We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (77)
Filter reviews
77 results
Traveller rating
57
16
3
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
57
16
3
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews home made cakes packed lunch fresh fruit guest house pennine way evening meal the owner modern touches tastefully decorated and spotlessly clean bar none attending a wedding long days comfortable accommodation tasty breakfast lovely place sitting room tea making facilities
Filter
Updating list...
41 - 46 of 77 reviews
Reviewed May 14, 2015

This guest house should be rated very good or excellent because the bedroom and en-suite had everything you could wish for, the lounge had a roaring fire and the food was good. Unfortunately I can't rate it as more than average because of the very limited space from the narrow entrance to the car park, the car park itself where one is advised to turn the car around so that you can get out if anyone else comes in, the staircase, the minute bedroom and the even smaller en-suite. There are dippers on the river which can be viewed from the car park and it's very quiet.

Date of stay: May 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank PeterM98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brunswickhouse, Owner at Brunswick House, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2015

Many thanks for taking the time to post a review of your stay at Brunswick House. I am delighted that you found the room had everything you could wish for and that you enjoyed the guest lounge, log fire and food. The room you specifically booked online is described as compact on our website. Other rooms were available and I would have been more than happy to offer you one of these had you mentioned your concerns at the time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 29, 2015 via mobile

Brunswick House is extremely well-run. The accommodation is first class and the breakfast/dinner superb. A very good guest house! The bedroom was very comfortable and well-appointed. Extras such as fresh fruit, fresh milk and home made biscuits were a real bonus. The host was most welcoming and hospitable.

Date of stay: April 2015
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 9, 2015

Just had a lovely two day stay here with husband and 17 year old son. Son had own room which he was made up with ( not easy with teenagers) and paid for single occupancy. We had double room next door. Breakfast was wonderful and very filling, fresh and excellent quality. Many nice little touches such as fresh fruit in room, milk and bottled water in fridge, homemade biscuits and coffee and cake on arrival.
The house itself is beautiful and the furnishings were lovely with a lounge and conservatory for guest use, which I did make use of. House is on the main road and our room was at the front but there was very little road noise and the bed was so comfy we slept soundly. I would thoroughly recommend a stay here and will definitely stay here again when in the area.

Room tip: Rooms at back have sun in evening but all are lovely
Date of stay: April 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geogal2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brunswickhouse, Owner at Brunswick House, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2015

Thank you very much for finding the time to post a review of your stay at Brunswick House. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 2, 2015

The room was so small we had difficulty moving round. When our room has been small in the past (and this doesn't happen often) we are at least offered the opportunity of using a lounge - not here. Not good value for money. The next day we stayed in a hotel for £10 more we had a room which was over twice the size and with a large bathroom. Back to Brunswick House - the room was drafty and therefore not very warm. On the plus side - good internet connection and good breakfast with plenty of choice. We had an ironing board in our room - we did laugh about that - wondering where exactly we would put it if we wanted to use it. Cannot recommend this as a place to stay.

Date of stay: March 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suffolklad33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brunswickhouse, Owner at Brunswick House, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2015

Thank you for finding the time to post a review of your stay at Brunswick House. I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the size of the room for your one night stay. Whilst I would admit that our rooms are not enormous, and this is made clear on our website, we do endeavour to make the best use of the space available and have been complimented on this by Visit Britain hotel inspectors. I do not understand the reference to the lack of a guest lounge for use during your stay, as both the lounge with a roaring log fire and our conservatory were always available.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 8, 2015

We had an excellent one night stay in Brunswick House. I previously informed Andy that I was vegan and allergic to nuts, and my partner vegetarian. A vegan dish was added to the evening menu, which was home-cooked, delicious and good value for money. There was a large variety for breakfast and this was also very good, catering specifically for my special dietary requirements. The downstairs has a log fire which made the setting very cosy and comfortable. The ensuite bedroom was clean with a mini fridge with milk and soya milk, tea and coffee making facilities and fruit and biscuits on arrival!

Overall a very enjoyable stay. I would highly recommend Brunswick house, particularly to those with special dietary requirements who would appreciate a home cooked meal when away.

Date of stay: December 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Loo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews