We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Generous helpings of delicious food”

The Boat House Brasserie
Ranked #1 of 2 Dessert in Rufford
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: We are a Traditional Brasserie - Serving Quality Home Cooked / Locally Sourced Food. We also serve the most amazing Home Baked Cakes !
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were 4 adults, each ordering a different meal, and we were all very happy with our choices. Helpings are generous, so you may have to take dessert home, for later.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Professional-Pilgrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (358)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 358 reviews

Reviewed November 10, 2018 via mobile

Came here for lunch on the 8th November with my girlfriend. Great lunch menu , I had the beef caramelised onion and Stilton baguette my girlfriend had the minted lamb baguette both were outstanding. We also got a side portion of chips which were really good . Lovely service . We will be back soon

Date of visit: November 2018
2  Thank chefkev2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 8, 2018

Dog friendly, a lovely place to stop for either a drink or a meal after a walk along the canal. Plenty of outdoor seating overlooking the marina. Exceptionally friendly and helpful staff (one young lady immediately got a bowl of water for our dog - didn't need to be asked). We had coffee and cakes which were delicious. The meals that were being served looked extremely tasty and good value for money. When we are next in the area will certainly visit again but this time for a meal

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Jan295
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 29, 2018 via mobile

The boathouse brasserie is well worth a visit. We both opted for the hot lamb baguette which came with a lovely side salad and very creamy coleslaw. The baguette had the right balance of being soft and crusty and there was lots of extremely tender minty lamb. We shared a bowl of obviously homemade chips (crispy outside, fluffy inside; so moreish!) and the lady serving us wasn't kidding when she said they were large side portions. I was full after but my husband had spotted the amazing selection of homemade cakes and chose what can only be described as a doorstop size piece of lemon meringue. We will definitely be returning to this cosy, friendly brasserie.

Date of visit: October 2018
2  Thank lisaxdx2072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 28, 2018 via mobile

Had a birthday Sunday breakfast at the boathouse. Opens at 09.30, we arrived just after 10am, it was packed out. This said we quickly got a table in this very popular place. Cyclists, walkers and families are the clientele and this makes for a homely & friendly atmosphere.
Large breakfasts and a boathouse breakfast ordered; warning you need a healthy appetite to tackle these! Great ingredients, lovely menu overall. Staff are pleasant and busy, prices reasonable for the good quality you are looking for.
We eat out regularly in the area and can highly recommend this venue. You just might need to be patient at peak times!

Date of visit: September 2018
1  Thank IanH2351
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Boat House Brasserie also viewed

Ormskirk, Lancashire
 
Rufford, Lancashire
Burscough, Ormskirk
 
Lathom, Ormskirk
Burscough, Ormskirk
 

Been to The Boat House Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing