We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Another glorious stay...perfect”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
42 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Caravan/mobile home -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Boat of Garten, Aviemore, Badenoch and Strathspey, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 42 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Hollyday0...
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Another glorious stay...perfect”
Reviewed November 18, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We returned after 18 months since our last stay!! We fell in love the first time and knew it would be criminal not to make it a regular family break!!

To the reviewer that left 1 star I am totally shocked!! I'm guessing they either were in the wrong caravan, or have no idea that they booked a holiday in a static caravan, or have never experienced what is involved in a SELF CATERING holiday!! I found their review completely rude to the attentive owners who have been very helpful with us! When considering reviews before booking please ignore their rude comments as we can vouch that we have always arrived to a pristine beautifully kept holiday caravan and have always known to take our own towels. I think a bit of ignorance on their part is to blame on the review! How they can complain about a cockerel I'll never know, it makes me laugh...it's like booking a beach holiday and complaining about the sound of the sea!!

Anyway....Since our last stay our family has grown by 1 making our group size 2 adults, 1 busy 3 year old and a 6 month old baby.

As expected we were extremely comfortable in this immaculate caravan. Everything you need is in the kitchen for cooking, and we found there to be PLENTY of space even with our increased group size!

Out first born is not a great sleeper but sure enough slept soundly while away which to me is the biggest complimentary review possible.

You only have to turn the thermostat up to make the place lovely and toasty and to get hot water...just like you would at home, it really isn't rocket science!

Anyway we will definitely return again next year!! Highly recommended and exceptional value for money!

Already we can't wait.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoonSmith
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Overall very happy”
Reviewed November 7, 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Overall we were very happy with our stay of 3 nights during our October half term week. Reading the previous review...we had a completely different experience in many ways - well supplied..including lots of toilet paper, and we knew in advance that towels were not supplied, which is fair enough; was warm; everything (heating, to etc.) was very easy to work and beds and sofa very comfy :). The only thing I would agree with is that the second room would not have been great for two adults as the beds were very narrow and, yes, no space to move around once beds are in there...also door doesn't close with two beds in. This was no problem at all for us as we had our two children in that room and they loved it. Two adults could of course have slept in the sofa bed on the lounge so I would recommend that as an alternative for four adults booking. The other thing was that most of the cupboards we would have put food in were filled with the owners or previous guests things. I think it's great for people to leave things that are not perishable that they have not finished (tea, coffee, sugar , the odd tin..) as this is environmentally sustainable and avoids waste..but I think the owner needs to keep a bit of an eye that cupboards don't get too full...also there was one cupboard full of wine and beer which I assume was not free for our use :). Having said this, it was ok for us just for a few days as we didn't need to store much, but I would have been a bit cross of we were staying a week...Our gripes would be very easily fixed by the owner though and it would not put me off staying again.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exilelass
Victoria, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Never again”
Reviewed October 12, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We booked this caravan as a suitable spot to meet friends. It is advertised as two bedroom, two bathroom, sleeps 6 unit which is what we wanted.
We arrived ahead of our friends and, on first glance over the main area, it looked suitable for our needs. When we went through to the bedrooms, our opinion changed.

This unit is NOT 2 bed/2 bath rooms, it is one bedroom, one en suite loo, one bathroom (very small) and one cupboard suitable only for small children.
We gave our friends the bedroom, which was certainly roomy enough, but the other room was too small for two adults to move in at one time. There was no way to turn around between the beds. My husband slept the first night on the bed by the window, but was frozen as there is little, if any, insulation. He also could not stretch his legs out as the wardrobe was at the foot of the bed and the bed was too short. There was nowhere else to put the wardrobe as the room as tiny.
The second night he slept on the other bed, but was woken every time I wanted to go to the loo, as his feet were sticking out beyond the bed end and overhanging the door. He is 6'.

The beds were equipped with plastic undersheets and synthetic duvets to ensure a good night's sweat.

Neither loo had toliet paper and there were no bath towels for anyone. There were 4 sheets of kitchen paper and no bin bags, although there was rubbish stuck to the bottom of the bin.

We then set about unloading the car and looking for places to put the weekend's food. Three cupboards had previous occupant's food in them. No cupboard was clean and the dishes, cutlery and glasses were filthy. Several of the drawers had old onion skins and other detritus in them.
The glasses required three washings to get the grease off them and two dinner plates slipped out of my hand when I lifted then, so greasy were they.

The floor needed sweeping and washing and the carpet in the lounge area was stained with that looked like red wine.

There were no instructions on how to operate anything, so after much fiddling we gave up on the central heating and hot water even though the place was freezing and the water cold. We thought a Rugby World Cup game may distract us as we worked, but we could not figure out the complex TV boxes, both of which were too sticky to handle anyway.

Several flies made their dissatisfaction with the caravan know as we worked to clean the place ahead of our friend's arrival, although their numerous dead compatriots were beyond complaint.

Cleaning was challenging as there was no dish washing soap, nor cloth; although there was a 'rag' which may have provided Mme. Curie with interesting material for study.

Our friends wanted to add the extra duvet to their bed when they arrived, due to how cold it was, but the stains on the cover, which looked like dried blood, put them right off.

We called the owner to complain about the state of the place and to get instructions on how to heat us and the water. They were surprised by our complaints and gave us the information we needed to stave off hypothermia. They also said they would refund half the cost of the booking.

The following morning we were all wakened at 5am by the sound of the Manx TT outside our bedroom windows. Turned out to be a 'man with a van', but the noise of it starting at the time of day was startling.
What followed was worse. For the next half hour, two, or three, men loaded, what sounded like a brick yard and the biggest tin can recycling depot in the UK, into the back of said van. They were chucking the stuff into the back of the van with no thought whatsoever for sleeping people.
Being yelled at to be quiet had little effect.

Shortly after they left, at about 5:40, the cockerel in the neighbouring garden thought it time to wake those who had slept through the flitting. He took this duty seriously and attended to it daily at around 5:45am.

Due to lack of bath towels we had had to make a shopping trip to Aviemore in search of drying materials, the best available being tea towels from Tesco. For the next three days four adults dried themselves after their morning shower with non-absorbent tea towels.

At one point the help and assistance of the woman in the front office was sought, but the rude, sneering snarl with which such request was met ensured we did not go back.
Not the best example of English womanhood.

I suppose if one owns a caravan, flat or house but is not resident in the area and cannot check on the work of those employed to maintain it can come as a shock to have complaints of this nature, but that is part of the business of owning a rental property.
We appreciated the good natured response from the owners and their offer of a refund.

However, the glowing reports from others who have stayed here made us wonder if they, or we, had inadvertantly occupied the wrong van.
We would certainly not recommend this caravan.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Leaving.
Liked least: Staying.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Oct 2015
Obviously you cannot please everyone ! In 2 years we have Never had any complaints about cleanliness , we ourselves go and clean carpets , windows , inside and out , power wash and paint decking , clean All furniture , inside and out !! The rest of the time ,as the holiday home is booked throughout the year , it is cleaned very well after each booking and before the next 1 arrives .. We have never had any complaints about this before . This is a Self-Catering holiday caravan , and though we aim to supply the basics ie bedding , electricity , gas and water (washing machine in van) , we do not pretend to supply Everything that Everyone requires !!! We cannot control the surrounding wildlife :
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ronpoole
New York
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great place and location, but hands-off hosts”
Reviewed September 8, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

I spent three nights there with my husband and teenage kids. It was comfortable, quiet and pleasant, and the location is great. Only remark is that the host was out of the country, and only left a brief note about the TV / DVD. Meanwhile there was no toilet paper, and the hot water was almost off, but we did not know it (figured it out eventually). Tried to call, text and email her, but it took almost 24 hours to get a response.
Having said that, this may have been an unusual case, and altogether did not spoil our vacation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cosy living room
Liked least: Unresponsive host
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
evelyne60...
Saint-Genest-Lerpt, France
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful - Merveilleux !”
Reviewed August 19, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We stay there 3 days, with my husband and my 2 daughters, we came from France a very good location, very quiet, very clean ! It was just wonderful !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Tout était très bien, le lieu, la propreté, rien à redire
Travelling group: En famille avec adolescent(s)
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DawnMaree
Kirkwall, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent Place to Stay”
Reviewed July 20, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Boat of Garten is a lovely village, in a great part of Scotland. It has nice amenities and is close to many great family friendly activities. The caravan itself was gorgeous and extremely well-equipped. The park it is situated in was lovely with a great little on-site shop. The whole thing offered excellent value for money. I would highly recommend staying here and we plan to return next year for a longer stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Quality of caravan's fixtures and fittings
Liked least: Lack of wi-fi/internet
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary L
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
“Very clean and laid out caravan with all the requirements you would need.”
Reviewed July 14, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Stayed in this caravan with my wife and 3 of our grand daughters, very spacious very clean and full of all the appliances you would require, would definately book again.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing