We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable and stylish”
Review of Brunswick House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Brunswick House
Reviewed 26 May 2015

We stayed at Brunswick House as a group of guys on a walking holiday in a number of double/Twin rooms. We are all 6 ft tall or more and space was not mentioned by any of us as a challenge. The hotel was immaculately clean, and very nicely decorated. The beds were comfortable and the bathrooms, again, spotlessly clean and ideal after a long day of walking. We very much enjoyed the breakfast - which was as good as any luxury hotel I have visited. The lounge was very tastefully decorated and welcoming. The packed-lunch we left with was delicious and varied - and like everything else we encountered at the Brunswick, extremely good value for money.

Room Tip: We found all the rooms to be of a similar, very good standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Leon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (74)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 74 reviews

Reviewed 14 May 2015

This guest house should be rated very good or excellent because the bedroom and en-suite had everything you could wish for, the lounge had a roaring fire and the food was good. Unfortunately I can't rate it as more than average because of the very limited space from the narrow entrance to the car park, the car park itself where one is advised to turn the car around so that you can get out if anyone else comes in, the staircase, the minute bedroom and the even smaller en-suite. There are dippers on the river which can be viewed from the car park and it's very quiet.

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank PeterM98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brunswickhouse, Owner at Brunswick House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2015

Many thanks for taking the time to post a review of your stay at Brunswick House. I am delighted that you found the room had everything you could wish for and that you enjoyed the guest lounge, log fire and food. The room you specifically booked online is described as compact on our website. Other rooms were available and I would have been more than happy to offer you one of these had you mentioned your concerns at the time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2015 via mobile

Brunswick House is extremely well-run. The accommodation is first class and the breakfast/dinner superb. A very good guest house! The bedroom was very comfortable and well-appointed. Extras such as fresh fruit, fresh milk and home made biscuits were a real bonus. The host was most welcoming and hospitable.

Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2015

Just had a lovely two day stay here with husband and 17 year old son. Son had own room which he was made up with ( not easy with teenagers) and paid for single occupancy. We had double room next door. Breakfast was wonderful and very filling, fresh and excellent quality. Many nice little touches such as fresh fruit in room, milk and bottled water in fridge, homemade biscuits and coffee and cake on arrival.
The house itself is beautiful and the furnishings were lovely with a lounge and conservatory for guest use, which I did make use of. House is on the main road and our room was at the front but there was very little road noise and the bed was so comfy we slept soundly. I would thoroughly recommend a stay here and will definitely stay here again when in the area.

Room Tip: Rooms at back have sun in evening but all are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geogal2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brunswickhouse, Owner at Brunswick House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2015

Thank you very much for finding the time to post a review of your stay at Brunswick House. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2015

The room was so small we had difficulty moving round. When our room has been small in the past (and this doesn't happen often) we are at least offered the opportunity of using a lounge - not here. Not good value for money. The next day we stayed in a hotel for £10 more we had a room which was over twice the size and with a large bathroom. Back to Brunswick House - the room was drafty and therefore not very warm. On the plus side - good internet connection and good breakfast with plenty of choice. We had an ironing board in our room - we did laugh about that - wondering where exactly we would put it if we wanted to use it. Cannot recommend this as a place to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suffolklad33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brunswickhouse, Owner at Brunswick House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2015

Thank you for finding the time to post a review of your stay at Brunswick House. I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the size of the room for your one night stay. Whilst I would admit that our rooms are not enormous, and this is made clear on our website, we do endeavour to make the best use of the space available and have been complimented on this by Visit Britain hotel inspectors. I do not understand the reference to the lack of a guest lounge for use during your stay, as both the lounge with a roaring log fire and our conservatory were always available.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2015

We had an excellent one night stay in Brunswick House. I previously informed Andy that I was vegan and allergic to nuts, and my partner vegetarian. A vegan dish was added to the evening menu, which was home-cooked, delicious and good value for money. There was a large variety for breakfast and this was also very good, catering specifically for my special dietary requirements. The downstairs has a log fire which made the setting very cosy and comfortable. The ensuite bedroom was clean with a mini fridge with milk and soya milk, tea and coffee making facilities and fruit and biscuits on arrival!

Overall a very enjoyable stay. I would highly recommend Brunswick house, particularly to those with special dietary requirements who would appreciate a home cooked meal when away.

  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Loo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2014

We stayed at the Brunswick on saturday,on our way home from Scotland. The house is very pretty ,centrally located in the village.We had a room at the front of the house overlooking the green,as i tried to open the window,it was very stiff,and unfortunately the sills were dirty with fly spots and cobwebs which was a suprise as the room looked very clean and neat. On turning the main light on,we notice it was draped in cobwebs too. Apart from that,the bedding was lovely and 'lush',and the fresh milk in the fridge(silent)was a refrshing change from the horrid little cartons.The homemade biscuits were a nice touch. The breakfast was delicious,although it seemed a little clinical,as it was silent in the dining room,and could have been improved with a little background music,as the other diners were whispering,instead of just enjoying a morning chat! The host was very pleasant although a little reserved,and looking at the menu for dinner,which we didn't have,i'm sure that would be as good as the breakfast.Our only problem was the very loud shouting and screaming coming from the street well into the early hours,presumably from people leaving the adjoining premises,which left me sleepless in Teesdale! A little expensive for the room.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back would be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank cerip58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brunswickhouse, Owner at Brunswick House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2014

Thank you very much for finding the time to review our guest house, we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay. Regarding the issues you raised the house is 250 years old and cobwebs can appear overnight particularly at this time of year, however this is no excuse and the issues you raised have been and will continue to be dealt with, thank you. The noise on the street from one inconsiderate neighbouring business is a concern and I believe action is being taken to alleviate this. Background music at breakfast is an issue of personal choice for which the jury remains split, sorry but I fall into the non-background music category.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middleton in Teesdale
0 km away
Teesdale Hotel
Teesdale Hotel
#1 of 3 in Middleton in Teesdale
373 reviews
25.8 km away
Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa
14.7 km away
Jersey Farm
Jersey Farm
#1 of 1 in Barnard Castle
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 km away
The Forresters Hotel & Restaurant
The Forresters Hotel & Restauran...
#2 of 10 in Middleton in Teesdale
364 reviews
0.2 km away
The Hill B&B
The Hill B&B
#4 of 10 in Middleton in Teesdale
22 reviews
5 km away
Moorcock Inn
Moorcock Inn
#7 of 10 in Middleton in Teesdale
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brunswick House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brunswick House

Address: 55 Market Place, Middleton in Teesdale DL12 0QH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Middleton in Teesdale
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Middleton in Teesdale
Price Range: C$108 - C$152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Brunswick House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brunswick House is a charming stone built Teesdale village guest house, dating from 1760, offering luxury bed and breakfast accommodation and scrumptious evening meals. The guest house overlooks the Market Place Green in Middleton-in-Teesdale, which is a thriving village set amidst the North Pennines Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty. Andrew and Sheila have been warmly welcoming guests to Brunswick House since 1989. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms and TripOnline SA so you can book your Brunswick House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brunswick House Middleton In Teesdale, UK - England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing