We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful Retreat”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Treetops

pavement view
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
pavement view
pavement view view from rooftop terrace across iconic Huntclif
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
18 reviews
pavement view
pavement view
view from rooftop terrace across iconic Huntclif
twin double bedroom with ensuite bath and shower room
master bedroom with ensuite shower and bathroom
shower with power massage and sauna in both bathrooms
double ended bath in both bathrooms
lounge area with twin relaxers
double doors from lounge to balcony
staircase wide easy access  down to bedrooms
entrance hall
dining area
dining area with seating for 8
dining kitchen area
Luxury well equipped kitchen , with fridge ,freezer ,dishwasher and washer dryer
kitchen
marble tiled bathrooms
lounge  with several  leather sofas
Private Rooftop Terrace with amazing views , sun loungers ,picnic tables , chairs and barbecue
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Saltburn-by-the-Sea, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Henry S
Arnold, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful Retreat”
Reviewed October 31, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
2
people found this review helpful

A perfect holiday home! A great central location with a feel of woodlands seclusion. Wonderful views from the roof top overlook. Plenty of room for family gatherings at the spacious dining room table. World class design and facilities.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrsEnty
Preston, Lancashire
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great location but lacks tlc”
Reviewed August 22, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
7
people found this review helpful

Ok let's start with the positives Treetops is a very comfortable, new holiday home in a great location. However as we come towards the end of the summer season, the property lacked some tlc which was very disappointing considering the high price paid. Generally the housekeeping was poor, the floors had not been swept or mopped from the previous stayers which resulted in crumbs, dust bunnies and other detritus that I tried not to look too closely at (particularly the cobwebs and dead spiders). I was going to scrub the house from top to bottom but hubby stopped me. The floor from the naked eye seemed ok, until I spilt a bit of water that I mopped up with kitchen towel and it came up black yuk!,,

Furthermore there were a litany of annoying maintenance repairs needed so either the housekeeper is not feeding info back to owner or he is waiting until the winter in preparation for next season, again when paying top prices you expect close to perfection. List includes, broken bin lid so you couldn't close it, broken wardrobe knob, broken shower head holder in one shower and leaking shower head in the other, damp patches above the window (contractor actually walked into the house without knocking one day as he was meeting the owner on the roof, I wasn't impressed, admittedly the owner did knock on the door 15 mins later to xplain what was going on). Furthermore the upstairs toilet had a really bad blocked drain smell, which was quite powerful (toilet was not used by us for this reason).

The showers are over complicated and obviously a nightmare to clean as the massage jets where thick with black mildew as where the shower seals. A good powerful walk in shower is all that is needed. Also if you have anyone in your party who has slight mobility issue (80 year old father) the stairs are steep and find it a struggle.

I have to say that if the place is given a deep clean and is cleaned properly between guests and the niggly maintenance issues resolved, as well as replace the showers (or ensure they can be spotlessly cleaned) then treetops would have got 5 stars. Beds very comfortable it's spacious and modern and situated in a great location, just terribly disappointed that despite paying over £800 for one week stay, it wasn't kept to the high standard that others who stayed earlier in the year enjoyed!!!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesley T
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“What a lovely lovely place to be!”
Reviewed May 30, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
3
people found this review helpful

This accommodation was fabulous for us all. Much larger than expected and superb layout so we didn't feel crowded at all. Lovely just having the large entrance area and large cupboard to put our shoes and coats immediately in the foyer to keep the place tidy.The place is situated in 'the' best spot in Saltburn it was fabulous for the dog walks and kids adventure walks/zip wire!. Great for us adults with shops and excellent facilities(pubs, restaurants, bakeries) just strides away. The library/tourist info is really really excellent especially for kids with crafts and play areas going on, and the staff are most welcoming. You can even pop in for free herbs etc for your cooking that evening!! Brilliant views. Everybody passing by looks in and at the building,it's very impressive. All the locals are lovely and friendly. It's a safe and lovely place to be.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapetownM...
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“PERFECT BREAK”
Reviewed April 8, 2014 for a stay in March 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We had not been to Saltburn for years so stumbling across this new cottage was a great find to us we really enjoyed our small break.
Treetops is situated close to all amenities but maintains a very private feel, the views from the property are amazing, and it’s an easy walk to the beach and Victorian gardens.

The owners met us as agreed, they are obviously passionate about the area as they have built this cottage to mirror the architecture of what used to be the Zetland hotel opposite. They escorted us inside and gave us a full explanation on how everything worked, they were also kind enough to recommend local bars and restaurants.

Our room had a great King sized bed and an en suite bathroom with bath and shower, the fittings were lovely, we stayed alone but the other bedroom looked perfect for another couple or kids.

The kitchen came fully equipped right down to a dishwasher, The lounge was very comfortable and was equipped with a great TV.

The roof terrace is a great place to unwind and came with a BBQ.

This brought back many happy memories of Saltburn and makes us want to return again come summertime.
Thoroughly recommended!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The personal touch
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane T
Gibraltar
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely Fabulous”
Reviewed April 4, 2014 for a stay in April 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Wonderful property, tastefully furbished, excellent facilities, helpful and friendly service manager, all over first class!! Very happy.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KristinY7...
Denver, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Started well, ended badly”
Reviewed April 2, 2014 for a stay in March 2014
2
people found this review helpful

First of all this property is gorgeous and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The problem arose when we arrived home. We traveled from the United States, so after arriving home and checking our credit card statement. We found a charge of 200 pounds that we hadn't authorized. We had received no email or phone call from the property. My husband called to find out that they said our children broke 2 beds. Upon receiving pictures, we discovered that the books we had seen piled under the beds in the kids room. Had been supporting the bed frames, and they were accusing us of breaking the beds. Renters beware if you have small children. We would of been happy to pay the charge had we actually broken a bed. instead we were charged for damage that wasn't done by us. The owner was not receptive and had not actually seen the photos or the property. But was going by what his staff said. I wouldn't recommend staying here after that experience.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: As I stated, the property was gorgeous and we loved it. Until we got home.
Liked least: The owners customer service skills seriously lack. Charging our card without permission was a big no no
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Apr 2014
Thank you for your excellent review of the facilities at Treetops.
However we are sorry that you saw fit to give such an overall judgement on your stay .
We have owned and operated holiday accommodation in Saltburn for the last 25 years . As our previous ,and in fact your own review describes as gorgeous, ,reviews on Treetops and The Outlook show we have provided a good quality well managed ,standard of accommodation .
Our current housekeeper has worked with us for many years during which time hundreds of change overs have been undertaken.
Pictures of these beds ,which where forwarded immediately on your request, show that these beds could not have been used for the duration of this stay as is suggested.
We have experienced other minor breakages in the past non of which have been charged, and in this instance the charge was kept to an absolute minimum.
With the full facts we trust that any potential customers will form there own opinion of the standard of accommodation that we provide and the level to which we can be trusted to do so
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous place to stay.”
Reviewed January 4, 2014 for a stay in December 2013
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed at Treetops with my family over the New Year period. The property is extremely confortable and spacious with a well-equipped kitchen. Its hilltop location affords lovely views and it is within walking distance of Saltburn's beach, shops and other amenities. I would recommend this property and would certainly come back again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing