We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Chapel on the Hill

The historic Ebenezer Methodist Chapel has been converted into a self-catering holiday home.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The historic Ebenezer Methodist Chapel has been converted into a self-catering holiday home.
On the ground floor there is a fully equippped and spacious kitchen with a dining area.
Spacious kitchen with dining area.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
The historic Ebenezer Methodist Chapel has been converted into a self-catering holiday home.
On the ground floor there is a fully equippped and spacious kitchen with a dining area.
Spacious kitchen with dining area.
Dining area for unforgettable moments with your family or friends.
Open plan living room with a log burner for cosy evenings.
Open plan living room with a log burner and even a piano for unforgettable moments.
The interior has the cosiness of a traditional English cottage, yet it is designed modern.
The interior has the cosiness of a traditional English cottage, yet it is designed modern.
Library corner and the staircase leading to the mezzanine floor.
The first floor master bedrooms and the single bedroom offer stunning views to the countryside.
The single bedroom is located between the two master bedrooms.
The second master bedroom on the first floor with stunning views.
High quality cotton and satin bed linen is provided.
Each master bedroom has a separate en-suite. Towels and boutique toiletries are provided.
The single bedroom on the ground floor has a day bed which can be extended to a double bed.
Family bathroom on the ground floor with a luxurious roll top bath.
Family bathroom on the ground floor with a luxurious roll top bath.
Family bathroom on the ground floor with a luxurious roll top bath.
Ground floor.
First floor.
Wonderful views from the first floor bedrooms.
The neighbourhood.
The Chapel is located very close to the High Force Waterfall and the Pennine Way.
The side entrance and the terrace with wonderful views over the countryside.
The terrace.
The chapel occupies a truly spectacular position with stunning views of the North Pennines.
The chapel occupies a truly spectacular position with stunning views of the North Pennines.
The chapel occupies a truly spectacular position with stunning views of the North Pennines.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Converted chapel -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Middleton in Teesdale, Durham, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
chris b
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed March 16, 2016 for a stay in March 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Booked for my wife's birthday with friends and our toddlers. It looks amazing in the pictures but they don't do it justice, the whole feel of the place is just amazing. It's ment to have family and friends spend time together there. Anna is great! Quick response's, friendly and welcoming. And the welcome basket was well enjoyed. Will definitely be going back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 May 2016
Dear Chris, Thank you very much for writing such a superb review and choosing the Chapel for your wife's birthday getaway. We are excited to hear your family had a lovely time and you enjoyed your stay at the Chapel! We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in the near future!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isabel C
Aarhus, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding!”
Reviewed November 2, 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

What an amazing place! We enjoyed staying at the Chapel for an extended weekend and could not have asked for more. The place (inside and outside) has been renovated with so much attention to comfort and detail - just amazing. Everything was super clean and in top condition.
The beautiful welcome basket and the fresh eggs were an additional bonus that we did not expect but thoroughly enjoyed. We also really appreciated the flexibility reading our arrival time.
Thanks so much to Anna (owner) and Nathan (housekeeper) for making our stay unforgettable. We will definitely try to come again for a longer stay!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything incl. the personal touch :-)
Liked least: Nothing.
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Nov 2015
Dear Isabel, thank you very much for choosing the Chapel for your weekend getaway and writing this excellent review! We are absolutely excited to hear you have truly enjoyed your stay at the Chapel and we hope to have the possibility to welcome you again in the future!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JCOSRam
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Special”
Reviewed October 20, 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

After our holiday to Tunisia was cancelled by the tour operator we decided, rather dubiously, to stay at home and try something different. We were concerned about the weather and whether there would be enough for the three kids to do, however we were not disappointed with our choice. Loved our stay at the Chapel on the Hill. The conversion has been beautifully done and felt very much like a boutique hotel while still managing to retain the original feel of the chapel. While quite remote the views were stunning as were the walks to the falls. Our kids particularly liked the walk to the local pub (20 mins) simply to visit Paddy the resident dog. Would love to return. also, a special thanks to Nathan - the eggs were greatly appreciated and a lovely touch.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the accomodation
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Oct 2015
Dear JCOSRam,

Thank you very much for writing such a superb review and choosing the Chapel after your initial holiday got cancelled. We are excited to hear your family had a lovely time exploring the neighbourhood and you enjoyed your stay at the Chapel! We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you and your family again in the near future at the Chapel on the Hill!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt J
Manchester
Level 6 Contributor
60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Beyond Stunning”
Reviewed August 11, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

I stumbled across the Church whilst browsing on line for a weekend get away and immediately booked the Church when I found it.

The church has to be one of the most stunning places I've ever stayed in the UK and we stay in lots of holiday rentals.

The attention to detail from the outside (very sympathetic to the surroundings and heritage of the church) whilst in side was the most beautifully decorated with everything thought of; from iPads to Apple TVs, log burners to a large functioning kitchen and plenty of soft furnishings, bedding and towels and everything was of exceptional quality and not cheap.

The space inside was perfect for large groups or couples as there was plenty of room, 4 bedrooms and 3 bathrooms, so there was no getting on top of each other.

Outside there are several terraces all offering uninterrupted stunning views of the countryside and mountains beyond.

The location is remote, but everything is in a short (15-20 minute) drive away and a hotel and pub is about a 30 minute walk across the countryside.

If you want a relaxing weekend in a beautiful conversion and gorgeous location then this is the place to stay.

Thank you to Anna and Nathan for everything, including the welcome food basket and fresh eggs from the farm up the road.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Lounge, dinner and kitchen
Liked least: There was nothing we didn't like.
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Aug 2015
Dear Matt,

Thank you very much for your superb review and choosing the Chapel for your getaway! We are delighted to hear that you have truly enjoyed your stay. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you and your friends or family again in the near future!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
xprincess...
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful...”
Reviewed August 10, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

What an absolutely brilliant 4 days. From the first day until the last we had an amazing time in this beautifully decorated house/chapel with fine attention to detail. The pub is about a 20 minute walk (10 minute drive) and there's a town about ½ an hour away with shops to stock up on amenities. It is literally in the middle of nowhere with only Wi-Fi to connect to the internet (no calls or texts). Heaven!! The chapel has Apple TV & Netflix for a perfect night in. If you want something cosy and quiet, Chapel on the Hill is a definite must. 5*+

Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Aug 2015
Dear guest, thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay at the Chapel! We are extremely happy to hear you enjoyed your getaway and we will be delighted to welcome you and your friends again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZoeRobbie...
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Best ever...”
Reviewed August 9, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Well what can I say? What an absolute gem. As a group, we take short breaks at least twice a year and have stayed in some great places but this?....tops them all. It is breathtakingly beautiful from the first step into the house. Yes it's brand new but that's just part of it. Whoever designed, furnished, decorated etc has excellent taste. It is comfortable and well equipped. The housekeeper lives just up the track and left us fresh eggs on arrival and again the next day. Small gesture but thoughtful and appreciated. Seriously folks, if you want a lovely place to stay you'll struggle to beat this. Thanks to Anna the owner and Nathan the housekeeper who was on hand for advice when needed (and to Sue). We were a group of 7 adults and had plenty of space inside and out

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Aug 2015
Dear Zoe, thank you for sharing your feedback from your stay - we are extremely happy to receive so positive review! It was a great pleasure that you chose the Chapel for your traditional friends getaway and we are extremely happy to hear you enjoyed the experience! I hope your next stay is just around the corner - we are looking forward to welcoming you again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jet812796
1 review
Reviewed 2 weeks ago for a stay in August 2018
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Sep 2018
Liebe Katja, ganz herzichen Dank für die tolle Bewertung! Es freut mich zu hören, dass es euch in der Kapelle so gut gefallen hat und dass ihr so schöne und ruhige Ferientage erleben konntet. Wir hoffen euch schon bald wieder einmal bei uns begrüssen zu dürfen! Viele Grüsse, Anna
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing