We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
A Spring evening on the patio
The view from the cottage - Kirkcarrion a bronze age burial mound
More of the view from the cottage
The winter view of Kirkcarrion from the cottage
Sunbathing in front of the cottage garden
Middleton-in-Teesdale with its shops, pubs and cafes
High Force - the biggest waterfall in England. There are numerous easy walks to view the falls.
Looking from the cottage across the garden to the hills beyond.
Our garden in the winter
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Middleton in Teesdale, Durham, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Paul G
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect”
Reviewed 8 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

Enjoyed every second of our stay, The view is outstanding and we effectively had our own field to exercise our dogs first thing in the morning. The cottage is cosy, well kept and had the comfiest bed ever. The wi-fi connection also enabled me to watch the darts....Middleton is a 15-20 minute walk away and can be accessed via fields or via a quiet road. The walks around the surrounding areas are fantastic and for the first time ever we managed to tire both of our Border Collies. The owners were very attentive without been intrusive which is ideal.
All in all a wonderful experience. Will definitely return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Living room furniture
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jan 2015
Many thanks for the review. I'm glad that you enjoyed your New Year break and this beautiful area. I hope that we shall see you all again, but I'm afraid that I cannot guarantee the dogs that there will not be stock in our fields !
Nick
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
252janet
Keighley, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic cottage in stunning location”
Reviewed 1 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Lovely clean, comfy cottage in a stunning location. Owners Nick & Elizabeth made us feel very welcome including our two springer spaniels. Walking straight from the doorstep. Wish we could have stayed for the rest of the week. We really enjoyed our stay and hope to see you soon.
Janet Richard and Edward

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Nov 2014
Many thanks for your kind review. I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay. Hope that we'll see you all again soon and that you get better weather next time.

Nick
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bonsaimik...
Willenhall
1 review
“Great location”
Reviewed 24 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

A well maintained property with all you need for self catering and a good location for touring or walking and good food in the village. The owners are lovely, helpful people I would recommend this cottage to anyone well done Liz & Nick p.s. a great comfortable bed

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Sep 2014
Many thanks. I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope that we shall see you again soon.

Nick
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pascale A
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“That will do us nicely!”
Reviewed 9 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Courteous hosts. Exceptional accommodation. Scenery to die for. Natural England personified. You will not find a finer, more relaxed environment with such wonderful surround anywhere in the British Isles. Local to friendly and accommodating situations with outstanding facilities a stone's throw away.
We will be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Pristine property and environment. Better than advertised.
Liked least: No Internet access.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Sep 2014
Many thanks for your review Pascale. Hope that we shall see you again in the Spring. It is beautiful here in the winter as well !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dick o
Kirkoswald, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Brilliant cottage, stunning area”
Reviewed 6 August 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Lovely views and a very comfortable cottage. Scones and eggs from the chickens that live on the farm. Comfortable inside.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Aug 2014
Thanks for your kind review Kath. Do let us know if you need any help with your own plans. Hope to see you again soon. Nick
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayles99
Spalding, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect holiday destination”
Reviewed 1 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Fantastic cottage with eveything you need for a perfect holiday. It was spotlessly clean and the views were amazing. The owners were extremely helpful & were always on hand if needed. The cottage was ideally situated to visit many of the attractions in the area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carolandp...
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent cottage, very comfortable”
Reviewed 12 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely cottage, very clean. Everything you need as far as equipment goes. Owners very helpful and friendly, Would have no hesitation recommending to family ad friends and will be back. Excellent base for touring this beautiful part of the country.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing