We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (965)
Filter reviews
967 results
Traveller rating
512
266
111
49
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
512
266
111
49
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviews amber rooms patio doors restaurant manager decking area overlooking the sea lovely view function room afternoon tea family room evening meal couldn t scones fantastic stay sunday lunch cleveland way one night stay fish and chips
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 967 reviews
Reviewed October 27, 2020

We have just returned from an amazing stay at the hotel. Right from the minute we entered we felt welcome and safe. The staff all knew exactly what they were doing and the processes were well thought out and simple to follow. Visitors were shown individually to their rooms so everything was clear. The room was immaculately clean, with hand sanitizers everywhere. We ate dinner and breakfast at the hotel and again, we ordered from the table using QR code but there was still some interaction with staff so it felt cosy and welcoming but very safe. A lot of tables have been moved so there's loads of space (probably a lot more than they have to have). They clearly care about the visitors and the staff and have got the balance between customer service and safety spot on . We had a brilliant time and will be back as soon as we can. Well done to you all and thank you.

Room tip: Room 4 is highly recommended, lovely view
Date of stay: October 2020
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Boxy1808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 26, 2020 via mobile

We arrived at The Spa Hotel and were shown to our room. On arrival to the room it was perfectly clear that this room had not been cleaned or attended to from the departure of the previous guests.

The bed had clearly been slept in, rubbish was in the bin, cups had been used and were incredibly dirty.

Thankfully they offered a full refund and we left within 5 minutes of being shown to the room.

If this is the standard for paying guests I dread to fear what the standard is like for passing trade.

A full report will be given to the HSE.

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank AdamRyder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen Green, General Manager at The Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2020

Adam

What a cruel review!! I am trying to choose my words carefully as review sites have this wonderful system whereby guests can say what they want but owners have to mind their P's and Q's. But are you literally insane? This was a simple miscommunication between housekeeping and reception about which rooms had been cleaned. We weren't expecting you to stay in a room that hadn't been cleaned. We are a hotel for god's sake never mind a hotel working through a pandemic. The mistake was picked up on immediately by the receptionist and you were taken back to reception to wait for the room to be cleaned. You chose not to wait. It's hard enough running a hotel during these times without having to deal with this kind of utter nonsense.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 26, 2020

We arrived here Friday afternoon in the pouring rain and werent able to check in for an hour so I went in and ordered hot chocolates while we waited in the car. 10/15 mins later Dawn came out to tell us our room was ready.
The hotel has a one way system so people dont pass each other in the corridors, and it works, until people (a few over the weekend) didn't abide by those rules and so I chose not to either a couple of times. We stayed in room 10 which was lovely. It smelt amazing on arrival which we can only assume had been sprayed with a room spray. It was a nice touch.

Friday night, rather than sit in the restaurant with our 2 dalmatians, we decided to go out and get a takeaway. Which, ideally, they're all located down the same 2 streets only a 6-10 min walk from the hotel.

We slept fantastic although we were concerned that the amount of banging and clattering coming from the surrounding rooms was making our dogs bark.

Breakfast next morning was plentiful, we took advantage of the B&B aspect. Soy & Oat milk was no issue so we were happily satisfied with cereal. Our cooked options though, were a bit hit and miss. I had eggs benedict with smoked salmon and spinach. The eggs were overcooked and the spinach hadn't been washed so it was gritty. Not a great start. The fruit pot was small and lacklustre, so we fed it to our dogs.

Saturday night we had to go to reception a couple of times as there was a brand new car parked outside our patio doors, so close that if we opened it, it would hit the bonnet. Luckily, we were careful, we had asked reception to find out who the car belonged to so they could move it, needless to say, Sunday morning when we were due to check out, it still hadn't been moved. Turns out they were two doors down from us.

Sunday morning's breakfast was still a bit hit and miss, again I had eggs benedict with smoked salmon. The eggs were both undercooked and overcooked, the hollandaise sauce was stone cold and the muffins were like bricks. Not a great end to a nice weekend.

Checkout was simple all I had to do was leave our patio door keys and key card at reception. I even spoke to the General Manager who had heard about our varying concerns, now all they have to do is try and put them into practice.

Our first, and most important suggestion was that they put fridges in the dog friendly rooms. It's all well and good being 'dog friendly' but other than the 'doggy menu' in the restaurant serving pawsecco, doggy popcorn and the like, they dont actually CATER for dogs. Having fridges in the rooms would enable RAW dog food to be kept cold. (we had this issue from the get go as they are both raw fed and the food went off very quickly because the room and bathroom were warm).

Also for a hotel with 26 rooms, a function room AND spa...the thing they lack is a decent sized car park. For 26 rooms they have about 16 parking spaces, what they should do is allocate room numbers to the car parking spaces at the back so each dog friendly room has their car parked outside the exact patio door.

The hotel overall was comfy, clean-ish, maybe a tad too warm and they certainly don't scrimp on breakfast but the only way we would stay again is if our dogs were able to be catered for the same as the guests.

Also, the guest book missing in our room would've allowed us to find suggestions for places to eat, drink, take the dogs for walks (besides the obvious beach).

Date of stay: October 2020
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ceri_Pearce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 25, 2020

This hotel is a real gem. We had a lovely break. The rooms have recently been refurbished I believe and our room (5) was very large and beautifully decorated. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The hotel is walking distance to the beach which was amazing. Very covid secure and clean.

Date of stay: October 2020
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank j0h59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 24, 2020 via mobile

We stayed here on a short family holiday. The staff are wonderful. Team bubble and espically Stephen looked after our every need. Would recommend if you like long walks and have a dog!
The food is is fantastic! The parma was devoured and the oreao cheesecake hit the spot!

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank eesharules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews