We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Great visit and even better guides

We visited the cave with our children, the guide that went with us was great even to our small... read more

Reviewed August 22, 2018
WYD_Pilgrims
,
Barcelona
Not to be missed cave - very helpful staff and guides.

Well worth visiting in addition to El Castillo cave. (see full review for that particular cave) I... read more

Reviewed July 7, 2018
BosleyCloud
Read all 233 reviews
  
Reviews (233)
Filter reviews
233 results
Traveller rating
163
58
9
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
163
58
9
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cave art stalactites and stalagmites guided tour book in advance cueva coins insight rock las replica altamira visitors caves number euros paintings
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 233 reviews
Reviewed October 1, 2017

Found the site based on restaurant rec, worth the drive. Air did get cooler as we descended, our clue was when tour guide put on parka mid-July. Wonderful explanations, insight and time permitted to explore. There is nothing to compare to-the up close and personal vs. the replica or inaccessible caves of other sites. Please visit and support this national treasure.

Date of experience: July 2017
1  Thank DodoDidi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 24, 2017

Sister cave to El Castillo. Las Monedas is also open for a 45 minutes guided tour, which is in Spanish. The cave offer spectacular ancient cave art. Las Monedas has more stalactites and stalagmites than El Castillo, and very fine small size cave art. You will explore about 500 m into the cave, and the cave art is breathtaking. Unlike in Altamira you see the genuine art rather than a replica. Highly recommended to book in advance since the visitor number is restricted on the tours.

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank North_Mermaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 30, 2017

A must must must do... we went online planning to go to the Castillo caves and there were no slots available... looked at another few caves and the same and then found slots here. So glad we did what you'd think is second best. It's incredible... loved the labyrinth of walkways we were led down, the formations and the 6 paintings we saw. There are 32 in total and a whole lot more cave but you are only given a taster. No pictures allowed.... the guide was wonderful. A note, you have to be there 30 minutes before your slot for a few reasons; car parking could be tricky... we were in the second slot of the day and it was getting that way... another is there is a walk up to the ticket desk where the Castillo cave is, then a ten minute walk to the Las Monedas to meet the guide. We were a 5 minutes llate due to our little one having an accident on route, but they waited for us thankfully. Didn't need sweater after running most of the route with my little one in my arms... oh, and the price is incredible too at 3 euros an adult!

Date of experience: August 2017
1  Thank thelittlegecko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 7, 2017

Smaller cave than El Castillo with less cave art, but really amazing and worth seeing. Guide was very helpful and gave some information in English.

Date of experience: June 2017
Thank Calor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 4, 2016 via mobile

One of the most amazing placed we have visited, it is easily equal to the more famous El castillo cave, although it may only have one cave painting, the cave formations and colours are simply staggering, our guide Sally was just fantastic, translating the tour into English for our benefit. Our group was only numbered five, which was brilliant, much more space and more intimate experience. Definitely a must see. Walking shoes are an essential as the floor of the cave can be wet and slippery in places, the humidity in the cave is 90%, therefore there is no need to wrap up warm as it is not cold being a constant 15 degrees.

Date of experience: November 2016
Thank Discodivael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews