We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Swallows Barn

Swallows Barn Cottage - an 18th century former cow shippon with corn loft on the first floor
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Swallows Barn Cottage - an 18th century former cow shippon with corn loft on the first floor
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
36 reviews
Swallows Barn Cottage - an 18th century former cow shippon with corn loft on the first floor
Haymaking time - view of Bosley Cloud and the historic 18th century 20 North Rode railway arches
The farm cows and calves enjoying grazing the lush and peaceful fields
The lovely River Dane and other streams run through the farm fields - great for picnics or fishing
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Congleton, Cheshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
amber705
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 19 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

The best equipped cottage we have ever stayed in. Well furnished and very comfortable.
Brenda had put a lot of effort into ensuring we had an enjoyable holiday.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jul 2014
Many thanks for your lovely review and for affording our cottage a five star rating. Our consistent aim is to provide a high quality standard both in furnishings, fittings, cleanliness and customer service. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope we may be able to welcome you back again in the future. best regards Brenda & Tom
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sophie E
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic cottage”
Reviewed 14 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

I recently stayed in Swallows Barn cottage with my husband and 9-month old son and absolutely loved it. The cottage is so cosy and welcoming - a real home from home. It's been renovated to a very modern standard but still has lots of lovely original features. Brenda had thought of everything to make our stay comfortable, even providing a cot and high chair. It felt so luxurious to have such cosy beds and two en suite bathrooms. Having the baby with us meant we couldn't really go out in the evenings but the cottage was so cosy we didn't mind that at all! And our son absolutely loved popping out the back door to see the sheep and cows on the farm! There's lots to see in the area and the cottage is a great base from which to explore. Would definitely like to stay again - it was a perfect family holiday!

Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Aug 2014
Many thanks for your lovely review. It was lovely to have you to stay with us - and your gorgeous baby was the 'smiliest' baby that we've ever met! We're so pleased that you enjoyed our cottage and also that you found our location to be the perfect base from which to explore our beautiful area. Whatever your interest and whatever direction - there's lots to see and do! We do hope to be able to welcome you back in the future. Best regards Brenda & Tom
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheila L
Dundalk, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A wonderful find”
Reviewed 18 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Myself and husband and our daughter and grandchildren stayed at this gem of a holiday rental. We had absolutely everything we could possibly need in the cottage, and we all had such a relaxing time. We were so impressed that my husband and I have already planned our return trip. The fact that you are only 10 minutes from congleton town and straight out the gate onto the buxton road makes this a very convenient place to stay. Hopefully we can return in September .

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jul 2014
Thank you for reviewing our cottage and for your super comments both for this review and also during your stay with us - it is so much appreciated. It was lovely to meet you and your family and we look forward to seeing you again soon. kind regards Brenda & Tom
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JayneS01
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A relaxing break in superior accomodation”
Reviewed 17 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

It is remiss of me not to have posted our review sooner:
Dave, Jake & I enjoyed a lovely break at Swallows Cottage during whit week, we found the cottage to be furnished to a high standard and were very much at home and relaxed during our stay.
The cottage is ideally located to visit the surrounding areas of Cheshire and the Peak District, amongst the areas we visited we most enjoyed Chatsworth House and the Blue John Mines. There are several great walks from the cottage if you prefer not to have to drive we recommend walking the "Cloud" the views are spectacular.
A great holiday and very much recommended.
We would like to thank Brenda, Tom & Jenny for a fab cottage and wish them every success.



the is and with BusDenotgae with the cottage offering a and relaxing atmos

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the relaxing atmospshere provided by the cottage having been restored with thought
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jul 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely comments. It was a pleasure to have you to stay with us and we're so pleased that you enjoyed our cottage - and visiting the local area - including your walk up Bosley Cloud to enjoy the spectacular views. Thank you also for your good wishes (and also for the birthday cake!).
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil T
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed 16 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We have stayed in many self catering cottages but Swallows Barn has to be one of the best. The cottage was spotlessly clean upon our arrival, very well equipped & fitted out to a high standard. The lovely crisp white bed linen was also a treat., as were 2 ensuite bathrooms! There is a lovely atmosphere about the cottage very much a home from home we had some great days out, but looked forward to returning to the cosy cottage in the late afternoons

Brenda & Tom made us very welcome nothing is too much trouble for them, if you want to know any local information ask Brenda she is only too happy to help and has some great ideas for local walks & places of interest of which there are many. It was lambing time when we visited ask Tom or Brenda to show you around the farm its very interesting, the lambs were so cute

On her recommendation one evening we walked up to Bosley Cloud, wow the views from there are amazing.

We will most definitely be returning hopefully in the near future

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 May 2014
Many thanks for your lovely review of our new holiday cottage, Swallows Barn. We really enjoyed having you to stay with us and felt that you arrived as strangers but left as friends - so we were really sorry to see you leave. We particularly enjoyed chatting whilst sharing a bottle of wine on the patio on a lovely sunny evening - most enjoyable! We'll look forward to your return visit. Best regards Brenda & Tom
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TinaArena...
Macclesfield UK
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent facilities, well-equipped & beautifully presented”
Reviewed 27 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed in Swallows Barn with my three young children for 7 weeks whilst I was waiting to move to a longer term rental property. We had a wonderful stay in the Cottage. The owners, Brenda & Tom, could not have done more to make our stay more enjoyable or comfortable. The cottage contains everything you may need for a long or short-term stay and I have no hesitation in recommending it. The children had their own bathroom and there is a TV in every room. The children also enjoyed the fact that they lived on a farm. Brenda gave us a tour of the farm on our first day at the Cottage, which the children loved. There is also a lovely wood burner, making those winter evenings feel very cosy.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The property was lovely and warm and extremely well-equipped.
Liked least: Difficult to say, everything about our stay was lovely.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Jan 2014
Many thanks for your lovely review of our new holiday cottage. We aim to present a clean, comfortable and cosy cottage with high quality standards. We also aim to offer a warm and friendly welcome and every assistance to make your stay at with us as enjoyable as possible on our working farm. We are therefore so pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay at Swallows Barn / Colley Farm. We really enjoyed having you and look forward to your return visit. With every good wish from Tom & Brenda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing