We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (379)
Filter reviews
379 results
Traveller rating
275
72
16
11
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
275
72
16
11
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsafternoon tealovely hotelsmall hotelboutique hotelthe hotel is cleanthe young ladybed was very comfortablebaby showerlovely gardenbridal suitebusiness tripnothing is too much troublelovely roomtown centrestayed here for two nightsbreakfast was excellentsecond to none
Filter
Updating list...
49 - 54 of 379 reviews
Reviewed September 25, 2017

We were made very welcome late in the evening (I get the impression that they would have waited up if we'd told them we would be even later) and had a drink in the lovely relaxing bar, admiring what we could see of the garden in the dark. Unfortunately there was no food (which had made us later by stopping at a services to eat) but the beer was just enough to settle us for sleep.
The room was just right for an overnight with comfortable beds and pleasant decor. It might have felt a little small if we were staying for long, but then we would have unpacked into the clever fitted wardrobes so possibly not.
The bathroom did everything it needed to. It was not up-to-the-minute but the shower was a good consistent temperature (unlike many I've experienced) and, although the water was quite hot in the basin, nothing else was needed.
Our morning view of the garden was lovely and we continued to enjoy it while eating our breakfast that was extremely good. Service was brilliant and the food was exactly as I like it - including the options. The filter coffee was lovely and there was a good choice of juices.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Frances P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 24, 2017 via mobile

My friend and I have just returned from an overnight stay at this hotel. What a beautiful boutique style hotel. Good location, not far from M6 and easy to find. Lovely characterful building which has been beautifully restored to a very high standard. Lovely outdoor area. Bedroom was a good size, lovely furnishing, very individual. Definitely not your standard hotel room. Had a feel of luxury about it. Breakfast was excellent. The hotel had a really lovely friendly feel about it and all of the staff were polite, professional and extremely welcoming. This hotel offers everything you would want in a boutique style hotel. Deserves more than 5 stars. A real gem!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Hannah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 23, 2017

We stayed here last weekend in the company of several old, (old being the operative word), friends and pretty well filled the Hotel. We arrived on Friday and left on Sunday. The Hotel was first class both in respect of the accommodation and the food. The breakfasts were excellent and cooked to order, so much better than the usual luke-warm self service food mouldering over and under heaters. Dinner on the Saturday evening was excellent. The staff, without exception, were charming and efficient as were the owners, nothing was too much trouble.. Mention should be made of Lily, the friendly spaniel, who was allowed in to see us after dinner.
The furnishings and decor were first class and the missing star would have been added had the lift been working, as an 81 year old stairs are a trial.
There is ample parking and the gardens at the rear were splendid. Our group is planning to return next year, if spared!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 20, 2017

We were searching for a location near Manchester to hold our annual reunion and this hotel was recommended to us by a friend. Perhaps such a move is something of a lottery, but we hit the jackpot! Everything about the Alexandra Court was superb - the friendly and efficient staff. the beautifully tasteful décor, the cleanliness and comfort of the rooms and the excellent meals made this, in the words of our group, the best reunion ever! It's impossible to speak too highly of the whole ambience.

Stayed: September 2017
1  Thank p7pashley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 12, 2017

The Alexandra Court Hotel is a fantastic boutique hotel, we had an afternoon tea in their conservatory overlooking their gorgeous garden and it was lovely! The afternoon tea was delicious and catered for our gluten free guest who was really pleased. We then stayed on our wedding night and the room was beautiful, clean and very comfortable, followed by a hearty full English breakfast the next day! Highly recommend this hotel. Thank you Mark, Andy, Lisa and Team

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Rose2121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews