We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch”
Review of The Plough

The Plough
Ranked #9 of 92 Restaurants in Congleton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$30
Cuisines: Pub
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed April 4, 2018 via mobile

Very nice attentive customer service. I’m gluten free and the staff ensured that I was able to have what I wanted with choices . Had the most delicious lamb. Thoroughly recommended

1  Thank JohnJohnCor1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose L, General Manager at The Plough, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2018

Dear JohnJohnCor1,
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review.
We are so glad you enjoyed your meal here at The Plough, as we make all our dishes in house we are fortunate enough to be able to adapt most dishes to be gluten free so it is great to hear you appreciated this.
Thank you for the recommendation and hopefully we will see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (185)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 185 reviews

Reviewed April 3, 2018 via mobile

Visited with my husband after hearing great reviews from here. Couldnt fault my food although my husband said his was a little salty I tried it but thought it was ok. The outside of the building looks lovely and inviting, the inside just needs a deep clean and some tlc. The chairs were sticky and the pictures on the wall were dusty and the bar could do with a polish. The service was pleasant enough although when we wanted to order more drinks had to go up to the bar to order ourselves.

Thank Dawnsmithy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose L, General Manager at The Plough, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2018

Dear Dawnsmithy2,
Thank you for taking the time to review The Plough.
We take all feedback on board and try to improve where we can. We are glad that you enjoyed your food and thank you for your kind words regarding the outside of the building.
We have just undergone a full refurbishment of our whole dining area and it is fully cleaned every morning by the same team. This review, along with the one prior to this is the first time the cleanliness of the pub has been brought to our attention since we have had all this work done so we are very sorry to hear this. It would be so helpful if you would be able to get in touch and let us know more details regarding where you were sat and when you visited so we can look into this.
Thank you for your kind comments regarding the service however again, we would like to apologize that you had to get drinks from the bar, this is certainly not up to our standards and we would like to ensure you this is a one off.
If you would like to get in touch it would either be manager@theploughinncheshire.com or on 01260280207. Hopefully we can resolve this and you would be willing to give The Plough another chance and we can live up to our usual reputation for high quality food and service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 24, 2018 via mobile

Ok! Best to avoid busy times.
The chips are delicious but service is slow and the chairs could do with a polish.. bit sticky!

Thank JenninhaVillar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose L, General Manager at The Plough, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2018

Dear JenninhaVillar,
Thank you for taking the time to review The Plough.
We take all feedback, positive or negative on board. It is always disheartening to read reviews like this and to hear someone has not enjoyed their time here.
We would really appreciate it if you could get in touch with more details regarding your visit as our restaurant area is cleaned thoroughly every morning by our cleaning team and it is rare that we hear complaints regarding the cleanliness so it would be very helpful to know where you were sat so we can look into this.
We would like to apologize that you found the service slow, this is not our normal standard as you can see from other reviews so it would be helpful to know when your visit was.
Hopefully we can speak and resolve this and you would give The Plough another chance so that we can deliver our usual high standard of food and service.
To get in touch if you could either email manager@theploughinncheshire.com or call on 01260280207, it would be much appreciated to hear from you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 27, 2018 via mobile

For my friends birthday we visited the plough on Thursday 22nd what an enjoyable experience we were greated and seated in a beautiful window seat for two were brought coffee and menus with a smile and a very nice welcome the food we ordered came quickly but with no rushing the service was very good as was the food recommend you try you won't be disappointed will be back again soon

Thank jaxCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose L, General Manager at The Plough, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2018

Dear jaxCheshire,
Thank you taking the time to review The Plough.
We are so glad you chose here to celebrate your friends birthday and that you had such a great time.
We appreciate your kind comments in regards to the food and service and we look forward to welcoming you back soon, the window seat will have either been table 23 or 53 if you wanted to ring to request that table!
Thanks again and we will hopefully see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 21, 2018 via mobile

100 percent had are Christmas party here food was an amazing turkey was cooked perfectl unlike the George and dragon in Holmes chapel the following week party it wasn't very warm mind you that wasn't there fault some people with the party didn't turn up on time put they put mash underneath the turkey if like me you don't like mash it rudin my dinner wouldn't recommend George and dragon for any Christmas party's definitely stick to the plough at Eaton congleton

2  Thank Chrissy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose L, General Manager at The Plough, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2018

Dear Chrissy F,
Thank you for taking the time to review The Plough.
We are so glad you enjoyed your Christmas party here, it is a busy time of year but we always aim to still provide our high standard of food and service.
Thanks again and hopefully we will see you again next Christmas if not before!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Plough also viewed

 
Congleton, Cheshire
Congleton, Cheshire
 
Congleton, Cheshire
Congleton, Cheshire
 

Been to The Plough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing