We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Wedding Day and Stay!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hunley Hotel and Golf Club

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hunley Hotel and Golf Club
Certificate of Excellence
Skelton-in-Cleveland, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wedding Day and Stay!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

Staff were extremly helpful and friendly. They went the extra mile to not only make us feel welcome, but to mke our wedding guests as comfortable as possible. They made everything perfect, shame they couldn't control the weather for us!!! The room we stayed in for the night was gorgeous. A large spacous room (one of their top rated rooms), which had recently been refurbed! beautiful views out over the golf course, and out towards the cliffs and sea!! Perfect!!

Room Tip: The more you pay for a room, the better the view, and bigger the room. Some of our wedding guests wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mrs_Leighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    237
    103
    37
    17
    7
See reviews for
68
130
5
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2012

I was given a groupen voucher as a gift for a one nights stay at The Hunley. I recieved very poor customer service whilst trying to make the booking and on arrival i explained this to the receptionist on the check in desk! She promptly offered us complimentry breakfasts and told us how sorry she were that we had been treated the way we had. She escorted us to our room which we found to be very small and tired, i have stayed in better travel lodges at a fraction of the price. Upon checkout i was advised that i owed for two breakfasts and found myself having to explain that we had been given complimentry breakfasts because of all the trouble we had trying to book this room, which i found rather embarassing as there were several other people behind me waiting to checkout and i sensed she didnt believe me. I will not be staying there again!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank whizza56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2012

Stayed two nights DBB with three rounds of golf. Cannot fault the hotel, the service, the food or the staff. Even the weather was superb! Would thoroughly recommend this venue to anyone, especially for a golfing break.
It was a first class two day break with stunning views. The menu for breakfast and dinner offered unusual and mouthwatering dishes with a local flavour.
Fantastic value for money, already planning next trip.
Many thanks to all the staff who could not do enough to make our stay so enjoyable.
Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Request a room with a fabulous sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 840Kathleen14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesborugh
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

Me and my partner went here using a voucher off groupon. We up graded the room from a standard and I couldnt fault it. Was a real nice hotel, food looked lovely but we were going out to eat.

If i was going to pick a fault some of the hall ways could do with redecorating and the standard rooms are really small.

But i would definately stay here again highly recommended

Room Tip: Go for an executive room. There bigger and nicer
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank channi_c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2012

The Hunley is an absolutely splendid hotel and a real delight to come across. I had a large and well furnished room; the food was good and served in a restaurant with a stunning sea view; very helpful staff; what more could I want for an overnight stop?

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rhh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berwick-upon-Tweed, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

The room I stayed in was a good size. There was a double bed which was in fact 2 singles pushed together. This meant that the bedside tables that had been positioned for a twin room were more than an arm's reach from the bed. The bed was very comfortable.

The room had good storage with a wardrobe including a drawer unit, further drawers, hanging space and luggage storage space. There was a TV with 5 fuzzy analogue channels. The usual kettle, sachets of tea/coffee/uht milk etc

My room was at the rear of the hotel and was quiet at night.

The bathroom had a bath and shower. Some of the grouting on the tiles was yellowed and there was paint peeling from the walls near the ceiling but otherwise it was clean and functional. Some basic toiletries were provided and the bath sheet was huge and fluffy. The shower was powerful but the temperature was difficult to regulate the 2nd time I used it.

Free wifi was provided and worked well with my phone but stubbornly refused to work with laptop.

I had a continental breakfast which was OK but the range of cereals was limited e.g. no hi fibre option.

I ate one bar meal which was tasty and reasonably priced.

The hotel is a notch above a Premier Inn or similar and rack rates are competitive.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank adsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

We hadnt booked anywhere for our wedding night so my hubbys family said they would sort something for us.. They booked us a room here!..

We arrived about 11.15pm- there was a really loud band/disco on in the room downstairs, this wasn't a problem as that is what the room was there for.. what was a problem though was hearing it in the room!! We were soo tried after such a long day we just wanted to go to sleep but found it difficult with the noise level and other loud guests going back and forth to their rooms.

The room itself was as average as any other b+b and the bed was comfortable + clean. it had all the usual things that b+b's consist off- kettle etc!

We had breakfast in bed- a full english breakfast this was nice and they sent some jugs of freah juice up which was also nice.

The staff werent brilliant- I was trying to carry my wedding dress as well as a little suit case and not one of them thought to help as they seen me struggling to get down the stairs all i got was "are you two the bride and groom" !!

I personally wouldnt stay here again but it would be ok if you were attending a party there and needed somewhere to stay after.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sophiejsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saltburn-by-the-Sea
2.8 km away
The Spa Hotel
The Spa Hotel
#2 of 5 in Saltburn-by-the-Sea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
2.8 km away
Brockley Hall Hotel
Brockley Hall Hotel
#1 of 5 in Saltburn-by-the-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
7.8 km away
Gisborough Hall Hotel
Gisborough Hall Hotel
#1 of 2 in Guisborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.6 km away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,795 reviews
9.1 km away
The Endeavour Restaurant with Rooms
12.3 km away
Cliffemount Hotel
Cliffemount Hotel
#1 of 2 in Runswick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hunley Hotel and Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hunley Hotel and Golf Club

Property: Hunley Hotel and Golf Club
Address: Ings Lane | Brotton, Saltburn-by-the-Sea TS12 2FT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Saltburn-by-the-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Saltburn-by-the-Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hunley Hotel and Golf Club 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Near Middlesbrough, Stockton and Whitby, Hunley has stunning views of the North Yorkshire Coast. The public areas at Hunley Hotel have been refurbished in 2010.It offers a championship golf course, locally sourced food, friendly service and free Wi-Fi.Each room has a flat-screen TV with digital Freeview channels.The golf course has 29 holes. The club has a driving range, buggies, coaching and a shop.Hunley Hotel is a short drive from the North York Moors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HRS, Priceline, LateRooms, Booking.com and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Hunley Hotel and Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hunley Hall Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing