is an uninterupted panorama of over 180 degrees west out over the coast and the sea so the sunsets are glorious. The villa is on 2 levels with bedrooms below, some in a self contained "flatlet" with its own pool and veranda, whilst on the upper floor is the lounge, dining area & kitchen. A second larger pool is outside and there is a large outside seating area with shady and sunny areas. There are plentiful cushioned seats, two outside dining areas and sun loungers galore.
This villa is beautifully appointed, the owner clearly has design skills. All is very clean and well equipped. The kitchen lacked for nothing. The pools were clean and well cared for. The rooms themselves were v comfortable, the aircon and the fans all worked very efficiently although in Sept we just slept with the windows open and the insect screens across the windows which was very comfortable way to sleep - listening to the sea. Compared with the surrounding towns this was virtually a wasp free zone and the mozzy nuisance was fairly minimal, quite a few bats flitted about in late evening which we much enjoyed. There were no scavaging dogs around and particularly there was nothing howling in the night, it was very very quiet. If you get a clear night the starfield is as good as I've seen for many years.
There is a 5 min walk down to a small cove where one could snorkel safely, very clear water, plenty of small fish and on one occasion an octopus. There is a small taverna by the cove. The next cove south is also very pleasant with a very nice taverna with excellent fresh fish although it was a little plagued by wasps. The nearest supemarket and greengocer are a 5-10 min drive away, the town of Fiscardo is a 15 min drive; parking there is easy and free, the pretty harbour is covered in restaurants on the water's edge. There is also a supermarket, bakers, post office and at least 2 ATMs (Berlitz says there are no ATMs - it is out of date). I didn't meet anyone who couldn't handle basic English. If you wish there is a diving school & boat hire although we tried neither.
The tourist site that is Myrtos beach is a 30-40 min drive, the pretty village of Assos is a little closer on the same road.
The owner was very helpful; she arranged taxis for us (E15 per car for the trip to Fiskardo) and for a superb in-house dinner which ended up at about E180 for (I think) 6 courses for 7 people with all the cooking serving and cleaning up done for us. The traditional Greek food was tremendous, so much better than anything we had in most tavernas and much better value. Personally I would have been happy to eat like that every night but I suspect I would have come home a stone heavier I would also recommend the small car hire company known to the owner; whilst those of us using Hertz had a 90 min exercise picking up their car, mine was in the car park with the key under the mat - just get in and drive off!
Downsides - very minimal, Greek plumbing neccesitates lack of flushing for tissue, but that is standard over most of the country, the fridge took a while to get the beer cold but but I suspect this was a voltage issue. Considering the adventures one can have when straying from a UK enviroment this was nothing.
The peninsula on which this villa stands is relatively isolated from the rest of the island by what to English eyes are a fairly ropey set of roads so this isn't a good base for exploring the entire island (which is anyway quite large) but for a relaxing, peaceful gentle holiday this would be very very difficult to beat.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and quiet
Liked least: Can't think of anything
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucia H
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Totally breathtaking”
Reviewed September 15, 2012 for a stay in August 2012

Words cannot describe how beautiful villa alto mare and it's surroundings are. We arrived to be greeted warmly by Catherine the owner who showed us around. I think we were just taken aback by the views which surrounded us. Everything we required was at the villa which is immaculate. Our children ( three boys aged 3,7 &8) were delighted with the swimming pools as were we! The sunsets were stunning and even managed to keep the boys quiet as they watched. The area is wonderfully quiet, only the music of the sea. We would not hesitate to return and would go as far to say this is the best holiday destination we have been to.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The privacy of the villa incorporating breathtaking 180 degree views
Liked least: That we were only there for a week!
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guy C
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Still amazing on our 2nd visit!”
Reviewed September 15, 2012 for a stay in September 2012

Having had such an amazing time at this wonderful Villa we decided to return for a second visit. Personally we think it would be difficult to find better accommodation... anywhere! Strong praise indeed, but I'm sure you would agree. The photos (which are stunning) do not do the place justice. It has to be experienced to truly understand why we love this place so much. The views, the sunshine, the colours, the smells the privacy - stunning!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dentist1...
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Bliss, no, super bliss!!!”
Reviewed July 31, 2012 for a stay in July 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Second time at Villa Alto Mare in two years and won't be our last. Catherine has that magical touch and balance of always being on hand if needed, but gives you space to enjoy the tranquility and ambience.

Having read the latest reviews, I and Fiona, my wife, can completely agree with all comments and am very happy to add our views.

What a Villa!!!

We are seasoned travellors and we were blown away with the Villa's standard and location last year, hence our return this year.

It really has everything you need for a relaxing and tranquil holiday, but is near enough to local places to experience the local Greek hospitality and delicacies.

An added bonus this year was the "in house" cooking of Katherina NOT to be missed, a fantastic evening, with her husband to give a helping hand, a trully memorable evening.

We cannot praise Catherine or the Villa enough and "We will return".

If you wish car hire, and you will, ask Catherine to give you details of Koula Zambali Ainos Travel Rental car which you pick up and return to the Airport, fantastic value and service.

Don't just take our word for it, go and see for yourselves!!

Many thanks Catherine, we will see you soon.

Kind regards

Dr Paul and Fiona Mayor

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Only two weeks, but there is always next-time!!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TRIPSWITH...
Annapolis, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“WORLD CLASS ACCOMODATIONS”
Reviewed July 20, 2012 for a stay in June 2012
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and I have been traveling internationally and staying in vacation rental homes for decades. This is one of the most beautiful and memorable locations at which we have ever stayed. The home is unique in design and decoration, and its location, hanging over the sea on Kefalonia, is awe inspiring. All of that is made all the more remarkable by the attention to detail and service provided by the owner.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location of the home.
Liked least: Having to leave.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miggins55
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great villa, great location”
Reviewed July 2, 2012 for a stay in June 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Villa Alto Mare is one of the very best villas we have stayed at. It felt more like a real home rather than a holiday let. The views are splendid - probably even better than described. It was so peaceful, quiet and private. The villa is stylish, well furnished and stocked and Catherine gave us a great tip on burning coffee to deter the occasional wasp. We found her very friendly and helpful but she left us alone to enjoy or holiday as we preferred. Cleaning was very thorough, the house is clearly looked after and it was good to have small touches like washing up liquid, cloths and washing powder provided, all adding to the homely touch.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: The pool man visiting every day (although he was very nice and did a great job!)
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing