We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great place to Stay”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Farmhouse Cottage

Farmhouse Cottage is adorned with honeysuckle and wisteria and adjoins the Farmhouse -on left of pic
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Farmhouse Cottage is adorned with honeysuckle and wisteria and adjoins the Farmhouse -on left of pic
Farmhouse Cottage in the summer - perfumed with natural honeysuckle and pretty plants
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
31 reviews
Farmhouse Cottage is adorned with honeysuckle and wisteria and adjoins the Farmhouse -on left of pic
Farmhouse Cottage in the summer - perfumed with natural honeysuckle and pretty plants
Brand new kitchen with oven, ceramic hob, dishwasher, fridge with ice box microwave, toaster, kettle
Oak stairway, new oak drawers and lovely oak door to the spacious en-suite shower room. New carpet.
Spacious bedroom with feature '40's' dressing table, full length mirror and view of B
Spacious en-suite bathroom with generous shower, wash basin, WC and towel rail,featur velux window
Sparkling new, bright and light en-suite with mirror, glass shelving and feature oak door,
Tom tackles the cutting of the corn on his trusty combine - a busy time!
An oak tree within a field of corn in front of our working farm
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Congleton, Cheshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Karen J
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place to Stay”
Reviewed 10 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015

This was our second stay at this cottage. Its a very comfortable well equipped cottage. Very well situated for walking. Brenda and Tom are very welcoming and make you feel at home.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LesleyLam...
Swanley, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Excellent cottage - highly recommend”
Reviewed 22 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

We greatly enjoyed our stay in Farmhouse Cottage. There was everything you could ask for in respect of self catering, the room downstairs is so comfy. Upstairs is spacious. The entire cottage is so clean and fresh. We couldn't ask for anything more and hope to visit again to tour a little more.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the dishwasher, rise and fall chair, feather duvet, fire, cosy living room, view from window
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Mar 2015
Thank you for your very kind comments. Our aim is always to have our cottages clean and fresh and we're so pleased that you enjoyed your stay in Farmhouse Cottage and also that you enjoyed looking around the area - there is so much to do and see whatever your interests are. We look forward to your return visit. kind regards Brenda & Tom
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela E
Aylesbury, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 11 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Beautiful property. Warm and welcoming. Central to all the places we visited, Buxton, Dovedale, Matlock, Bakewell, Chester and Quarry Bank Mill. Had a great week. The cottage had everything in it you could ever want or need. The beds were so comfy and warm. Would love to come back in the future.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Mar 2015
Many thanks for your very kind comments. It's so nice to hear that you enjoyed our cottage, slept well in our new and comfy beds and enjoyed the area. You certainly visited a variety of places. We are ideally situated for visiting lots of towns, villages, lakes and attractions. and we welcome your return visit to enjoy some more! kind regards Brenda & Tom
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keith J
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A welcome half - term break”
Reviewed 9 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We wanted to somewhere quiet and comfortable to stay and new to us. We are retired and enjoy driving around and seeing the countryside as well as National Trust places and animal centres etc. The cottage was just fine for us and the stairs were no problem. Congleton, Buxton, Matlock and Chester area for example are easy to get to. Brenda was very welcoming and helpful. When we go again, we may well have a walk around the farm fields as offered

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfortable bed
Liked least: The settee was rather uncomfortable - a minor quibble.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Mar 2015
Many thanks for your lovely comments - we are so pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay in Farmhouse Cottage - and that you enjoyed your various visits in the area. We look forward to seeing you again. kind regards Brenda & Tom
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike N
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Super high quality accomodation, nice people,great area.”
Reviewed 9 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

A new farmbuilding conversion to very high standards, very smart, light ,airy, and clean.
easy parking and access. Very pleasant owners.
Some of the interresting places within a short drive :
Jodrell Bank radio telescope, Little Morton Hall, a very original Tudor Farm/Manor house, Cotebrook Shire horse centre, and close to Cotebrook is Oulton Park race circuit.
The circuit is open without charge for track days. Also many canal walks in area.
My wife and I really enjoyed our stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Accomodation and area
Liked least: Traffic in nearby town, due to road works
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Sep 2014
Thank you for staying with us in Farmhouse Cottage. We are so pleased to read that you enjoyed our cottage and that you also enjoyed lots of interesting outings to the wide variety of places to visit around us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JOHN22216
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Superb cottage”
Reviewed 26 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Luxurious cottage equipped to a very high standard .Lots of good walking nearby and interesting towns to visit .Owner very friendly .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The high standard of furnishings
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Sep 2014
Many thanks for your lovely comments. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you also enjoyed the lovely walks and places of interest in our locality.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rowling_5...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Farmhouse Cottage”
Reviewed 15 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

What a delightful cottage!! Really enjoyed our stay there!! Was well appointed for local sites. The cotteage was beautifully decorated.Brenda and Tom had thought of everything,including flowers.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Sep 2014
We're so pleased to read that you enjoyed staying in Farmhouse Cottage. We pride ourselves in achieving a very high standard of cleanliness, a very high standard of comfort with luxurious touches thrown in for good measure!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing